Tag Archives: Polar Studios

On February 28, 1983.

On February 28, 1983, “A&M” label released “The Key”, the eighth Joan Armatrading studio album. It was recorded in 1982, at “Townhouse Studios” in Shepherd’s Bush, London, “Polar Studios” in Stockholm and in New York City, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite and Val Garay.


  • Joan Armatrading – vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano
  • Adrian Belew– electric guitar
  • Daryl Stuermer– electric guitar
  • Gary Sanford – electric guitar
  • Tony Levin– bass guitar
  • Larry Fast– synthesiser
  • Jerry Marotta– drums
  • Stewart Copeland– drums
  • Julian Diggle – percussion
  • Mel Collins– saxophone
  • Annie Whitehead– trombone
  • Guy Barker– trumpet
  • Dean Klevatt – piano
  • Jeremy Meek – vocal, bass
  • Craig Hull – electric guitar
  • Tim Pierce– electric guitar
  • Bryan Garofalo – bass guitar
  • Craig Krampf– drums
  • Steve “Goldie” Goldstein – keyboards
  • L. Benoit – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Armatrading.

  1. (I Love It When You) Call Me Names
  2. Foolish Pride
  3. Drop the Pilot
  4. The Key
  5. Everybody Gotta Know
  6. Tell Tale
  7. What Do Boys Dream
  8. The Game of Love
  9. The Dealer
  10. Bad Habits
  11. I Love My Baby


On February 15, 1980.

On February 15, 1980, “Charisma” label released “Smallcreep’s Day”, the first Mike Rutherford studio album. It was recorded in 1979, at “Polar Studios” in Stockholm,   Sweden, and was produced by David Hentschel. The album name and the 24-minute title track are based on the 1965 novel “Smallcreep’s Day” by Peter Currell Brown.


  • Mike Rutherford– guitars, basses
  • Ant Phillips– keyboards
  • Noel McCalla– vocals
  • Simon Phillips– drums
  • Morris Pert– percussion
  • David Hentschel– engineering
  • David Bascombe – production and engineering assistant
  • Andy Mackrill, Dale Newman, Geoff Banks – equipment
  • Hipgnosis– cover design, photograph

Track listing:

All tracks by Mike Rutherford.

  1. Smallcreep’s Day
  • Between the Tick & the Tock
  • Working in Line
  • After Hours
  • Cats and Rats (In This Neighbourhood)
  • Smallcreep Alone
  • Out Into the Daylight
  • At the End of the Day
  1. Moonshine
  2. Time and Time Again
  3. Romani
  4. Every Road
  5. Overnight Job

In July 1981.

In July 1981, “Jet” label released “Time”, the ninth ELO (Electric Light Orchestra) studio album. It was recorded in 1981, at “Musicland Studios” in Munich, Germany, and “Polar Studios” in Stockholm, Sweden, and was produced by Jeff Lynne. The album was certified Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Jeff Lynne– lead and backing vocals, electric and acoustic guitars, piano, synthesizers, vocoder
  • Bev Bevan– drums, percussion
  • Richard Tandy– acoustic and electric pianos, synthesizers, vocoder, guitars
  • Kelly Groucutt– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Bill Bottrell– engineer
  • Mack– engineer
  • Strings conducted by Rainer Pietsch

Track listing:

All tracks by Jeff Lynne.

  1. Prologue
  2. Twilight
  3. Yours Truly 2095
  4. Ticket to the Moon
  5. The Way Life’s Meant to Be
  6. Another Heart Breaks
  7. Rain is Falling
  8. From the End of the World
  9. The Lights Go Down
  10. Here Is the News
  11. 21st Century Man
  12. Hold on Tight
  13. Epilogue

On September 29, 1995.


On September 29, 1995, “Motor Music” label released “Herzeleid” the debut Rammstein album. It was recorded in 1995, at “Polar Studios” in Stockholm, and was produced by Jacob Hellner and Carl-Michael Herlöfsson. In 2005,  “Rock Hard” magazine ranked “Herzeleid”  at number 303 in its book of “The 500 Greatest Rock & Metal Albums of All Time”. The album was certified Platinum in Germany by “BVMI”.


  • Till Lindemann– vocals
  • Richard Z. Kruspe– guitar
  • Paul Landers– guitar
  • Christian Lorenz– keyboards
  • Oliver Riedel– bass guitar
  • Christoph Schneider– drums
  • Ronald Prent –mixing
  • Emanuel Fialik – additional production
  • Olav Bruhn – additional production
  • Praler –photography, cover idea
  • Dirk Rudolph – sleeve design
  • Chateau du Pape –mixing

Track listing:

All  tracks by Rammstein.

  1. Wollt ihr das Bett in Flammen sehen?
  2. Der Meister
  3. Weisses Fleisch
  4. Asche zu Asche
  5. Seemann
  6. Du riechst so gut
  7. Das alte Leid
  8. Heirate mich
  9. Herzeleid
  10. Laichzeit
  11. Rammstein

On March 28, 1980.


On March 28, 1980, “Charisma” label released “Duke”, the tenth Genesis studio album. It was recorded November–December 1979, at “Polar Studios”, in Stockholm, mixed at “Maison Rouge” in London, mastered at “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by David Hentschel and Genesis. “Duke” was certified platinum in UK by “BPI” and by “RIAA” in US.


  • Tony Banks– keyboards, backing vocals, 12-string guitar, duck
  • Mike Rutherford- guitars, basses, backing vocals
  • Phil Collins– drums, vocals, drum machine, duck
  • David Hentschel- backing vocals, audio engineering
  • Dave Bascombe – assistant engineering
  • Ray Staff – mastering
  • Lionel Koechlin – cover
  • Bill Smith – art direction

Track listing:

  1. Behind the Lines – Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford
  2. Duchess – Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford
  3. Guide Vocal – Tony Banks
  4. Man of Our Times – Mike Rutherford
  5. Misunderstanding – Phil Collins
  6. Heathaze – Tony Banks
  7. Turn it On Again – Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford
  8. Alone Tonight – Mike Rutherford
  9. Cul-de-sac – Tony Banks
  10. Please Don’t Ask – Phil Collins
  11. Duke’s Travels – Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford
  12. Duke’s End – Tony Banks, Phil Collins and Mike Rutherford

On August 15, 1979.


On August 15, 1979, label “Swan Song” released “In Through the Out Door”, the eighth Led Zeppelin studio album .  It was recorded over a three-week period in November and December 1978 at ABBA’s “Polar Studios” in Stockholm, and was produced by Jimmy Page.This was band’s final album with completely new material and the last one released before the death of the drummer John Bonham in 1980.  The album sleeve design was created by Hipgnosis. “In Through the Out Door” was certified 2 x Platinum in Australia by the “ARIA”; Platinum in UK by the “BPI” and 6 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Robert Plant– lead vocals
  • John Bonham– drums
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar,  mandolin,  keyboards,  synthesizer, piano
  • Jimmy Page– electric and acoustic guitars, Gizmotron

Track listing:

  1. In the Evening – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, Jimmy Page
  2. South Bound Saurez – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  3. Fool in the Rain – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant, John Paul Jones
  4. Hot dog – Jimmy Page, Robert Plant
  5. Carouselambra – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant, jimmy Page
  6. All My Love – John Paul Jones, Robert Plant
  7. I’m Gonna Crawl – John Paul Jones, Jimmy Page, Robert Plant