On May 6, 2015.


Lester Errol Brown MBE died today aged 71. Brown was a British-Jamaican singer and songwriter, best known as thefrontman of soul band Hot Chocolate. Hot Chocolate’s hits included “You Sexy Thing”, “Emma”, “So You Win Again” and “Brother Louie”.


On May 4, 1987.


On May 4, 1987, Paul Vaughn Butterfield died aged 45. Being vocalist and harmonica player he performed with Nick Gravenites and Elvin Bishop, but he is best known as the frontman of The Paul Butterfield Blues Band. He gained international recognition after performing during the “Summer of Love” at “The Monterey Festival” and “Woodstock Festival”. In 2006, he was inducted into the “Blues Hall of Fame” and in 2015, The Paul Butterfield Blues Band was inducted in the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”.

On April 30, 1983.


On April 30, 1983, McKinley Morganfield aka Muddy Waters died aged 70. Named as “father of modern Chicago blues”, Waters wrote few classic standards including “I just want to make love to you”, “I’m your Hoochie Coochie Man”, “Got my Mojo working” and had a major influence on many artists including Cream, Eric Clapton and Led Zeppelin. The Rolling Stones named themselves after Waters’ 1950 song “Rollin’ Stone”.

On April 29, 1993.


On April 29, 1983, Michael “Mick” Ronson died aged 47. Being guitarist, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, arranger and producer, he is best known for his work with David Bowie, as one of the Spiders from Mars. Ronson have worked with Ian Hunter. Morrissey, Van Morrison, Slaughter & The Dogs, The Wildhearts, The Rich Kids, Elton John, Johnny Cougar and T-Bone Burnett. Ronson also co-produced Lou Reed’s album “Transformer” and released several solo albums, “Slaughter on 10th Avenue” is his best known and most successful solo project.  In 2003 he was named the 64th greatest guitarist of all time by “Rolling Stone” and 41st in 2012 by the same magazine.

On April 28, 1969.


On April 28, 1969, “Columbia” label released the debut, self-titled Chicago Transit Authority album. Later the band changed its name to Chicago and the debut album became known as “Chicago I”.  It was recorded in “Columbia Recording Studios” in New York City and was produced by James William Guercio.


  • Peter Cetera- bass guitar, vocals, agogo bells
  • Terry Kath- electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Robert Lamm- acoustic piano, Hammond organ, Hohner Pianet, Wurlitzer electric piano, vocals, maracas
  • Lee Loughnane- trumpet, claves
  • James Pankow- trombone, cowbell
  • Walter Parazaider- woodwinds, tambourine
  • Danny Seraphine- drums, percussion
  • James William Guercio – original liner notes
  • Fred Catero – engineer
  • Nick Fasciano – artwork

Track listing:

  1. Introduction – Terry Kath
  2. Does Anybody Really Know What Time It Is? – Robert Lamm
  3. Beginnings – Robert Lamm
  4. Questions 67 and 68 – Robert Lamm
  5. Listen – Robert Lamm
  6. Poem 58 – Robert Lamm
  7. Free Form Guitar – Terry Kath
  8. South California Purples – Robert Lamm
  9. I’m a Man – Steve Winwood, Jimmy Miller
  10. Prologue – James William Guercio
  11. Someday – James Pankow, Robert Lamm
  12. Liberation – James Pankow