Tag Archives: Julian Priester

On December 1, 1960.

On December 1, 1960, “Candid Records” label released “We Insist!” (subtitled Max Roach’s Freedom Now Suite), the 21st Max Roach album. It was recorded April – September 1960, at “Nola Penthouse Sound Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Nat Hentoff.


  • Max Roach– drums
  • Abbey Lincoln– vocals
  • Booker Little– trumpet
  • Julian Priester– trombone
  • Walter Benton– tenor saxophone
  • Coleman Hawkins– tenor saxophone
  • James Schenk – bass
  • Michael Olatunji– vpcals, congas
  • Raymond Mantilla– percussion
  • Tomas du Vall – percussion

Track listing:

All music by Max Roach, all lyrics by Oscar Brown.

  1. Driva Man
  2. Freedom Day
  3. Triptych: Prayer/Protest/Peace
  4. All Africa
  5. Tears for Johannesburg



On June 5, 2007.

On June 5, 2007, “Blue Note” label released “A Bluish Bag”, album by Stanley Turrentine. It consists of two sessions recorded for the Blue Note label in February and June 1967, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Stanley Turrentine– tenor saxophone
  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Blue Mitchell, Tommy Turrentine– trumpet
  • Julian Priester– trombone
  • Jerry Dodgion– alto saxophone, flute, alto flute
  • Joe Farrell– tenor saxophone, flute
  • Al Gibbons – bass clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Pepper Adams– baritone saxophone, clarinet
  • Kenny Barron– piano
  • Bucky Pizzarelli– guitar
  • Ron Carter– bass
  • Walter Booker– bass
  • Mickey Roker– drums
  • Mickey Roker– drums
  • Duke Pearson – arranger
  • Rudy Van Gelder– engineer

Track listing:

  1. Blues for Del – Stanley Turrentine
  2. She’s a Carioca – Vinicius de Moraes, Ray Gilbert, Antônio Carlos Jobim
  3. Manhã de Carnaval – Luiz Bonfá, Antônio Maria
  4. Here’s That Rainy Day – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  5. What Now My Love – Gilbert Bécaud, Pierre Delanoë, Carl Sigman
  6. Samba do Avião – Antônio Carlos Jobim
  7. Night Song – Lee Adams, Charles Strouse
  8. Days of Wine and Roses – Henry Mancini, Johnny Mercer
  9. Come Back to Me – Burton Lane, Alan Jay Lerner
  10. Silver Tears – Henry Mancini
  11. A Bluish Bag – Henry Mancini
  12. With This Ring – Luther Dixon, Anthony Hester, Richard “Popcorn” Wylie

In January 1970.

In January 1970, “Blue Note” label released “Fancy Free”, the 35th Donald Byrd album. It was recorded May 9 – June 6, 1969, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Duke Pearson.


  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Frank Foster– tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Julian Priester– trombone
  • Lew Tabackin, Jerry Dodgion – flute
  • Duke Pearson– electric piano
  • Jimmy Ponder– guitar
  • Roland Wilson – bass
  • Joe Chambers, Leo Morris – drums
  • Nat Bettis, John H. Robinson Jr.- percussion

Track listing:

  1. Fancy Free – Donald Byrd
  2. I Love the Girl – Donald Byrd
  3. The Uptowner – Mitch Farber
  4. Weasil – Charles Hendricks

On March 30, 1973.


On March 30, 1973, “Columbia” label released “Sextant”, the eleventh Herbie Hancock album. This is his last album with Mwandishi Band and the first one for “Columbia” label. It was recorded in 1972, at “Wally Heider Studios” and “Different Fur Studios” in San Francisco, and was produced by David Rubinson.


  • MWANDISHI (Herbie Hancock) – piano, Fender Rhodes, Hohner D6 Clavinet, mellotron, ARP 2600, ARP Pro Soloist, Moog
  • MWILE (Bennie Maupin) – soprano Sax, bass clarinet, piccolo, afuche, Hum-A-Zoo
  • MGANGA ( Eddie Henderson) – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • PEPO (Julian Priester) – bass trombone, tenor trombone, alto trombone, cowbell
  • MCHEZAJI (Buster Williams) – electric bass, acoustic bass
  • JABALI (Billy Hart) – drums
  • Patrick Gleeson- ARP 2600, ARP Pro Soloist
  • Buck Clarke – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Herbie Hancock

  1. Rain Dance
  2. Hidden Shadows
  3. Hornets