Tag Archives: Javon Jackson

On March 15, 2005.

On March 15, 2005, “Savant” label released “Keep It Simple”, the 24th Curtis Fuller album. It was recorded in September 2003, at “Rocky Mountain Studios” in Hilton Head, Carolina, and was produced by Jacey Falk.


  • Curtis Fuller – trombone 
  • Javon Jackson – tenor saxophone 
  • Doug Carn – piano
  • Rodney Jordan – bass
  • Fritz Wise – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Curtis Fuller except where noted

  1. Spoken Intro
  2. The Court
  3. Maze
  4. Girl Talk – Neal Hefti, Bobby Troup
  5. A La Mode
  6. Lover Man – Jimmy Davis, Ram Ramirez, Jimmy Sherman
  7. Western Sunrise – Doug Carn
  8. Arabia
  9. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  10. Diane – Javon Jackson
  11. It’s You or No One – Jule Styne, Sammy Cahn

On April 24, 2001.

On April 24, 2001, “Hip Hop Essence” label released “New Colors”, the 62nd Freddie Hubbard album. It was recorded October – December 2000, and was produced by Yusuf Gandhi, Reynold da Silva and Freddie Hubbard.


  • Freddie Hubbard: flugelhorn
  • Chris Karlic: baritone saxophone
  • Craig Handy: tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Myron Walden: alto saxophone
  • Ted Nash: alto saxophone
  • Kenny Garrett: alto saxophone
  • Javon Jackson: tenor saxophone
  • David Weiss: trumpet
  • Luis Bonilla: trombone
  • Steve Davis: trombone
  • Xavier Davis: piano
  • Dwayne Burno: bass
  • Joe Chambers: drums
  • Idris Muhammad: drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Freddie Hubbard, except where noted.

  1. One of Another Kind
  2. Blue Spirits
  3. Blues for Miles
  4. Dizzy’s Connotations
  5. True Colors
  6. Red Clay
  7. Osie Mae
  8. Inner Space – Chick Corea


On May 18, 2004.

Elvin Jones

On May 18, 2004, Elvin Ray Jones died aged 77. He was a jazz drummer of the post-bop era , performed with  Charles Mingus, Teddy Charles, Bud Powell and Miles Davis, but he is best known as a member of the John Coltrane quartet (from 1960 to 1966) along with Jimmy Garrison on bass and McCoy Tyner on piano, in the celebrated recording phase including the album “A love supreme”. Jones recorded with numerous artists including Art Farmer, J.J. Johnson, Aaron Bell, Tommy Flanagan, Paul Chambers, Pepper Adams, Kenny Burrell, Sonny Rollins, Thad Jones, Idris Sulieman, Mal Waldron, Steve Lacy, Bernie Green, Hank Jones, Jimmy Forest, Randy Weston, Curtis Fuller, Gil Evans, Harry Lookofsky, Julian Priester, Barry Harris, Clifford Jordan, Sonny Red, Yusef Lateef, Lee Konitz, Freddie Hubbard, Pony Poindexter, Duke Ellington, McCoy Tyner, Jimmy Woods, Andrew Hill, Stan Getz, Bill Evans, Bob Brookmeyer, Wayne Shorter, Grant Green, Joe Henderson, Larry Young, Roland Kirk, Earl Hines, Jaki Byard, Larry Coryell, Ornette Coleman, Barney Kessel, Phineas Newborn Jr, Allen Ginsberg, Joe Farrell, Frank Foster, Billy Harper, Elek Bacsik, Oregon, Jimmy Rowles, Chico Freeman, Ray Brown, Pharaoh Sanders, Lew Soloff, James Williams, Marcus Roberts, Kenny Garrett, David Murray, Sonny Sharrock, Javon Jackson, Robert Hurst, John McLaughlin, Shirley Horn, Joe Lovano, Steve Griggs, Michael Brecker, Gary LeMel and Stefano di Battista, becoming one of the most recorded artists of all time.  As leader, Jones released 48 albums.