Tag Archives: Lucinda Williams

On June 30, 1998.

On June 30, 1998, “Mercury” label released “Car Wheels on a Gravel Road”, the fifth Lucinda Williams studio album. It was recorded in 1997, at “Room and Board Studio” in Nashville, Tennessee, “Rumbo Studio” in Canoga Park, California, and was produced by Roy Bittan, Steve Earle, Ray Kennedy and Lucinda Williams. “Car Wheels on a Gravel Road: won a “Grammy Award for Best Contemporary Folk Album”, and was voted “The Best album of 1998” in The Village Voice’s annual “Pazz & Jop” critics poll.


  • Lucinda Williams – vocals, acoustic guitar, dobro guitar
  • Gurf Morlix – electric guitar, 12 string electric guitar, electric slide guitar, acoustic slide guitar, harmony vocal
  • Buddy Miller – acoustic guitar, mando guitar, electric guitar, harmony vocal
  • Ray Kennedy – 12 string electric guitar
  • Greg Leisz – 12 string electric guitar, mandolin
  • Charlie Sexton – electric guitar, dobro guitar
  • Steve Earle – acoustic guitar, harmonica, resonator guitar, harmony vocal
  • Johnny Lee Schell – electric guitar, electric slide guitar, dobro guitar
  • Bo Ramsey – electric guitar, slide guitar
  • Richard “Hombre” Price – dobro guitar
  • Roy Bittan – Hammond B3 organ, accordion, organ
  • Micheal Smotherman – B-3 organ
  • John Ciambotti – bass guitar, upright bass
  • Donald Lindley – drums, percussion
  • Jim Lauderdale – harmony vocal
  • Emmylou Harris – harmony vocal

Track listing:

All tracks by Lucinda Williams except where noted.

  1. Right in Time
  2. Car Wheels on a Grave Road
  3. 2 Kool 2 Be 4-Gotten
  4. Drunken Angel
  5. Concrete and Barbed Wine
  6. Lake Charles
  7. Can’t Let Go – Randy Weeks
  8. I Lost It
  9. Metal Firecrackers
  10. Greenville
  11. Still Looking for Your Kiss – Lucinda Williams, Duane Jarvis
  12. Joy
  13. Jackson

On April 24, 2020.

On April 24, 2020, “Thirty Tigers” label released “Good Souls Better Angels”, the 15th Lucinda Williams album. It was recorded September – November 2019, at “Room” and “Board Studio” in Nashville, and was produced by Ray Kennedy, Tom Overby and Lucinda Williams.


  • Lucinda Williams – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Stuart Mathis – guitar, violin
  • Mark T Jordan – organ
  • David Sutton – bass guitar
  • Butch Norton – drums, percussion
  • Ray Kennedy – mixing
  • Brian Lucey – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Lucinda Williams and Tom Overby, except where noted.

  1. You Can’t Rule Me – Memphis Minnie
  2. Bad News Blues
  3. Man Without a Soul
  4. Big Black Train
  5. Wakin’ Up – Lucinda Williams
  6. Pray the Devil Back to Hell
  7. Shadows & Doubts
  8. When the Way Gets Dark
  9. Bone of Contention – Lucinda Williams
  10. Down Past the Bottom – Greg Garing
  11. Big Rotator
  12. Good Souls

On September 28, 2010.

On September 28, 2010, “Dreyfus Records” label released “You Can Always Turn Around”, the 20th Lucky Peterson album. It was recorded in March 2010, in Woodstock, NY, and was produced by Doug Yoel, Francis Dreyfus, and Lucky Peterson. “You Can Always Turn Around” won “Grand Prix du Disque” (Best Blues Album in 2010 in France).


  • Lucky Peterson– vocals, acoustic and electric guitars, national duolian, piano, arranger
  • Larry Campbell – acoustic and pedal steel guitar, mandolin, national duolian, arranger
  • Gary Burke – drums, arranger
  • Scott Petito – bass, octave mandolin, shaker, arranger, engineer, mixing, mastering
  • Tamara Peterson – vocals
  • Doug Yoel- arranger, cover photo, liner notes
  • Beth Reineke – assistant engineer, inside photo
  • Valérie Lefebvre – package coordinator
  • Djémila Boukhlifa – package coordinator

Track listing:

  1. I Believe I’ll Dust My Broom – Robert Johnson
  2. I’m New Here – Bill Callahan
  3. Statesboro Blues – Blind Willie McTell
  4. Trouble – Ray LaMontagne
  5. Trampled Rose – Tom Waits, Katleen Brennan
  6. Atonement – Lucinda Williams
  7. Why Are People Like That – Bobby Charles
  8. Four Little Boys – Lucky Peterson, James Peterson
  9. Death Don’t Have No Mercy – Reverend Gary Davis
  10. I Wish I Knew How It Would Feel to Be Free- Billy Taylor, Dick Dallas
  11. Think – Curtis Mayfield

On January 26, 2018.

