Tag Archives: Jerry Portnoy

On March 23, 2004.

On March 23, 2004, “Reprise” label released “Me and Mr. Johnson”, album by Eric Clapton consisting of covers of songs written and originally recorded by Robert Johnson. It was recorded in 2004, at “The Town House” in London, and was produced by Simon Climie and Eric Clapton.


  • Eric Clapton– guitar, slide guitar, vocals
  • Andy Fairweather-Low– guitar
  • Doyle Bramhall II– guitar, slide guitar
  • Jerry Portnoy– harmonica
  • Billy Preston– organ
  • Chris Stainton– piano
  • Nathan East– bass
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Pino Palladino– bass
  • Jim Keltner– drums
  • Alan Douglas – recording engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Johnson.

  1. When You Got a Good Friend
  2. Little Queen of Spades
  3. They’re Red Hot
  4. Me and the Devil Blues
  5. Traveling Riverside Blues
  6. Last Fair Deal Gone Down
  7. Stop Breakin’ Down Blues
  8. Milkcow’s Calf Blues
  9. Kind Hearted Woman Blues
  10. Come on in My Kitchen
  11. If I Had Possession Over Judgement Day
  12. Love in Vain
  13. 32-20 Blues
  14. Hell Hound on My Trail



In January 1978.


In January 1978, “Blue Sky” released “I’m Ready”, the thirteenth Muddy Waters studio album. It was recorded in October – November 1977, in Westport, Connecticut, and was produced by Johnny Winter. In 1978,the album earned Waters a “Grammy Award”.


  • Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield ) – vocal, guitar
  • Jimmy Rogers– guitar
  • Big Walter Horton– acoustic and amplified harmonica
  • Bob Margolin– guitar/bass
  • Pinetop Perkins– piano
  • Willie “Big Eyes” Smith– drums
  • Johnny Winter– guitar
  • Jerry Portnoy– amplified harmonica

Track listing:

All tracks by McKinley Morganfield; except where noted.

  1. I’m Ready – Willie Dixon
  2. 33 Years
  3. Who Do You Trust
  4. Copper Brown
  5. I’m Your Hoochie Coochie Man – Willie Dixon
  6. Mamie – McKinley Morganfield, Jimmy Rogers
  7. Rock Me
  8. Screamin’ And Cryin
  9. Good Morning, Little School Girl – Sonny Boy Williamson