Tag Archives: The Doors

On February 9, 2019.

On February 9, 2019, Guy Webster died aged 79. He was photographer, known for photographing famous musicians and actors in the 60s and 70s, including artists such as The Beach Boys, The Rolling Stones, The Doors and Simon & Garfunkel.



On March 10, 2018.

On March 10, 2018, Gary Burden died aged 84. He was artist specialized in design of music album covers, considered as one of the pioneers of the concept of album cover art. He created covers for many famous music acts including The Doors, Neil Young, Mama Cass, Crosby, Stills, Nash, and Young, Joni Mitchell, The Eagles, Jackson Browne and Matt Corby.  In 2000, together with the photographer Henry Diltz, he made “California Rock: Under the Covers”, a documentary about their mutual work on album covers and participation in the Los Angeles music scene.In 2010, at the 52nd “Annual Grammy Awards”, Burden won the award for “Best Boxed or Special Limited Edition Packaging” for the Neil Young “The Archives Vol. 1 1963–1972”.

On July 3, 1968.


On July 3, 1968, “Elektra” label released “Waiting for the Sun”, the third Doors studio album. It was recorded February – May 1968, at “TTG Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Paul A. Rothchild.  “Waiting for the Sun” became the band’s first and only No. 1 album. The album was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”; Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; 2 x Gold in France by “SNEP”; Gold in Germany by “BVMI”; Gold un UK by “BPI”.


  • Jim Morrison– lead vocals, percussion
  • Ray Manzarek– Gibson G-101 and Vox Continental organs, RMI Electra piano, piano, backing vocals, percussion
  • Robby Krieger– guitar, backing vocals, percussion
  • John Densmore– drums, backing vocals, percussion
  • Douglas Lubahn– bass guitar
  • Kerry Magness – bass guitar
  • Leroy Vinnegar– acoustic bass
  • Bruce Botnick– engineering
  • Paul Ferrara– album cover photograph
  • William S. Harvey – sleeve art direction, design
  • Jac Holzman– production supervisor
  • Guy Webster – back cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Morrison, Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger and John Densmore, except where noted.

  1. Hello, I Love You – Jim Morrison
  2. Love Street – Jim Morrison
  3. Not to Touch the Earth – Jim Morrison
  4. Summer’s Almost Gone – Jim Morrison
  5. Summer’s Almost Gone – Jim Morrison
  6. The Unknown Soldier
  7. Spanish Caravan
  8. My Wild Love
  9. We Could Be So Good Together
  10. Yes, the River Knows – Robby Krieger
  11. Five to One – Jim Morrison


On April 19, 1971.

The Doors - LA Woman

On April 19, 1971, “Elektra” label released “L.A. Woman”, the sixth Doors studio album.  It was recorded December 1970 – January 1971, at “The Doors Workshop” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bruce Botnick and The Doors. This was band’s last album to feature Jim Morrison, who died three months after the album’s release. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “L.A. Woman” at number 364 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jim Morrison– lead vocals, percussion, piano
  • Ray Manzarek– Hammond organ on tracks, tack piano, Vox Continental, rhythm guitar, Gibson G-101, Wurlitzer electric piano , Rhodes piano, lead vocals
  • Robby Krieger– guitar
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Jerry Scheff– bass guitar
  • Marc Benno– rhythm guitar
  • Bruce Botnick– production engineering
  • Doug Sax– mastering engineer
  • Carl Cossick – sleeve art concept, design
  • Wendell Hamick – sleeve photography, visual effects

Track listing:

  1. The Changeling – Jim Morrison
  2. Love Her Madly – Robby Krieger
  3. Been Down So Long – Jim Morrison
  4. Cars Hiss by My Window – Jim Morrison
  5. L.A. Woman – Jim Morrison
  6. L’America – Jim Morrison
  7. Hyacinth House – Ray Manzarek, Jim Morrison
  8. Crawling King Size – anon. arr. John Lee Hooker
  9. The WASP – Jim Morrison
  10. Riders on the Storm – Jim Morrison, Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger,John Densmore

On February 9, 1970.


