In November 1972.

In November 1972, “A&M” label released “Whatever’s for Us”, the debut Joan Armatrading album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Château d’Hérouville” in France, “Trident Studios” and “Marquee Studios” in London, and was produced by Gus Dudgeon. The album was collaboration between Joan Armatrading and singer-songwriter Pam Nestor.


  • Joan Armatrading – vocals, piano, acoustic guitar, harmonium
  • Davey Johnstone- guitars, sitar
  • Larry Steele – bass guitar
  • Chris Hughes – saxophone
  • Gerry Conway, Henry Spinetti– drums
  • Ray Cooper– percussion, vibes
  • Robin Geoffrey Cable, Ken Scott, Roy Baker, Phil Dunne – engineers
  • Del Newman – string, horns arrangements
  • Chris Hughes – brass arrangements
  • John Hays – art direction
  • Sumiko Davies – cover design
  • Derek Davies – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Joan Armatrading and Pam Nestor, except where noted.

  1. My Family
  2. City Girl – Joan Armatrading
  3. Spend a Little Time – Joan Armatrading
  4. Whatever’s for Us, for Us
  5. Child Star
  6. Visionary Mountains
  7. It Could Have Been Better
  8. Head of the Table
  9. Mister Remember Me
  10. Gave It a Try
  11. Alice
  12. Conversation – Joan Armatrading
  13. Mean Old Man
  14. All the King’s Gardens



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.