Tag Archives: Columbia Records

On August 6, 2013.

On August 6, 2013, “T Sensibility Music” and “Columbia Records” labels released “The Civil Wars”, the second and final  Civil Wars album. It was recorded in 2013, in Nashville, and was produced by Charlie Peacock and Rick Rubin.


  • Joy Williams– vocals
  • John Paul White– vocals, electric and acoustic guitar
  • Charlie Peacock– engineering, arrangements
  • Tom Elmhirst– mixing
  • Ben Baptie – Pro Tools, mixing assistant
  • Joe Visciano – mixing assistant

Track listing:

  1. The One That Got Away – Joy Williams, John Paul White, Charlie Peacock
  2. I Had Me a Girl – Joy Williams, John Paul White
  3. Same Old Same Old – Joy Williams, John Paul White
  4. Dust to Dust – Joy Williams, John Paul White
  5. Eavesdrop – Joy Williams, John Paul White, Charlie Peacock
  6. Devil’s Backbone – Joy Williams, John Paul White, Charlie Peacock
  7. From This Valley – Joy Williams, John Paul White, Phil Madeira
  8. Tell Mama – Clarence Carter, Marcus Daniel, Wilbur Terrell
  9. Oh Henry – Joy Williams, John Paul White
  10. Disarm – Billy Corgan
  11. Sacred Heart – Joy Williams, John Paul White
  12. D’Arline – Joy Williams, John Paul White



On March 18, 2017.

On March 18, 2017, Don Hunstein died aged 88. He was photographer, best known for his work at “Columbia Records” and for his photographs that were featured on covers of some famous albums including Thelonious Monk’s Monk’s Dream; Blood, Sweat & Tears’s Mirror Image; Miles Davis’s Nefertiti, and the famous photograph of Bob Dylan walking with Suze Rotolo, used for the cover of “Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan” album.

On March 25, 2014.

On March 25, 2014, “Legacy Recordings” label released “Out Among the Stars” the posthumous Johnny Cash studio album. The album materials come from the lost 1980s sessions with producer Billy Sherrill, shelved by “Columbia Records”, and discovered and compiled by Cash’s son John Carter Cash in 2012. The materials were recorded 1981-1984, at “Columbia Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, and “1111 Sound Studios” in Los Angeles, and were produced by Billy Sherrill, John Carter Cash and Steve Berkowitz.


  • Johnny Cash – vocals, guitar
  • Pete Bordonali – guitar
  • Jerry Carrigan – guitar
  • June Carter Cash– duet
  • Pete Drake– steel guitar
  • Jerry Kennedy– guitar
  • Waylon Jennings– duet
  • Kenny Malone– drums
  • Terry McMillan– harmonica
  • Weldon Myrick – steel guitar
  • Minnie Pearl– vocals
  • Hargus “Pig” Robbins– piano
  • Billy Sanford – guitar
  • Dale Sellers – guitar
  • Henry Strzelecki – bass guitar
  • Marty Stuart– guitar, mandolin
  • John C. Williams – bass guitar
  • Bobby Wood – piano
  • Robert Wray – guitar
  • Niko Bolas– percussion
  • Sam Bush– mandolin
  • Carlene Carter– background vocals
  • Laura Cash – fiddle
  • Jerry Douglas– Dobro
  • Mark Fain – upright bass
  • Tony Harrell – keyboards
  • Rick Lonow – percussion
  • Buddy Miller– guitar
  • Pat McLaughlin – guitar
  • Marty Stuart – guitar, mandolin
  • Bryan Sutton– acoustic guitar, banjo
  • Blade – percussion
  • Cash Cabin Vocal Group” and the full student body of Sumner Academy of Gallatin, Tennessee – additional vocals
  • Niko Bolas – mixing
  • Lou Robin – executive production
  • Joseph M. Palmaccio– mastering
  • Chuck Turner – engineering
  • Nathan Yarborough – additional mixing

Track listing:

  1. Out Among the Stars – Adam Mitchell
  2. Baby Ride Easy – Richard Dobson
  3. She Used to Love Me a Lot – Kye Fleming, Dennis Morgan, Charles Quillen
  4. After All – Charles Cochran, Sandy Mason
  5. I’m Movin’ On – Hank Snow
  6. If I Told You Who It Was – Bobby Braddock, Curly Putman
  7. Call Your Mother – Johnny Cash
  8. I Drove Her Out of My Mind – Gary Gentry, Hillman Hall
  9. Tennessee – Rick Scott
  10. Rock and Roll Shoes – Paul Kennerley, Graham Lyle
  11. Don’t You Think It’s Come Our Time – Tommy Collins
  12. I Came to Believe – Johnny Cash
  13. She Used to Love Me a Lot (JC/ECVersion) – Kye Fleming, Dennis Morgan, Charles Quillen

On December 7, 1977.

