Tag Archives: Born to Lose

Black Sabbath: The Eternal Idol

On November 23, 1987, “Vertigo” label released “The Eternal Idol”, the thirteenth Black Sabbath studio album. It was recorded October 1986 – March 1987, at “Air Studios” in Montserrat, “Air Studios” and “Battery Studios” in London, and was produced by Jeff Glixman, Vic Coppersmith-Heaven and Chris Tsanqarides.


  • Tony Martin – lead vocals
  • Tony Iommi – guitar
  • Geoff Nicholls – keyboards
  • Bob Daisley – bass
  • Eric Singer drums
  • Ray Gillen – sinister laugh
  • Bev Bevan – percussion
  • Jeff Glixman – engineer
  • Vic Coppersmith-Heaven – engineer
  • Chris Tsangarides – engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All lyrics by Bob Daisley and Geoff Nicholls, all music by Tony Iommi.

  1. The Shine
  2. Ancient Warrior
  3. Hard Life to Love
  4. Glory Ride
  5. Born to Lose
  6. Nightmare
  7. Scarlet Pimpernel
  8. Lost Forever
  9. Eternal Idol

On April 9, 2009.

On April 9, 2009, “Woodsist” label released “Songs of Shame” the fourth Woods album. It was recorded in 2009, at “Rear House” in Brooklyn, and was produced by Jeremy Earl and Jarvis Taveniere.


  • Jeremy Earl – vocals, guitar, drums, recording, artwork
  • Pete Nolan – guitar
  • Jarvis Taveniere – bass

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeremy Earl.

  1. To Clean
  2. The Hold
  3. The Number
  4. September with Pete
  5. Down This Road
  6. Military Madness
  7. Born to Lose
  8. Echo Lake
  9. Rain On
  10. Gypsy Hand
  11. Where and What Are You

In April 1962.

In April 1962, “ABC-Paramount” label released “Modern Sounds in Country and Western Music”, the 19th Ray Charles album. It was recorded in February 1962, at “Capitol Studios” in New York City and “United Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Sid Feller, Ray Charles and Joe Adams. In 1999, the album was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. In 2001, the album track “I Can’t Stop Loving You” was inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. in 2001,  the album was cited by “The Recording Academy” as a recording of “historical significance. “I Can’t Stop Loving You” was ranked number 49 on “Country Music Television’s” list of the “100 Greatest Songs of Country Music”  In 2001, “VH1” channel listed the album in its list of “The 100 Greatest Albums of R ‘N’ R”. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 104 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Ray Charles– vocals, piano
  • Hank Crawford– alto saxophone
  • Gil Fuller, Gerald Wilson– big band arrangements
  • Marty Paich– string arrangements
  • Todd Everett – liner notes
  • Bill Inglot, Ken Perry – remastering
  • Michael Ochs Archives, Hugh Bell – photography
  • Bill Putnam, Gene Thompson, Johnny Cue.Bob Arnold, Frank Abbey – engineering

Track listing:

  1. Bye Bye Love – Boudleaux Bryant, Felice Bryant
  2. You Don’t Know Me – Eddy Arnold, Cindy Walker
  3. Half As Much – Curley Williams
  4. I Love You So Much It Hurts – Floyd Tillman
  5. Just a Little Lovin’ (Will Go a Long Way) – Eddy Arnold, Zeke Clements
  6. Born To Lose – Frankie Brown, (Ted Daffan)
  7. Worried Mind – Ted Daffan, Jimmie Davis
  8. It Makes No Difference Now – Floyd Tillman, Jimmie Davis
  9. You Win Again – Hank Williams
  10. Careless Love – traditional, arranged by Ray Charles
  11. I Can’t Stop Loving You – Don Gibson
  12. Hey, Good Lookin’ – Hank Williams


In June 1978.

In June 1978, “Chrysalis” label released “Obsession”, the seventh UFO studio  album. It was recorded 1977 – 1978 at “C.P. McGregors” in Los Angeles and “West 3rd Carrier Station” in Beverley Hills, with “The Record Plant Mobile”, and was produced by Ron Nevison.


  • Phil Mogg – vocals
  • Michael Schenker – lead guitar, recorder
  • Paul Raymond – rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals
  • Pete Way – bass
  • Andy Parker– drums
  • Alan McMillan – conductor, string arrangements, string conductor
  • Mike Clink – engineer assistant
  • Hipgnosis – cover art

Track listing:

  1. Only You Can Rock Me – Pete Way, Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg
  2. Pack It Up (And Go) – Pete Way, Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg
  3. Arbory Hill – Michael Schenker
  4. Ain’t No Baby – Phil Mogg, Paul Raymond
  5. Lookin’ Out for No. 1 – Phil Mogg, Paul Raymond
  6. Hot ‘n’ Ready – Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg
  7. Cherry – Pete Way, Phil Mogg
  8. You Don’t Fool Me – Paul Raymond, Andy Parker, Phil Mogg
  9. Lookin’ Out for No. 1″ (reprise) – Michael Schenker, Paul Raymond
  10. One More for the Rodeo – Pete Way, Phil Mogg
  11. Born to Lose – Michael Schenker, Phil Mogg, Paul Raymond

On March 12, 2013.

Old sock

On March 12, 2013, “Polydor” label release “Old Sock” the twenty first Eric Clapton studio album. It was recorded in 2012, and was produced by Eric Clapton, Doyle Bramhall II,Justin Stanley and Simon Climie.


  • Eric Clapton– vocals, electric guitar, acoustic guitar, 12-string guitar, dobro, mandolin
  • Doyle Bramhall II– electric guitar, acoustic guitar, slide guitar, mandolin, backing vocals
  • Willie Weeks– bass guitar, upright bass
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Walt Richmond– upright piano, keyboards
  • Greg Leisz– pedal steel, mandolin
  • Chris Stainton– clavinet, Fender Rhodes, Wurlitzer, Hammond B3 organ
  • Taj Mahal– harmonica, banjo
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Steve Winwood– Hammond B3 organ
  • J.J. Cale– vocals, guitar
  • Paul McCartney– vocals, upright bass
  • Abe Laboriel Jr– drums
  • Tim Carmon– Hammond B3 organ, chord organ
  • Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Justin Stanley– clavinet, mellotron, drums
  • Matt Chamberlain– drums
  • Matt Rollings– keyboards
  • Simon Climie– percussion, piano
  • Frank Marocco– accordion
  • Gabe Witcher– fiddle
  • Stephen “Doc” Kupka– baritone saxophone
  • Joseph Sublett –tenor saxophone
  • Nicholas Lane –trombone
  • Sal Cracchiolo – trumpet
  • Sharon White , Michelle John – backing vocals
  • Chaka Khan, Julie Clapton, Ella Clapton, Sophie Clapton, Nikka Costa, Wendy Moten, Lisa Vaughan – guest vocals
  • Nick Ingman– string arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Further on Down the Road – Taj Mahal, Jesse E. Davis
  2. Angel – J.J. Cale
  3. The Folks Who Live on the Hill – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern
  4. Gotta Get Over – Doyle Bramhall II, Justin Stanley, Nikka Costa
  5. Till Your Well Runs Dry – Peter Tosh
  6. All of Me – Gerald Marks, Seymour Simons
  7. Born to Lose -Ted Daffan
  8. Still Got the Blues – Gary Moore
  9. Goodnight Irene – Huddie Ledbetter,John A. Lomax, Sr.
  10. Your One and Only Man – Otis Redding
  11. Every Little Thing – Doyle Bramhall II,Justin Stanley, Nikka Costa
  12. Our Love Is Here to Stay – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  13. No Sympathy – Peter Tosh