Wynton Marsalis: Hot House Flowers

On December 18, 1984, “Columbia” label released “Hot House Flowers”, the third Wynton Marsalis album. It was recorded in May 1984, at “RCA Studio A” in New York City, and was produced by George Butler and Steven Epstein. The album won “Grammy Award” for “Best Jazz Instrumental Performance Soloist” in 1985.


  • Wynton Marsalis – trumpet
  • Branford Marsalis – soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Kent Jordan – alto flute
  • Paul McCandless – oboe, English horn
  • Andrew Schwartz – bassoon
  • Peter Gordon – French horn
  • Tony Price – tuba
  • Kenny Kirkland – piano
  • Ron Carter – double bass
  • Jeff “Tain” Watts – drums
  • Charles Libove (concertmaster), Ingrid Arden, Peter Dimitriades, Gayle Dixon, Guillermo Figueroa, Winterton Garvey, Harry Glickman, Regis Iandiorio, Ray Kunicki, Patmore Lewis, Diane Monroe, Louann Montesi – violin
  • Al Brown, Theodore Israel, Mitsue Takayama, Harry Zaratzian – viola
  • Seymour Barab, Richard Locker, Alvin McCall, Frederick Zlotkin – cello
  • Bob Freedman – arranger, orchestrator, conductor

Track listing:

  1. Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael, Mitchell Parish
  2. Lazy Afternoon – Jerome Moross, John Latouche
  3. For All We Know – John Frederick Coots, Sam M. Lewis
  4. When You Wish upon a Star – Ned Washington, Leigh Harline
  5. Django – John Lewis
  6. Melancholia – Duke Ellington
  7. Hot House Flowers – Wynton Marsalis
  8. I’m Confessin’ (That I Love You) – Al J. Neiburg, Doc Daugherty, Ellis Reynolds

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.