Goldmark jpg

On December 7, 1977, Peter Carl Goldmark (Hungarian: Goldmark Péter Károly) died aged 71. Goldmark was German-Hungarian inventor and engineer, who, during his work in “Columbia Records” in 1945, invented the long-playing microgroove 33-1/3 rpm record, which revolutionized the way people listened to music.

On October 22, 1970.


On October 22, 1970, “Columbia” label released “Miles Davis at Fillmore”, live album by Miles Davis. It was recorded on four consecutive days, from June 17 through June 20, 1970, at the “Fillmore East” in New York City, and was produced by Teo Macero.


  • Miles Davis: trumpet
  • Steve Grossman: tenorand soprano sax
  • Chick Corea: Fender Rhodes electric piano
  • Keith Jarrett: electronic organ
  • Dave Holland: acousticand electric bass
  • Jack DeJohnette: drums
  • Airto Moreira: percussion, cuica

All tracks by Miles Davis.

  1. Wednesday Miles
  2. Thursday Miles
  3. Friday Miles
  4. Saturday Miles

On October 19, 1970.


On October 19, 1970, “Columbia Records” released “New Morning”, the eleventh Bob Dylan studio album.  It was recorded June–August 1970, at “Studio B” and “Studio E”, at the “Columbia Studio Building”, in New York City and was produced by Bob Johnston.


  • Bob Dylan – vocals, harmonica, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, organ; piano
  • David Bromberg– electric guitar, dobro
  • Harvey Brooks– bass guitar
  • Ron Cornelius– electric guitar
  • Charlie Daniels– bass guitar
  • Buzzy Feiten– electric guitar
  • Al Kooper– organ, piano, electric guitar, French horn
  • Russ Kunkel– drums
  • Billy Mundi– drums
  • Hilda Harris – backing vocals
  • Albertin Robinson – backing vocals
  • Maeretha Stewart – backing vocals on “If Dogs Run Free”

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Dylan.

  1. If Not for You
  2. Day of the Locustus
  3. Time Passes Slowly
  4. Went to see the Gypsy
  5. Winterlude
  6. If Dogs Run Free
  7. New Morning
  8. Sign on the Window
  9. One More Weekend
  10. The Man in Me
  11. Three Angels
  12. Father of Night

On August 30, 1968.


On August 30, 1968, “Columbia” label released “Truth” the debut Jeff Beck album. It was recorded May 1966, June 1967, December 1967, May 1968 at the “Abbey Road Studios”; “Olympic Sound Studios”and “De Lane Lea Recording Studios” in London, and was produced ny Mickey Most.


  • Jeff Beck– lead and backing vocals, electric, acoustic and pedal steel guitar, bass guitar
  • Rod Stewart– lead vocals
  • Ronnie Wood– bass guitar
  • Micky Waller– drums
  • Madeline Bell– backing vocals
  • John Carter and Ken Lewis
  • Clem Cattini– drums
  • Aynsley Dunbar– drums
  • Nicky Hopkins– piano
  • John Paul Jones– bass guitar, Hammond organ, arrangements
  • Keith Moon– drums, timpani
  • Jimmy Page– 12-string electric guitar
  • Unknown Scottish bagpipe player – bag,pipeson
  • Unknown studio orchestra – orchestra

Track listing

  1. Shape of Things – Jim McCarty, Keith Relf, Paul Samwell-Smith
  2. Let Me Love You – Jeffrey Rod
  3. Morning Dew – Bonnie Dobson
  4. You Shook Me – Willie Dixon, J.B.Lenoir
  5. Ol’ Man River – Jerome Kern, Oscar Hammerstein II
  6. Greensleeves – traditional
  7. Rock My Plimsoul – Jeffrey Rod
  8. Beck’s Bolero – Jimmy Page
  9. Blues Deluxe – Jeffrey Rod
  10. I Ain’t Superstitious – Jeffrey Rod