Tag Archives: peter Knight

On February 11, 1977.

On February 11, 1977, “Deram” label released “Songwriter”, the second Justin Hayward album. It was recorded June – December 1976, at “Threshold” in London, and was produced by Tony Clarke, Justin Hayward and Martin Wyatt.


  • Justin Hayward – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, drums, bass, violin, cello, flute, tambourine
  • Jim Cockey – violin
  • Tom Tompkins – viola
  • Tim Tompkins – cello
  • Mel Galley– bass
  • Terry Rowley – guitar
  • Dave Holland– drums
  • Ken Freeman– keyboards
  • Doremi Hayward – backing vocals
  • Peter Knight- strings arranger, conductor
  • Tony Clarke, Derek Varnals, Dave Baker – engineer
  • Dean Rod – assistant engineer
  • Gary Ladinkski – mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Justin Hayward.

  1. Tightrope
  2. Songwriter Part 1
  3. Songwriter Part 2
  4. Country Girl
  5. One Lonely Room
  6. Lay It on Me
  7. Stage Door
  8. Raised on Love
  9. Doin’ Time
  10. Nostradamus



In October 1975.

In October 1875, “Chrysalis” label released “All Around My Hat”, the eighth Steeleye Span album. It was recorded in July 1975, at “Air Studios” in London and was produced by Mike Batt. The album design was by John ‘Connor.


  • Maddy Prior- vocals
  • Tim Hart- guitar, vocals, dulcimer
  • Bob Johnson- guitar, vocals
  • Rick Kemp- bass guitar, vocals
  • Peter Knight- violin, vocals, mandolin
  • Nigel Pegrum- drums, flute

Track listing:

  1. Black Jack Davy
  2. Hard Times of Old England
  3. Cadgwith Anthem
  4. Sum Waves
  5. The Wife of Ushers Well
  6. Gamble Gold (Robin Hood)
  7. All Around My Hat
  8. Dance With Me
  9. Batchelors Hall

In September 1972.

In September 1972, “Chrysalis” label released “Below the Salt”, the fourth Steeleye Span studio album. It was recorded May – June 1972, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Jerry Boys, Maddy Prior, Tim Hart, Peter Knight, Rick Kemp and Bob Johnson.


  • Maddy Prior- vocals
  • Tim Hart- vocals, appalachian dulcimer, guitar
  • Peter Knight- violin, viola, mandolin, banjo, piano, vocals
  • Rick Kemp- bass, drum, vocals
  • Bob Johnson- guitar, vocals

Track listing:

All tracks are traditional, adapted by Maddy Prior, Tim Hart, Peter Knight, Rick Kemp and Bob Johnson.

  1. Spotted Cow
  2. Rosebud in June
  3. Jigs: The Bride’s Favourite/Tansey’s Fancy
  4. Sheep-crook and Black Dog
  5. Royal Forester
  6. King Henry
  7. Gaudete
  8. John Barleycorn
  9. Saucy Sailor

In June 1977.

In June 1977, “Chrysalis” label released “Full House”, the fourth Frankie Miller studio album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Chris Thomas.


  • Frankie Miller – vocals, rhythm guitar
  • Ray Minhinnet – lead guitar
  • Chrissy Stewart – bass guitar
  • Jim Hall – piano, organ
  • Graham Deakin– drums
  • Chris Spedding– guitar
  • Rabbit, Gary Brooker– keyboards
  • The Memphis Horns- horn section
  • Engineered bySteve Nye
  • Assisted by Nigel Walker
  • Orchestral arrangements by Peter Knight

Track listing:

All tracks by Frankie Miller; except where noted.

  1. Be Good to Yourself – Andy Fraser
  2. The Doodle Song
  3. Jealous Guy – John Lennon
  4. Searching – Peter Knight,Bob Johnson
  5. Love Letters – Edward Heyman,Victor Young
  6. Take Good Care of Yourself – Jimmy Doris
  7. Down the Honky Tonk
  8. This Love of Mine – Frankie Miller,Robin Trower
  9. Let the Candlelight Shine
  10. (I’ll Never) Live in Vain

In May 1973.

In May 1973, “Philips” label released “Any Day Now”, the eighth Scott Walker studio album.It was recorded in 1973, and was produced by John Franz.


  • Scott Walker- vocals
  • Peter Knight- arrangements, conductor
  • Robert Cornford – arrangements, conductor
  • Peter J. Olliff – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Any Day Now – Bob Hilliard, Burt Bacharach
  2. All My Love’s Laughter – Jimmy Webb
  3. Do I Love You – Albert Pelay, Alain le Govic, Yves Dessca, Maxime Piolot, Paul Anka
  4. Maria Bethania – Caetano Veloso
  5. Cowboy – Randy Newman
  6. When You Get Right Down to It- Barry Mann
  7. If – David Gates
  8. Ain’t No Sunshine – Bill Withers
  9. The me I Never Knew – Don Black, John Barry
  10. If Ships Were Made to Sail – Jimmy Webb
  11. We Could Be Flying – Michel Colombier, Paul Williams

In April 1973.

In April 1973, “Chrysalis” label released “Parcel of Rogues”, the fifth Steeleye Span studio album. It was recorded January-February, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Jerry Boys, Maddy Prior, Tim Hart, Bob Johnson, Rick Kemp and Peter Knight.


  • Maddy Prior- vocals
  • Tim Hart- vocals, guitar, appalachian dulcimer
  • Bob Johnson- vocals, guitar
  • Rick Kemp- bass guitar, drums
  • Peter Knight- violin, viola, mandolin, piano, recorder, harmonium

Track listing:

  1. One Misty Moisty Morning – traditional
  2. Alison Gross – traditional
  3. The Bold Poachers – traditional
  4. The Ups And Downs – traditional
  5. Robbery with Violins – traditional
  6. The Wee Wee Man – traditional
  7. The Weaver and The Factory Maid – traditional
  8. Rogues in a Nation – Robert Burns
  9. Cam Ye O’er Frae France –traditional
  10. Hares on The Mountain – traditional


In March 1974.

In March 1974, “Chrysalis” label released “Now We Are Six”,the sixth Steeleye Span album. It was recorded December 1973-January 1974, at “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Ian Anderson.


  • Maddy Prior- vocals
  • Tim Hart- vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, electric dulcimer, banjo
  • Peter Knight- vocals, violin, mandolin, tenor banjo, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Bob Johnson- vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, synthesizer
  • Rick Kemp- vocals, bass guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Nigel Pegrum- drums, tambourine, oboe, recorder, flute, synthesizer
  • David Bowie- alto sax

Track listing:

  1. Seven Hundred Elves
  2. Edwin – traditional
  3. Drink Down the Moon – traditional
  4. Now We Are Six – traditonal
  5. Thomas the Rhymer – traditional
  6. The Mooncoin Jig – traditional
  7. Long-a-Growing – traditional
  8. Two Magicians – traditional
  9. Twinkle Twinkle Little Star – traditional
  10. To Know Him Is To Love Him – Phil Spector