Tag Archives: covers

On January 26, 2018.

On January 26, 2018, “J&R Adventures”, “Mascot Label Group” labels released “Black Coffee”, the third Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa covers album. It was recorded in August 2016, and was produced by Kevin Shirley.


  • Joe Bonamassa– guitar
  • Beth Hart– vocals
  • Rob McNelley – rhythm guitar
  • Michael Rhodes– bass guitar
  • Anton Fig– drums, percussion
  • Reese Wynans– keyboards
  • Paulie Cerra – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Ron Dzuibla – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Lee Thornburg – trumpet, trombone
  • Jade Macreae – backing vocals
  • Juanita Tippins – backing vocals
  • Mahalia Barnes – backing vocals
  • Rob Katz – engineering
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Jaramiah Rios – engineering assistance
  • Kevin Luu – engineering assistance
  • Roy Weisman – executive production
  • Lowell Reynolds – recording
  • Ben Rodgers – recording
  • Ron Dziubla – recording

Track listing:

  1. Give It Everything You Got – Edgar Winter, Jerry LaCroix
  2. Damn Your Eyes – Barbara Wyrick, Stephen Bogard
  3. Black Coffee – Ike Turner, Tina Turner
  4. Lullaby of the Leaves – Bernice Petkere, Joseph Young
  5. Why Don’t You Do Right – Kansas Joe McCoy
  6. Saved – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  7. Sitting on the Top of the World – Walter Vinson, Lonnie Chatmon
  8. Joy – Lucinda Williams
  9. Soul on Fire – Ahmet Ertegun, Gerald Wexler, LaVern Baker
  10. Addicted – Eva Engel, Klaus Waldeck



On July 17, 2015.

On July 17, 2015, “Brown Records” label released “Sing into My Mouth” a covers album by Iron & Wine and Ben Bridwell. It was recorded in 2015, at “Echo Mountain Recording”, in Asheville, North Carolina, and was produced by Sam Beam.


  1. Ben Bridwell – vocals
  2. Sam Beam – vocals, guitar, banjo, piano, percussion, harmonica, bass, art direction, design
  3. Jim Becker – acoustic and electric guitars, violin, harmonica
  4. Rod Burger – piano, organ, mellotron, accordion
  5. Joe Adamik – bass clarinet, drums, percussion
  6. Matt Lux – bass
  7. Paul Niehaus – pedal steel guitar
  8. Todd Bienvenu – cover painting
  9. Dusty Summers – art direction, design
  10. Charles Peterson – back cover photo

Track listing:

  1. This Must Be the Place (Naive Melody) – Chris Frantz, David Byrne, Jerry Harrison, Tina Weymoth
  2. Done This One Before – Ronnie lane
  3. Any Day Woman – Paul Siebel
  4. You Know More Than I Know – John Cale
  5. Bullet Proof Soul – Andrew Hale, Helen Adu, Stuart Matthewman
  6. No Way Out of Here – Kenneth Baker
  7. God Knows (You Gotta Give to Get) – Sarah Assbring
  8. The Straight and Narrow – Jason Pierce
  9. Magnolia – JJ Cale
  10. Am I a Good Man – Willie Clarke
  11. Ab’s Song – Toy Caldwell
  12. Coyote, My Little Brother – Peter La Farge



On March 23, 2004.

On March 23, 2004, “Reprise” label released “Me and Mr. Johnson”, album by Eric Clapton consisting of covers of songs written and originally recorded by Robert Johnson. It was recorded in 2004, at “The Town House” in London, and was produced by Simon Climie and Eric Clapton.


  • Eric Clapton– guitar, slide guitar, vocals
  • Andy Fairweather-Low– guitar
  • Doyle Bramhall II– guitar, slide guitar
  • Jerry Portnoy– harmonica
  • Billy Preston– organ
  • Chris Stainton– piano
  • Nathan East– bass
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Pino Palladino– bass
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Alan Douglas – recording engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Johnson.

  1. When You Got a Good Friend
  2. Little Queen of Spades
  3. They’re Red Hot
  4. Me and the Devil Blues
  5. Traveling Riverside Blues
  6. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
  7. Stop Breakin’ Down Blues
  8. Milkcow’s Calf Blues
  9. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
  10. Come on in My Kitchen
  11. If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day
  12. Love in Vain
  13. 32-20 Blues
  14. Hell Hound on My Trail


On March 10, 2018.

