Tag Archives: Jeff Glixman

Black Sabbath: The Eternal Idol

On November 23, 1987, “Vertigo” label released “The Eternal Idol”, the thirteenth Black Sabbath studio album. It was recorded October 1986 – March 1987, at “Air Studios” in Montserrat, “Air Studios” and “Battery Studios” in London, and was produced by Jeff Glixman, Vic Coppersmith-Heaven and Chris Tsanqarides.


  • Tony Martin – lead vocals
  • Tony Iommi – guitar
  • Geoff Nicholls – keyboards
  • Bob Daisley – bass
  • Eric Singer drums
  • Ray Gillen – sinister laugh
  • Bev Bevan – percussion
  • Jeff Glixman – engineer
  • Vic Coppersmith-Heaven – engineer
  • Chris Tsangarides – engineer, mixing

Track listing:

All lyrics by Bob Daisley and Geoff Nicholls, all music by Tony Iommi.

  1. The Shine
  2. Ancient Warrior
  3. Hard Life to Love
  4. Glory Ride
  5. Born to Lose
  6. Nightmare
  7. Scarlet Pimpernel
  8. Lost Forever
  9. Eternal Idol

Kansas: Always Never the Same

On May 19, 1998, “River North” label released “Always Never the Same”, the thirteenth Kansas studio album. This album consists of new songs and covers of the band’s previous work, re-recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra. It was recorded September 1997 – February 1998, at “Southern Tracks”, “Electric Landlady” and “Tree Sound Studios” in Atlanta, Georgia, “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Phil Ehart, Rich Williams and Trammell Starks.


  • Steve Walsh – lead vocals, keyboards
  • Robby Steinhardt – lead and backing vocals, violin
  • Rich Williams – guitars
  • Billy Greer – vocals, bass
  • Phil Ehart – drums
  • The London Symphony Orchestra, arranged and conducted by Larry Baird
  • Russ Fowler, James Majors, Jim “Z” Zumpano – engineer
  • Peter Cobbin – orchestra recordings engineer
  • Jeff Glixman – mixing
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Brian Jobson, James Majors – digital editing
  • Trammell Starks – digital editing
  • Michael Allen – copyist
  • Pennie Moore, Conni Treantafeles – art direction, design
  • Marti Griffin – photography

Track listing:

  1. Eleanor Rigby – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  2. Dust in the Cover- Kerry Livgren
  3. Preamble (orchestral) – Larry Baird
  4. Song for America – Kerry Livgren
  5. In Your Eyes – Steve Walsh
  6. Miracles Out of Nowhere – Kerry Livgren
  7. Hol On – Kerry Livgren
  8. The Sky Is Falling – Steve Walsh
  9. Cheyenne Anthem – Kerry Livgren
  10. Prelude & Introduction (medley) – Phil Ehart, Billy Greer, Robby Steinhardt, Steve Walsh, Rich Williams, Larry Baird
  11. The Wall – Kerry Livgren, Steve Walsh
  12. Need to Know – Steve Walsh

On September 20, 1975.

On September 20, 1975, “Kirshner” label released “Masque”, the third Kansas studio album. It was recorded in 1975 and was produced by Jeff Glixman.


  • Steve Walsh– lead and backing vocals, organ, piano, clavinet, Moog synthesizer, congas
  • Kerry Livgren– lead and rhythm guitars, acoustic guitar, piano, clavinet, Moog and ARP synthesizers
  • Robby Steinhardt– lead and backing vocals, violin
  • Rich Williams– lead and rhythm guitars
  • Dave Hope– bass guitar
  • Phil Ehart– drums, percussion
  • Earl Lon Price – saxophone
  • Lee Peterzell – engineer
  • Jimmy Stroud – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Walsh, except where noted.

  1. It Takes a Woman’s Love (To Make a Man)
  2. Two Cents Worth – Kerry Livgren, Steve Walsh
  3. Icarus – Borne on Wings of Steel – Kerry Livgren
  4. All the World – Steve Walsh, Robby Steinhardt
  5. Child of Innocence – Kerry Livgren
  6. It’s You
  7. Mysteries and Mayhem – Kerry Livgren, Steve Walsh
  8. The Pinnacle – Kerry Livgren

In February 1982.

In February 1982, “Jet” label released “Chase the Dragon”, the third Magnum studio album. It was recorded in 1980, at “Town House Studios” in London, and was produced by Jeff Glixman.


  • Bob Catley — vocals
  • Tony Clarkin – guitar
  • Mark Stanway – keyboards
  • Wally Lowe – bass guitar
  • Kex Gorin – drums
  • Steve Prestage – engineer assistant
  • Rodney Matthews – cover art, design

Track listing:

All tracks by Tony Clarkin.

  1. Soldier of the Line
  2. On the Edge of the World
  3. The Spirit
  4. Sacred Hour
  5. Walking the Straight Line
  6. We All Play the Game
  7. The Teacher
  8. The Lights Burned Out

In February 1975.


In February 1975, “Kirshner Legacy” label released “Song for America”, the second Kansas studio album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Wally Heider Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jeff Glixman and Wally Gold.


  • Steve Walsh– lead and backing  vocals, organ, ARP and Moog synthesizers, piano
  • Robby Steinhardt– lead and backing vocals, violin
  • Kerry Livgren– electric and rhythm guitars, Moog and ARP synthesizers, ARP strings, piano
  • Rich Williams– acoustic, rhythm and electric guitar
  • Dave Hope– bass guitar
  • Phil Ehart– drums, glockenspiel, Moog drum and gong
  • Peter Granet – engineer
  • Tom Rabstenek – mastering
  • Don Meehan – preparation
  • Ed Lee – art direction
  • Peter Lloyd – paintings

Track listing:

All tracks by Kerry Livgren except where noted.

  1. Down by the Road – Steve Walsh, Kerry Livgren
  2. Song for America
  3. Lamplight Symphony
  4. Lonely Street – Steve Walsh, Dave Hope, Rich Williams, Phil Ehart
  5. The Devil Game – Steve Walsh, Dave Hope
  6. Incomudro – Hymn to the Atman