On November 20, 2006.

On November 20, 2006, “Quinlan Road” and “MRA” labels released “An Ancient Muse”, the seventh Loreena McKennitt studio album. It was recorded June – August 2005, and was produced by Loreena McKennitt. The album was certified Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”.


  • Loreena McKennitt– vocals, keyboards, accordion, harp, percussion, piano
  • Steáfán Hannigan – Turkish clarinet, vocal drone, uilleann pipes
  • Brian Hughes– electric guitar, guitar synthesizer, vocal drone, oud, Celtic bouzouki, nylon string guitar
  • Charlie Jones: acoustic bass
  • Manu Katché– drums
  • Tal Bergman – drums, percussion
  • Stuart Bruce – vocal drone, percussion
  • Clive Deamer– drums
  • Panos Dimitrakopoulos – kanoun
  • Nigel Eaton– hurdy-gurdy
  • Ben Grossman – hurdy-gurdy
  • Ed Hanley – tabla, udu drum
  • Jason Hann– percussion
  • Georgios Kontogiannis – Greek bouzouki
  • Tim Landers– bass
  • Caroline Lavelle– cello
  • Rick Lazar – percussion
  • Annbjørg Lien– nyckelharpa
  • Hugh Marsh– violin
  • Marco Migliari – vocal drone
  • Donald Quan– viola, vocal drone
  • Hossam Ramzy– percussion
  • Sokratis Sinopoulos – lyra
  • Haig Yazdjian– oud
  • Choristers of Westminster Abbey; Alex Pott, Elliot Thompson, Nicholas Morris – vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Loreena McKennitt except where noted.

  1. Incantation
  2. The Gates of Istanbul
  3. Caravanserai
  4. The English Ladye and the Knight – lyrics by Sir Walter Scott
  5. Kecharitomene
  6. Penelope’s Song
  7. Sacred Shabbat (Kâtibim) – Loreena McKennitt
  8. Beneath a Phrygian Sky
  9. Never Ending Road (Amhrán Duit)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.