Tag Archives: Neil Kernon

On April 18, 1980.

On April 18, 1980, “Charisma” label released “Do They Hurt?”, the fifth Brand X album. It was recorded in April 1979, at “Startling Studios” in Ascot, UK, and was produced by Neil Kernon, John Goodsall, J. Peter Robinson, Percy Jones, Phil Collins, Robin Lumley and John Giblin.


  • John Goodsall– vocals, guitar
  • Peter Robinson– keyboards, gong, synth
  • Robin Lumley– piano, keyboards
  • Percy Jones– vocals, bass
  • John Giblin– bass
  • Mike Clark– drums
  • Phil Collins– drums
  • Morris Pert– percussion

Track listing:

  1. Noddy Goes to Sweden – Percy Jones
  2. Voidarama – John Goodsall
  3. Act of Will – John Goodsall
  4. Fragile – Percy Jones, Peter Robinson
  5. Cambodia – John Goodsall
  6. Triumphant Limp – John Goodsall, John Giblin, Robin Lumley, Phil Collins
  7. D. M.Z. – Percy Jones

In January 1975.

In January 1975, “RCA” label released “Play Don’t Worry”, the second Mick Ronson album. It was recorded in 1974, at “Trident Studios”, “Scorpio Sound” and “Sundragon Studios” in London, “Strawberry Studios” in Juan La Pins, France, and was produced by Mick Ronson.


  • Mick Ronson– vocals, guitar, bass, drums, harmonica, piano, clavinet, synthesizer, arrangements, mixing
  • Trevor Bolder– bass, horn
  • Mike Garson– piano
  • Ritchie Dharma, Aynsley Dunbar, Tony Newman– drums
  • Jeff Daly – saxophone, flutes
  • Neil Kernon– ARP synthesizer
  • Paul Francis – drums
  • John Mealing– piano
  • Ian Hunter– backing vocals
  • Vicky Silva, Miquel Brown, Beverly Baxton – backing vocals
  • Sid Sax – string conductor
  • Dennis Mackay, Peter Fielder, Ted Sharp, Ray Hendrickson, Ian Major – engineers
  • Clive Arrowsmith- photography

Track listing:

  1. Billy Porter – Mick Ronson
  2. Angel No. 9 – Craig Fuller
  3. This Is for You – Laurie Heath
  4. White Light/White Heat – Lou Reed
  5. Play Don’t Worry – Mick Ronson, Bob Sargeant
  6. Hazy Days – Mick Ronson
  7. Girl Can’t Help It – Bobby Troup
  8. Empty Bed (Io Me Ne Andrei) – Claudio Baglioni, Antonio Coggio, Mick Ronson
  9. Woman – Adam Taylor

In July 1983.

In July 1983, “CBS Associated Legacy” label released “Drastic Measures”, the ninth Kansas studio album. It was recorded in 1983, and was produced by Neil Kernon, Phil Ehart, John Elefante, Dave Hope, Kerry Livgren and Rich Williams.


  • Phil Ehart– drums
  • John Elefante– keyboards, lead vocals
  • Dave Hope– bass guitar
  • Kerry Livgren– guitar, vocals, keyboards, Synclavier II programming
  • Rich Williams– guitar
  • Terry Brock – vocals, background vocals
  • Kyle Henderson – vocals, background vocals
  • David Pack– vocals, background vocals
  • Neil Kernon – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by John Elefante and Dino Elefante except where noted.

  1. Fight Fire With Fire
  2. Everybody’s My Friend
  3. Mainstream – Kerry Livgren
  4. Andi – John Elefante
  5. Going Through the Motions
  6. Get Rich
  7. Don’t Take Your Love Away
  8. End of the Age – Kerry Livgren
  9. Incident on a Bridge – Kerry Livgren

In June 1982.

In June 1982, “Polydor” label released “Animation”, the third Jon Anderson solo album. It was recorded 1981 – 1982, and was produced by Jon Anderson, Neil Kernon and Tony Visconti.


  • Jon Anderson – vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Stefano Cerri – electric bass
  • Clem Clempson– guitars
  • Chris Rainbow– vocals
  • Simon Phillips– drums and percussions
  • David Sancious– keyboards
  • John Giblin: bass
  • Morris Pert: percussions
  • Brazil Idiots : brazilian percussions
  • Jack Bruce: bass
  • Dave Lawson: keyboards
  • Ronnie Leahy: keyboards
  • Brother James : percussions
  • Billy Kristian : guitar
  • Blue Weaver: keyboards
  • Ian Wallace: drums
  • Delmay String Quartet : strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Jon Anderson.

  1. Olympia
  2. Animation
  3. Surrender
  4. All in a Matter of Time
  5. Unlearning (The Dividing Line)
  6. Boundaries
  7. Pressure Point
  8. Much Better Reason
  9. All Gods Children