Tag Archives: Roosevelt Sykes

On January 13, 2006.

On January 13, 2006, “SPV” label released “Soul of a Man”, album by Eric Burdon, dedicated to Ray Charles, John Lee Hooker and the city of New Orleans. It was recorded in 2005, and was produced by Tony Braunagel.


  • Eric Burdon – vocals
  • Carl Carlton- guitar, slide guitar
  • Johnny Lee Schell- guitar, slide guitar, background vocals
  • Jon Cleary- piano
  • James Hutchinson- bass
  • Reggie McBride – bass
  • Les Lovett – trumpet, flugelhorn
  • Nick Love – trombone
  • John Sublett- saxophone
  • Rod Piazza- harmonica
  • Lenny Castro- percussion
  • Tony Braunagel- drums

Track listing:

  1. Soul of a Man – Blind Willie Johnson
  2. Kingsize Jones – Jimmy Wood, J.J. Holliday
  3. Red Cross Store – Fred McDowell
  4. Como Se Llama Mama – Gregg Sutton, John Heron
  5. Forty Days and Forty Nights – Bernard Roth
  6. Feeling Blue – Eric Bibb, Fredrik Boström
  7. Never Give Up Blues – David Munyon
  8. GTO – Munyon
  9. Forty-Four – Roosevelt Sykes, Eurreal Wilford Montgomery
  10. Slow Moving Train – John Keller
  11. Don’t Ever Let Nobody Drag Your Spirit Down – Charlotte Hoglund, Eric Bibb
  12. Devil Run – John Bundrick
  13. I Don’t Mind – John Bundrick
  14. Circuit Rider – Billy Watts, David Raven, Pete Anderson, Taras Prodaniuk



In January 1971.


In January 1971, “Warner Bros” label released the debut, self-titled Little Feat album. It was recorded August – September 1970, and was produced by Russ Titelman. The cover shows a mural in Venice, California, painted by the L. A. Fine Arts Squad in 1970 – “Venice in the Snow”.


  • Lowell George- lead, rhythm and slide guitars, lead and backing vocals, harmonica
  • Bill Payne- keyboards, lead and backing vocals, piano
  • Roy Estrada- bass, backing vocals
  • Richard Hayward- drums, backing vocals
  • Russ Titelman- percussion, backing vocals, piano
  • Ry Cooder- slide guitar
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow- pedal steel
  • Kirby Johnson – string and horn arrangements

Track listing:

  1. Snakes on Everything – Bill Payne
  2. Strawberry Flats – Bill Payne, Lowell Georg
  3. Truck Stop Girls – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  4. Brides of Jesus – Bill Payne, Lowell George
  5. Wilin’ – Lowell George
  6. Hamburger Midnight – Lowell George, Roy Estrada
  7. Forty-Four Blues / How Many More Years – Roosevelt Sykes, Chester Burnett
  8. Crack in Your Door – Lowell George
  9. I’ve Been the One – Lowell George
  10. Takin’ My Time – Bill Payne
  11. Crazy Captain Gunboat Willie – Bill Payne, Lowell George

In December 1967.


In December 1967, “Elektra” label released “The Resurrection of Pigboy Crabshaw”, the third Butterfield Blues Band album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by John Court.


  • Paul Butterfield– vocals, harmonica
  • Elvin Bishop– guitar
  • Mark Naftalin– keyboards
  • Bugsy Maugh – bass, vocalon “Driving Wheel”
  • Phil Wilson– drums
  • Gene Dinwiddie– tenor saxophone
  • David Sanborn– alto saxophone
  • Keith Johnson – trumpet

Track listing:

  1. One More Heartache – Smokey Robinson, The Miracles
  2. Driftin’ and Driftin’ – Charles Brown, Johnny Moore, Eddie Williams
  3. I Pity the Fool – Deadric Malone
  4. Born Under a Bad Sign – William Bell, Booker T. Jones
  5. Run Out of Time – Paul Butterfield, Gene Dinwiddie
  6. Double Trouble – Otis Rush
  7. Drivin’ Wheel – Roosevelt Sykes
  8. Droppin’ Out – Paul Butterfield, Tucker Zimmerman
  9. Tollin’ Bells – traditional, arranged by The Butterfield Blues Band