Tag Archives: Brian Blade

On October 7, 2016.

On October 7, 2016, “Blue Note” label released “Day Breaks”, the sixth Norah Jones studio album. It was recorded in 2015, and was produced by Norah Jones, Eli Wolf and Sarah Oda.


  • Norah Jones– vocals, electric guitar, Hammond B3, piano, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • Vicente Archer – bass guitar
  • Brian Blade– drums
  • Jon Cowherd– Hammond B3
  • Sasha Dobson– background vocals
  • Dave Eggar– cello
  • Dave Guy – trumpet
  • Walter Hawkes – trombone
  • Dan Lead – pedal steel guitar
  • Katie Kresek, Max Moston – violin
  • Todd Low – viola
  • Tony Maceli – bass guitarJohn Patitucci– bass guitar
  • Leon Michels – tenor saxophone
  • Catherine Popper– vocals
  • Peter Remm – electric guitar, Hammond B3
  • Karriem Riggins– drums
  • Daniel Sadownick – percussion
  • Tony Scherr– electric guitar, background vocals
  • Wayne Shorter– soprano saxophone
  • Lonnie Smith– Hammond B3, background vocals
  • Petter Ericson Stakee – background vocals
  • Chris Thomas – acoustic bass, bass guitar, electric guitar
  • Ted Tuthill – engineer
  • Brandon Bost, Jeff Citron, Cameron Alexander, Adam Tilzer – studio assistant
  • Greg Calbi– mastering
  • Dave Eggar – string arrangement
  • Tom Elmhirst– mixing
  • Phil Faconti – copyist, orchestration
  • Owen Mulholland – assistant engineer
  • Chuck Palmer – arranger, string conductor
  • Joe Visciano – mixing assistant
  • Danny Clinch– photography
  • Marcela Avelar – art direction

Track listing:

  1. Burn – Norah Jones, Sarah Oda
  2. Tragedy – Norah Jones, Sarah Oda
  3. Flipside – Norah Jones, Peter Remm
  4. It’s a Wonderful Time for Love – Norah Jones, Sarah Oda
  5. And Then There Was You – Norah Jones, Peter Remm
  6. Don’t Be Denied- Neil Young
  7. Day Brakes – Norah Jones, Peter Remm
  8. Peace – Horace Silver
  9. Once I Had a Laugh – Norah Jones
  10. Sleeping Wild – Sarah Oda
  11. Carry On – Norah Jones
  12. Fleurette Africaine (African Flower) – Duke Ellington




On February 26, 2002.

On February 26, 2002, “Blue Note” label released “Come Away with Me”, the debut Norah Jones album. It was recorded in 2001, at “Sorcerer Sound” in New York City, “Allaire Studios”, in Shokan, New York, and was produced by Jay Newland, Arif  Mardin, Craig Street and Norah Jones. The album won “Grammy Awards” for “Album of the Year”, “Best Pop Vocal Album, “Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical”. The song “Don’t Know Why” won “Song of the Year” and “Best Female Pop Vocal Performance. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in Argentina by “CAPIF”, 11 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”, 2 x Platinum in Austria by “IFPI Austria”, 2 x Platinum in Belgium by “BEA”, Platinum in Brazil by “PRO Musica Brazil”, Diamond in Canada by “Music Canada”, 3 x Platinum in Denmark by “IFPI Denmark”, Diamond in France by “SNEP”, 2 x Platinum in Japan by “RIAJ”, 3 x Platinum in Netherlands by “NVPI”, 11 Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”, 2 x Platinum in Poland by “ZPAV”, Platinum in Spain by “PROMUSICAE”, Platinum in Sweden by “GLF”, 3 x Platinum in Switzerland by “IFPI Switzerland”, 8 x Platinum in UK by “BPI’ and Diamond in US by “RIAA”.


  • Norah Jones – vocals, piano, Wurlitzer electric piano
  • Kevin Breit– acoustic guitar, National guitar, electric guitar
  • Bill Frisell– electric guitar
  • Jesse Harris, Adam Levy– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Adam Rogers– guitar
  • Tony Scherr– slide and acoustic guitar
  • Rob Burger– pump organ, accordion
  • Sam Yahel– Hammond B-3 organ
  • Lee Alexander– bass guitar
  • Jenny Scheinman– violin
  • Brian Blade– drums, percussion
  • Kenny Wollesen– drums
  • Jay Newland,  Husky Höskulds – engineers
  • Mark Birkey, Dick Kondas, Brandon Mason, Todd Parker – assistant engineers
  • Arif Mardin, Jay Newland – mixing
  • Todd Parker – mixing assistant
  • Jay Newland – remixing
  • Ted Jensen, Mark Wilder – mastering

Track listing:

  1. Don’t Know Why – Jesse Harris
  2. Seven Years – Lee Alexander
  3. Cold Cold Heart – Hank Williams
  4. Feelin’ the Same Way – Lee Alexander
  5. Come Away with Me – Norah Jones
  6. Shoot the Moon – Jesse Harris
  7. Turn Me On – John D. Loudermilk
  8. Lonestar – Lee Alexander
  9. I’ve Got to See You Again – Jesse Harris
  10. Painter Song – Lee Alexander, JC Hopkins
  11. One Flight Down – Jesse Harris
  12. Nightingale – Norah Jones
  13. The Long Day Is Over – Norah Jones, Jesse Harris
  14. The Nearness of You – Hoagy Carmichael, Ned Washington

On September 29, 1998.


On September 29, 1998, “Reprise” label released “Taming the Tiger” the sixteenth Joni Mitchell studio album. It was recorded in 1997, and was produced by Joni Mitchell.


  • Joni Mitchell: vocals, guitar, keyboards, percussion; bass, cover art
  • Femi Jiya: spoken vocals
  • Michael Landau: low lead guitar
  • Greg Leisz:pedal steel guitar
  • Wayne Shorter: saxophone
  • Larry Klein: bass
  • Brian Blade: drums
  • Mark Isham: trumpet

Track listing:

All tracks by Joni Mitchell; except where noted.

  1. Harlem in Havana
  2. Man from Mars
  3. Love Puts on a New Face
  4. Lead Balloon
  5. No Apologies
  6. Taming the Tiger
  7. The Crazy Cries of Love – Joni Mitchell,Don Freed
  8. Stay in Touch
  9. Face Lift
  10. My Best to You – Gene Willadsen, Isham Jones
  11. Tiger Bones

On September 21, 1999.


On September 21, 1999, “Decca” label released “The Sweetest Punch”, album by Elvis Costello and Bill Frisell. The album was produced by Lee Townsend.


  • Bill Frisell— electric guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Brian Blade— drums, percussion
  • Don Byron— clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Billy Drewes — alto saxophone
  • Curtis Fowlkes— trombone
  • Viktor Krauss— bass
  • Ron Miles — trumpet

Track listing:

All tracks by Elvis Costello and Burt Bacharach, except “Vamp Dolce”, by Bill Frisell.

  1. The Sweetest Punch
  2. Toledo
  3. Such Unlikely Lovers
  4. This House Is Empty Now
  5. Painted from Memory
  6. What’s Her Name Today?
  7. In the Darkest Place
  8. Vamp Dolce
  9. My Thief
  10. I Still Have That Other Girl
  11. Painted from Memory (Reprise)
  12. Long Division
  13. Tears at the Birthday Party
  14. I Still Have That Other Girl (Reprise)
  15. God Give Me Strength