On January 26, 2018, “J&R Adventures”, “Mascot Label Group” labels released “Black Coffee”, the third Beth Hart and Joe Bonamassa covers album. It was recorded in August 2016, and was produced by Kevin Shirley.


  • Joe Bonamassa– guitar
  • Beth Hart– vocals
  • Rob McNelley – rhythm guitar
  • Michael Rhodes– bass guitar
  • Anton Fig– drums, percussion
  • Reese Wynans– keyboards
  • Paulie Cerra – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Ron Dzuibla – tenor and baritone saxophone
  • Lee Thornburg – trumpet, trombone
  • Jade Macreae – backing vocals
  • Juanita Tippins – backing vocals
  • Mahalia Barnes – backing vocals
  • Rob Katz – engineering
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Jaramiah Rios – engineering assistance
  • Kevin Luu – engineering assistance
  • Roy Weisman – executive production
  • Lowell Reynolds – recording
  • Ben Rodgers – recording
  • Ron Dziubla – recording

Track listing:

  1. Give It Everything You Got – Edgar Winter, Jerry LaCroix
  2. Damn Your Eyes – Barbara Wyrick, Stephen Bogard
  3. Black Coffee – Ike Turner, Tina Turner
  4. Lullaby of the Leaves – Bernice Petkere, Joseph Young
  5. Why Don’t You Do Right – Kansas Joe McCoy
  6. Saved – Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller
  7. Sitting on the Top of the World – Walter Vinson, Lonnie Chatmon
  8. Joy – Lucinda Williams
  9. Soul on Fire – Ahmet Ertegun, Gerald Wexler, LaVern Baker
  10. Addicted – Eva Engel, Klaus Waldeck


On March 5, 1996.


On March 5, 1996, “E-Squared” label released “I Feel Alright”, the sixth Steve Earl studio album. It was recorded in 1995, and was produced by Ray Kennedy, Richard Bennett and Richard Dodd.


  • Steve Earle — guitars, harmonica, vocals
  • Richard Bennett, Ray Kennedy – guitars
  • Kelly Looney, Garry Tallent, Roy Huskey, Jr., Ric Kipp – bass
  • Custer, Greg Morrow – drums
  • Ken Moore – organ
  • Richard Bennett – harmonium
  • Custer, Richard Bennett, Greg Morrow, Dub Cornett – percussion
  • Custer & Logan, The Fairfield Four, Lucinda Williams, Ms. Williams’ stunt double Siobhan Maher – vocals
  • Strings arranged and conducted by Kris Wilkerson
  • Carl Gordetzky, Pamela Sixfin, Richard Grosjean – violins
  • Lee Larrison – viola
  • Robert Mason – cello
  • Tony Fitzpatrick – album artwork

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Earle

  1. Feel Alright
  2. Hard-Core Troubadour
  3. More Than I Can Do
  4. Hurtin’ Me, Hurtin’ You
  5. Now She’s Gone
  6. Poor Boy
  7. Valentine’s Day
  8. The Unrepentant
  9. CCKMP
  10. Billy and Bonnie
  11. South Nashville Blues
  12. You’re Still Standin’ There


On July 26, 2013.


On July 26, 2015, John Weldon Cale aka J.J. Cale, died aged 74. He was  musician (guitar), singer and songwriter, regarded as one of the originators of the “Tulsa Sound”, a style based on blues, country, rockabilly, and jazz. His unique singing and guitar playing style influenced big number of music artists including Mark Knopfler, Neil Young, and Eric Clapton who described him as “one of the most important artists in the history of rock”. Songs composed by Cale have been recorded by many famous artists including Eric Clapton, Lynyrd Skynyrd, John Mayer, Johnny Cash, Bobby Bare, Jerry Garcia, Waylon Jennings, Dr. Hook, Captain Beefheart, Freddie King, Beck, Lucinda Williams, Iron and Wine, Ben Bridwell, and Asha Puthli.