Tag Archives: Huey Lewis and the News

On July 24, 2001.

On July 24, 2001, “Silverstone Records” label released “Plan B”, the eighth Huey Lewis and the News studio album. It was recorded 2000 – 2001, by Huey Lewis and Johnny Colla.


  • Huey Lewis – lead vocals, harmonica
  • Johnny Colla – guitar, saxophone, backing vocals
  • Chris Hayes – lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Ric Wilson – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Sean Hopper – keyboards, piano, backing vocals
  • John Pierce – bass
  • Bill Gibson – drums
  • Marvin McFadden – trumpet
  • Ron Stallings – tenor saxophone
  • Rob Sudduth – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Wynonna Judd – vocals
  • Jack Jacobsen – organ, acoustic piano
  • Jim Pugh – organ
  • Dallis Craft – backing vocals
  • David Boucher, Johnny Colla, Huey Lewis, Merrit Pelkey, Jim “Watts” Vereecke – engineer
  • Bob Clearmountain – mixing
  • Robert Hadley, Doug Sax – mastering
  • Chris Haggerty – digital editing
  • Aaron Rapoport – photography

Track listing:

  1. We’re Not Here for a Long Time (We’re Here for a Good Time) – Johnny Colla, Chris Hayes, Huey Lewis
  2. My Other Woman – Johnny Colla, Huey Lewis
  3. I Ain’t Perfect – Bill Gibson, Huey Lewis
  4. When I Write the Book – Rockpile Billy Bremner, Dave Edmunds, Nick Lowe
  5. I’m Not in Love Yet – Chris Hayes, Huey Lewis
  6. Thank You, No. 19 – Sean Hopper, Huey Lewis
  7. Plan B – Johnny Colla, Huey Lewis
  8. The Rhythm Ranch – Johnny Colla, Huey Lewis
  9. Let Her Go and Start Over – Mike Duke
  10. I Never Think About You – Chris Hayes, Huey Lewis, John Pierce
  11. So Little Kindness – Chris Hayes, Huey Lewis, Rob Sudduth

On February 14, 2020.

On February 14, 2020, “New Hulex” and “BMG” labels released “Weather”, the tenth Huey Lewis and the News studio album. It was recorded in 2017, at “Trout Farm Studios” in San Rafael, California, and was produced by Huey Lewis and Johnny Colla.


  • Huey Lewis – lead vocals, harmonica
  • Johnny Colla – vocals, guitar, saxophone, sequencing
  • Stef Burns – vocals, guitar
  • James Harrah – vocals, guitar
  • Sean Hopper – vocals, keyboards
  • John Pierce – bass
  • Bill Gibson – vocals, drums
  • Jeffrey Babko – piano
  • Ric Wilson – guitar
  • John McFee – steel guitar
  • Chris Barnes – trumpet
  • Johnnie Bamont – baritone saxophone
  • Marvin McFadden – trumpet
  • Rob Sudduth – tenor saxophone
  • Bryan Dyer – backing vocals
  • Lorin Rowan – backing vocals
  • Niko Ellison – backing vocals
  • Karl Perazzo – percussion

Track listing:

  1. While We’re Young – John Colla, Huey Lewis, John Pierce
  2. Her Love Is Killin’ Me – John Colla, Chris Hayes, Huey Lewis
  3. I Am There for You – John Colla, Huey Lewis
  4. Hurry Back Baby – Bill Gibson, Huey Lewis
  5. Remind Me Why I Love You Again – John Colla, Bill Gibson, Chris Hayes
  6. Pretty Girls Everywhere – Eugene Church, Thomas Williams, John Colla
  7. One of the Boys – John Colla, James Harrah, Huey Lewis

On September 15, 1983.


On September 15, 1983, “Chrysalis” label released “Sports”, the third Huey Lewis and the News album .It was recorded in 1983, at “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, California;“Record Plant” in Sausalito, California, and “The Automatt” in San Francisco, and was produced by   Huey Lewis and the News. The album cover art features a photo of the band at the “2 A.M. Club”, a bar located in Mill Valley, California, where the band had performed during its early days.The album was certified Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”, and 7 x Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Huey Lewis– lead vocals, harmonica
  • Mario Cipollina –bass
  • Johnny Colla– guitar, saxophone, backing vocals
  • Bill Gibson –drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Chris Hayes –lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Sean Hopper –keyboards, backing vocals
  • John McFee– pedal steel guitar
  • Engineers: Jim Gaines, Jeffrey Norman, Jesse Osborne
  • Assistant engineers: Jeffrey Norman, Jesse Osborne
  • Mixing: Larry Alexander,Bob Clearmountain
  • Mastering:Ted Jensen, Bob Vosgien
  • Remastering:Bob Norberg
  • Art direction: Sam Gay, Lisa Glines
  • Graphic design: Bunny Zaruba
  • Design: Bunny Zaruba
  • Cover photo: 2am Club in Mill Valley

Track listing:

  1. The Heart of Rock & Roll – Johnny Colla, Huey Lewis
  2. Heart & Soul – Mike Chapman, Nicky Chinn
  3. Bad is Bad – Alex Call, John Ciambotti, Sean Hopper, Huey Lewis, John McFee, Michael Schriener
  4. I Want a New Drug – Chris Hayes, Huey Lewis
  5. Walking on a Thin Line – Andre Pessis, Kevin Wells
  6. Finally Found a Home – Brown, Chris Hayes, Huey Lewis
  7. If This Is It – Johnny Colla, Huey Lewis
  8. You Crack Me Up – Mario Cipollina, Huey Lewis
  9. Honky Tonk Blues – Hank Williams