Tag Archives: Francis Wolff

In January 1968.

In January 1968, “Blue Note” label released “Mr. Shing-A-Ling”, the 29th Lou Donaldson album. It was recorded in October 1967, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Francis Wolff.


  • Lou Donaldson – alto saxophone
  • Blue Mitchell- trumpet
  • Lonnie Smith- organ
  • Jimmy Ponder– guitar
  • Leo Morris- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Lou Donaldson except where noted.

  1. Ode to Billie Joe – Bobby Gentry
  2. The Humpback
  3. The Shadow of Your Smile – Johnny Mandel, Paul Francis Webster
  4. Peepin’ – Lonnie Smith
  5. The Kid – Harold Ousley

In December 1959.

In December 1959, “Blue Note” label released “The Sermon!”, the fifteenth Jimmy Smith album. It was recorded August 25, 1957 and  February 25, 1958, at “Manhattan Towers” in New York City, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Jimmy Smith– organ
  • Lee Morgan– trumpet
  • Lou Donaldson– alto saxophone
  • Tina Brooks– tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell– guitar
  • Art Blakey– drums
  • George Coleman– alto saxophone
  • Eddie McFadden– guitar
  • Donald Bailey– drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder– engineer
  • Reid Miles– design
  • Francis Wolff– photography
  • Ira Gitler– liner notes

Track listing:

  1. The Sermon – Jimmy Smith
  2. O.S. – Jimmy Smith
  3. Flamingo – Edmund Anderson, Ted Grouya

In November 1960.

In November 1960, “Blue Note” label released “Horace-Scope”, the tenth Horace Silver studio album. It was recorded in July 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Horace Silver– piano
  • Blue Mitchell- trumpet
  • Junior Cook- tenor saxophone
  • Gene Taylor- bass
  • Roy Brooks- drums
  • Reid Miles- design
  • Rudy Van Gelder- engineering
  • Francis Wolff- photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Horace Silver except where noted.

  1. Strollin’
  2. Where You At?
  3. Without You – Don Newey
  4. Horace-Scope
  5. Yeah!
  6. Me and My Baby
  7. Nica’s Dream

In December 1956.

In December 1956, “Blue Note” label released “Whims of Chambers”, the second  Paul Chambers album. It was recorded on September 21, 1956, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Paul Chambers- bass
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • John Coltrane- tenor saxophone
  • Kenny Burrell- guitar
  • Horace Silver- piano
  • Philly Joe Jones- drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Francis Wolff – cover photo
  • Reid Miles – cover design

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Chambers, except where noted.

  1. Omicron – Donald Byrd
  2. Whims of Chambers
  3. Nita – John Coltrane
  4. We Six – Donald Byrd
  5. Dear Ann
  6. Tale of the Fingers
  7. Just for the Love – John Coltrane

In March 1959.

In March 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Newk’s Time”, the fourteen Sonny Rollins studio album. It was recorded on September 22, 1957, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Sonny Rollins– tenor saxophone
  • Wynton Kelly– piano
  • Doug Watkins– bass
  • Philly Joe Jones– drums
  • Recorded by – Rudy Van Gelder
  • Cover photo – Francis Wolff

Track listing:

  1. Tune Up – Miles Davis
  2. Asiatic Raes – Kenny Dorham
  3. Wonderful! Wonderful! – Sherman Edwards-Ben Raleigh
  4. The Surrey with the Fringe on Top – Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein II
  5. Blues for Philly Joe – Sonny Rollins
  6. Namely You – Gene de Paul-Johnny Mercer