On March 10, 2018, Gary Burden died aged 84. He was artist specialized in design of music album covers, considered as one of the pioneers of the concept of album cover art. He created covers for many famous music acts including The Doors, Neil Young, Mama Cass, Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, Joni Mitchell, The Eagles, Jackson Browne and Matt Corby.  In 2000, together with the photographer Henry Diltz, he made “California Rock: Under the Covers”, a documentary about their mutual work on album covers and participation in the Los Angeles music scene.In 2010, at the 52nd “Annual Grammy Awards”, Burden won the award for “Best Boxed or Special Limited Edition Packaging” for the Neil Young “The Archives Vol. 1 1963–1972”.

On May 20, 2016.

On May 20, 2016, “Columbia” label released “Fallen Angels”, the thirty-seventh Bob Dylan studio album. It was recorded February 2015-March 2016, at “Capitol Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Jack Frost. The album features covers of twelve classic American songs.


  • Bob Dylan – vocals
  • Charlie Sexton – guitar
  • Donnie Herron – steel guitar, viola
  • Tony Garnier – bass guitar
  • George Recile – drums
  • Stu Kimball – guitar
  • Dean Parks – guitar
  • Al Schmitt – mixing, engineering
  • Steve Genewick – assistant engineering
  • James Harper – horn arrangements, conducting
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Geoff Gans – album artwork

Track listing:

  1. Young at Heart – Johnny Richards, Carolyn Leigh
  2. Maybe You’ll Be There – Rube Bloom, Sammy Gallop
  3. Polka Dots and Moonbeams – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke
  4. All the Way – Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn
  5. Skylark – Hoagy Carmichael, Johnny Mercer
  6. Nevertheless – Harry Ruby, Bert Kalmar
  7. All or Nothing at All – Arthur Altman, Jack Lawrence
  8. On a Little Street in Singapore- Peter DeRose, Billy Hill
  9. It Had to Be You – Isham Jones, Gus Kahn
  10. Melancholy Mood – Walter Schumann, Vick R. Knight, Sr.
  11. That Old Black Magic – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  12. Come Rain or Come Shine – Arlen, Johnny Mercer

On March 18, 2017.

On March 18, 2017, Don Hunstein died aged 88. He was photographer, best known for his work at “Columbia Records” and for his photographs that were featured on covers of some famous albums including Thelonious Monk’s Monk’s Dream; Blood, Sweat & Tears’s Mirror Image; Miles Davis’s Nefertiti, and the famous photograph of Bob Dylan walking with Suze Rotolo, used for the cover of “Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan” album.

In December 1985.


In December 1985, “SST” label released “3-Way Tie (For Last)”, the fourth and final Minutemen album. It was recorded August – September 1985, and was produced by Mike Watt, D. Boon and Ethan James. The album features few covers of songs by bands such as the Urinals, Meat Puppets, Blue Öyster Cult, Creedence Clearwater Revival,  Roky Erickson and the Aliens. The album cover painting was by D. Boon.


  • D. Boon– electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals, piano
  • Mike Watt– bass, vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • George Hurley– drums
  • Joe Baiza– lead guitar
  • Ethan James– Linn drum, Vietnam War battlefield tape

Track listing:

  1. Price of Paradise – D. Boon
  2. Lost – Kirkwood
  3. The Big Stick – D. Boon
  4. Political Nightmare – Roessler, Mike Watt
  5. Courage – D. Boon
  6. Have You Ever Seen the Rain? – Fogerty
  7. The Red and the Black – Bloom, Bouchard, Pearlman
  8. Spoken Word Piece – Mike Watt
  9. No One – Roessler, Mike Watt
  10. Stories – Roessler, Mike Watt
  11. What Is It? – Roessler, Mike Watt
  12. Ack Ack Ack – Johansen, Jones, Talley
  13. Just Another Soldier – D. Boon
  14. Situations at Hand – Mike Watt
  15. Hittin’ the Bong – Mike Watt
  16. Bermuda – Roky Erickson