Tag Archives: Ross Valory

In September 1971.

In September 1971, “Capitol” label released “Rock Love”, the sixth Steve Miller Band album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Steve Miller.


  • Steve Miller– lead guitar, vocals
  • Ross Valory– bass guitar
  • Jack King– drums
  • Bobby Winkelman– rhythm guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Miller.

Side 1 – Live

  1. The Gangster Is Back
  2. Blues Without Blame
  3. Love Shock

Side 2 – Studio

  1. Let Me Serve You
  2. Rock Love
  3. Harbor Lights
  4. Deliverance

On July 31, 1981.

On July 31, 1981, “Columbia” label released “Escape” (E5C4P3 on the album cover) the seventh Journey studio album. It was recorded April – June at “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, California,  and was produced by Mike Stone, Kevin Elson and Steve Perry. In 1988, “Kerrang!” readers voted “Escape” the greatest AOR album of all time. The album was certified 3 x Platinum in Canada by “CRIA”, and 9 x Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Steve Perry– lead vocals
  • Neal Schon– lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Jonathan Cain– keyboards, rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Ross Valory– bass, backing vocals
  • Steve Smith– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Mike Stone, Kevin Elson– engineers, mixing
  • Wally Buck – assistant engineer
  • Bob Ludwig– original mastering, remastering
  • Brian Lee – remastering
  • Herbie Herbert– management
  • Jim Welch – photography, art direction
  • Stanley Mouse– illustrations

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Stop Believin’ – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  2. Stone in Love – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  3. Who’s Crying Now – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry
  4. Keep On Runnin’ – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  5. Still They Ride – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  6. Escape – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  7. Lay it Down – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  8. Dead or Alive – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  9. Mother Father – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry, Neal Schon, Matt Schon
  10. Open Arms – Jonathan Cain, Steve Perry

In February 1977.


In February 1977, “Columbia” label released “Next”, the third Journey studio album. It was recorded May – October 1976, at “His Master’s Wheels” in San Francisco, and was produced by Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon, Ross Valory and Aynsley Dunbar.


  • Gregg Rolie– lead vocals, keyboards
  • Neal Schon– electric and acoustic guitars, lead vocals
  • Ross Valory– bass guitar, backing vocals, piano
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums, percussion,
  • Smiggy –engineer, mixing
  • Bruce Botnick– mastering
  • Herbie Herbert –director
  • Bruce Steinberg –art direction, design, photography, cover design
  • Ellie Oberzil – design
  • Mansfield –sleeve art

Track listing:

  1. Spaceman – Aynsley Dunbar, Gregg Rolie
  2. People – Aynsley Dunbar, Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon
  3. I Would Find You – Tena Austin, Neal Schon
  4. Here We Are – Gregg Rolie
  5. Hustler – Aynsley Dunbar, Gregg Rolie
  6. Next – Heidi Cogdell, Aynsley Dunbar, Gregg Rolie
  7. Nickel and Dime – Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon, George Tickner, Ross Valory
  8. Karma – Aynsley Dunbar, Neal Schon

On April 5, 1979.


On April 5, 1979, “Columbia” label released “Evolution”, the fifth Journey studio album. It was recorded October – November 1978, at “Cherokee Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Ray Thomas Baker.


  • Steve Perry- lead vocals
  • Neal Schon- electric and acoustic guitars, backing vocals, and guitar synthesizer
  • Gregg Rolie- keyboards, vocals
  • Ross Valory- bass guitar, backing vocals, bass pedals
  • Steve Smith- drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Greg Werner – backing vocals
  • Roy Thomas Baker- mixing
  • Geoff Workman, George Tutko – engineers

Track listing:

  1. Majestic – Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  2. Too late – Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  3. Lovin’, Touchin’, Squeezin’ – Steve Perry
  4. City of the Angels – Steve Perry, Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon
  5. When You’re Alone (It Ain’t Easy) – Steve Perry, Neal Schon
  6. Sweet and Simple – Steve Perry
  7. Lovin’ You Is Easy – Steve Perry, Neal Schon, Greg Errico
  8. Just the Same Way – Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon, Ross Valory
  9. Do You Recall – Steve Perry, Gregg Rolie
  10. Daydream – Steve Perry, Gregg Rolie, Neal Schon, Ross Valory
  11. Lady Luck – Steve Perry, Neal Schon, Ross Valory

On April 1, 1975.

Journey 1st

On April 1, 1975, “Columbia” label released the self – titled debut album by Journey. It was recorded in November 1974, at “CBS Studios”, in San Francisco, and was produced by Roy Halee.


  • Neal Schon- lead guitar
  • George Tickner– guitars, bass
  • Gregg Rolie- keyboards, vocals
  • Ross Valory- bass guitar, piano
  • Aynsley Dunbar- drums

Track listing:

  1. Of a Lifetime – Gregg Rolie, George Tickner and Neal Schon
  2. In the Morning Day – Gregg Rollie and Ross Valory
  3. Kohoutek – Neal Schon and Gregg Rollie
  4. To Play Some Music – Neal Schon and Gregg Rollie
  5. Topaz – George Tickner
  6. In My Lonely Feeling/Conversations – Gregg Rollie and Ross Valory
  7. Mystery Mountain – Gregg Rollie, George Tuckner and Diane Valory

On March 23, 1980.


On March 23, 1980, “Columbia” label released “Departure”the sixth Journey studio album. It was recorded in November 1979, at “The Automatt” in San Francisco, and was produced by Geoff Workman and Kevin Elson.


  • Steve Perry- lead vocals
  • Neal Schon- guitars, co-lead vocals on track 4, backing vocals
  • Gregg Rolie- keyboards, harmonica, co-lead vocals on track 3, backing vocals
  • Ross Valory- bass, backing vocals
  • Steve Smith- drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Geoff Workman- producer, engineer, mixing
  • Kevin Elson- producer, live sound
  • Ken Kessie – engineer
  • Jim Welch – art direction

Track listing:

  1. Any Way You Want It – Steve Perry and Neal Schon
  2. Walks Like a Lady – Steve Perry
  3. Someday Soon – Steve Perry, Gregg Rolie and Neal Schon
  4. People and Places – Steve Perry, Neal Schon and Ross Valory
  5. Precious Time – Steve Perry and Neal Schon
  6. Where Are You – Steve Perry and Neal Schon
  7. I’m Cryin’ – Steve Perry and Gregg Rolie
  8. Line of Fire – Steve Perry and Steve Schon
  9. Departure – Steve Schon
  10. Good Morning Girl – Steve Perry and Neal Schon
  11. Stay Awhile – Steve Perry and Neal Schon
  12. Homemade Love – Steve Perry, Neal Schon and Steve Smith