On February 9, 1970, “Elektra” label released “Morrison Hotel”, the fifth Doors studio album. It was recorded August 1966, March 1968 and November 1969, at “Elektra Sound Recorders”, and was produced by Paul Rothchild.


  • Jim Morrison– lead vocals, maracas, tambourine
  • Ray Manzarek– tack piano , Gibson G-101 organ , Vox Continental organ , piano Wurlitzer electric piano , Fender Rhodes Piano Basson, Hammond C-3 organ, Rocksichord , Moog modular synthesizer
  • Robby Krieger– guitar
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Lonnie Mack– bass guitar
  • Ray Neapolitan – bass guitar
  • John Sebastian (G. Puglese) – harmonica
  • Gary Burden– sleeve design
  • Henry Diltz– sleeve photography

Track listing:

  1. Roadhouse Blues – Jim Morrison
  2. Waiting for the Sun – Jim Morrison
  3. You Make Me Real – Jim Morrison
  4. Peace Frog – Jim Morrison, Robby Krieger
  5. Blue Sunday – Jim Morrison
  6. Ship of Fools – Jim Morrison, Robby Krieger
  7. Land Ho! – Jim Morrison, Robby Krieger
  8. The Spy – Jim Morrison
  9. Queen of the Highway – Jim Morrison
  10. Indian Summer – Jim Morrison, Robby Krieger
  11. Maggie M’Gill – Jim Morrison

On January 4, 1967.

The Doors - The Doors

On January 4, 1967, “Elektra” label released the self titled debut Doors album. It was recorded in August, 1966, at the “Sunset Sound  Recorders”, in Hollywood, and was produced by  Paul A. Rothchild. It was originally released in different mono and stereo mixes, and features the breakthrough single “Light My Fire”. The album was huge commercial success, it has sold 25 million copies worldwide and became Doors best sold album. Both the album and the song “Light My Fire” were inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”. In 2012, magazine “Rolling Stone” ranked the album on number 42, on its list of “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. In 2015,  based on its cultural, artistic or historical significance, the “Library of Congress” selected “The Doors” for inclusion in the “National Recording Registry”.


  • Jim Morrison– lead vocals
  • Ray Manzarek– Vox Continental organ, piano, keyboard bass, marxophone
  • Robby Krieger– guitar, bass overdubs
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Larry Knechtel – bass guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Jim Morrison, Robby Krieger, Ray Manzarek and John Densmore, except where noted.

  1. Break On Through
  2. Soul Kitchen
  3. The Crystal Ship
  4. Twentieth Century Fox
  5. Alabama Song (Whisky Bar) – Bertolt Brecht, Kurt Weill
  6. Light My Fire
  7. Back Door man – Willie Dixon, Chester Burnett
  8. I Looked at You
  9. End of the Night
  10. Take It as it Comes
  11. The End


On October 18, 1971.


On October 18, 1971, “Elektra” label released “Other Voices”, the seventh Doors studio album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by The Doors and Bruce Botnick. “Other Voices” was the first Doors album released following the death of Jim Morrison. The three remaining Doors  members released the album in October, three months after Morrison’s death.  Manzarek and Robby Krieger took Morrison’s place as lead singers.


  • Ray Manzarek– vocals, keyboards
  • Robby Krieger– vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Jack Conrad – bass
  • Jerry Scheff– bass
  • Wolfgang Melz – bass
  • Ray Neapolitan – bass
  • Willie Ruff– acoustic bass
  • Francisco Aguabella– percussion
  • Emil Richards– marimba, kickshaws and whimwhams

Track listing:

  1. In the Eye of the Sun – Ray Manzarek
  2. Variety is the Spice of Life – Robby Krieger
  3. Ships / Sails – Robby Krieger, John Densmore
  4. Tightrope Ride – Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger
  5. Down on the Farm – Robby Krieger
  6. I’m Horny, I’m Stoned – Robby Krieger
  7. Wandering Musician – Robby Krieger
  8. Hang on to Your Life – Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger