Paul Chambers: Paul Chambers Quintet

In April 1958, “Blue Note” label released “Paul Chambers Quintet”, the fourth Paul Chambers studio album. It was recorded in May 1957, “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet 
  • Clifford Jordan – tenor saxophone 
  • Tommy Flanagan – piano
  • Elvin Jones – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Chambers except where noted

  1. Minor Run-Down – Benny Golson
  2. The Hand of Love
  3. Softly, as in a Morning Sunrise – Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg
  4. Four Strings – Benny Golson
  5. What’s New? – Johnny Burke, Bob Haggart
  6. Beauteous


One thought on “Paul Chambers: Paul Chambers Quintet”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.