Tag Archives: December 18

On December 18, 2011.

On December 18, 2011, Ralph Anthony MacDonald died aged 67. He was musician (percussion, steelpan), songwriter, arranger, record producer, and philanthropist. His best known compositions are “Where Is the Love”, a “Grammy Award” winner for Roberta Flack and Donny Hathaway duet), “Just the Two of Us” (recorded by Bill Withers and Grover Washington Jr.), and “Mister Magic” (recorded by Grover Washington Jr.). MacDonald was member of the bands Desperadoes Steel Orchestra,  Steelband Panorama, and Jimmy Buffett’s Coral Reefer Band. He recorded with many famous musicians including David Bowie, Aretha Franklin, Art Garfunkel, Billy Joel, Quincy Jones, Carole King, Miriam Makeba, David Sanborn, Paul Simon, Steely Dan, James Taylor, Luther Vandross, Amy Winehouse, Bob James, Ashford and Simpson, and The Brothers Johnson. As a leader MacDonald released ten albums.

On December 18, 1983.

On December 18, 1983, Jimmy Nolen died aged 49. He was musician (guitar), known for his distinctive “chicken scratch” guitar playing style. Nolan was member of the Jimmy Wilson band, Johnny Otis band, George “Harmonica” Smith backing band, in 1959 he formed his own band The Jimmy Nolan Band, but was best known as the lead guitarist in James Brown band form 1965 until his dead. In its survey of “The 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time,” magazine “Mojo” ranks Nolen at number twelve.  

On December 18, 2015.

On December 18, 2015, “RCA” label released “Tell Me I’m Pretty”, the fourth Cage the Elephant studio album. It was recorded in 201 at “Easy Eye Sound” in Nashville, Tennessee, and was produced by Dan Auerbach.


  • Matt Shultz− lead vocals, acoustic guitar, art direction
  • Brad Shultz − rhythm guitar
  • Daniel Tichenor − bass
  • Jared Champion– drums
  • Dan Auerbach − rhythm guitar, keyboards, backing vocals, arrangements
  • Nick Bockrath − lead guitar, backing vocals
  • Matthan Minster − keyboards, backing vocals, percussion
  • Collin Dupuis – engineering
  • Tom Elmhirst – mixing
  • Brian Lucey – mastering
  • Ira Chernova – photography
  • Emily Davis − hand tinting
  • Meghan Foley − art direction
  • Moses Moreno – styling
  • Juliette Buchs Shultz − additional design, additional photography
  • Kane Stewart − senior design graphic artist
  • Danny Tomczak – assistant production

Track listing:

All tracks by Matt Shultz, Brad Shultz, Daniel Tichenor and Jared Champion.

  1. .Cry Baby
  2. Mess Around
  3. Sweetie Little Jean
  4. Too Late to Say Goodbye
  5. Cold Cold Cold
  6. Trouble
  7. How Are You True
  8. That’s Right
  9. Punchin’ Bag
  10. Portuguese Knife Fight’


On December 18, 1976.

On December 18, 1976, “Epic/CBS” labels released “Heard Ya Missed Me, Well I’m Back”, the eighth Sly and the Family Stone album. It was recorded in 1976, and was produced by Sly Stone.


  • Sly Stone: vocals, keyboards, guitar, bass, various instruments, string arrangements
  • Cynthia Robinson: vocals, trumpet
  • Joe Baker: vocals, guitar
  • Dwight Hogan: vocals, bass
  • John Colla: vocals, alto and soprano saxophone
  • Steve Schuster: tenor saxophone, flute
  • John Farey: keyboards, percussion
  • Virginia Ayers: vocals, percussion
  • Anthony Warren: drums
  • Lady Bianca: lead and background vocals, clavinet
  • Vicki Blackwell: violin
  • Ed Bogas: string arrangements
  • Armando Peraza: timbales, congas
  • Peter Frampton: guitar
  • Sister Vet& Cousin Tiny: vocals
  • Karat Faye: Engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Sly Stone.

  1. Heard Ya Missed Me, Well I’m Back
  2. What Was I Thinkin’ in My Head
  3. Nothing Less Than Happiness
  4. Sexy Situation
  5. Blessing in Disguise
  6. Everything in You
  7. Mother Is a Hippie
  8. Let’s Be Together
  9. The Thing
  10. Family Again

On December 18, 1968.

On December 18, 1968, “Blue Note” label released “Slow Drag”, the 33rd Donald Byrd album. It was recorded on May 12, 1967, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Sonny Red- alto sax
  • Cedar Walton– piano
  • Walter Booker– bass
  • Billy Higgins– drums, vocals

Track listing:

  1. Slow Drag – Donald Byrd
  2. Secret Love – Sammy Fain, Paul Francis Webster
  3. Book’s Bossa – Walter Booker, Cedar Walton
  4. Jelly Roll – Sonny Red Kyner
  5. The Loner – Ronnie Mathews, Cedar Walton
  6. My Ideal – Richard A. Whiting, Newell Chase, Leo Robin

On December 18, 1967.


On December 18, 1967, “Capitol” label released “Wild Honey”, the 13th Beach Boys studio album. It was recorded September – November 1967, and was produced by the Beach Boys.


  • Mike Love– vocals
  • Al Jardine– vocals
  • Bruce Johnston– vocals, organ solo, electric bass guitar
  • Brian Wilson– vocals
  • Carl Wilson– vocals
  • Dennis Wilson– vocals
  • Jim Lockert – engineer
  • Bill Halverson– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Brian Wilson and Mike Love, except where noted.

  1. Wild Honey
  2. Aren’t You Glad
  3. I Was Made to Love Her – Cosby, Moy, Hardaway, Wonder
  4. Country All
  5. A Thing or Two
  6. Darlin’
  7. I’d Love Just Once to See You
  8. Here Comes the Night
  9. Let the Wind Blow
  10. How She Boogalooed It – Mike Love, Bruce Johnston, Al Jardine, Carl Wilson
  11. Mama Says

On December 18, 1970.

T. Rex - Same

On December 18, 1970, “Fly” label released  the self-titled, fifth T.Rex studio album.  It was recorded July – August 1970, at the “Trident Studios” in London, and was produced by Toni Visconti. This was the first album released under this name since the band changed their name from Tyrannosaurus Rex.


  • Marc Bolan– vocals, guitar, bass, organ
  • Mickey Finn– bass, drums, Pixiphone, vocals
  • Tony Visconti– piano, string arrangements
  • Howard Kaylan– background vocals
  • Mark Volman– background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Marc Bolan.

  1. The Children of Rarn
  2. Jewel
  3. The Visit
  4. Childe
  5. The Time of Love is Now
  6. Diamond Meadows
  7. Root of Star
  8. Beltane Walk
  9. Is it Love
  10. One Inch Rock
  11. Summer Deep
  12. Seagull Woman
  13. Suneye
  14. The Wizard
  15. The Children of Rarn (reprise)