Tag Archives: Dianne Reeves

On October 5, 1993.

On October 5, 1993, “GRP” label released “Sky Islands”, the 63rd Ramsey Lewis album. It was recorded in 1993, and was produced by Dave Grusin, Larry Rosen, Ramsey Lewis, Frayne Lewis, Maurice White and Carl Griffin.


  • Ramsey Lewis – piano, background vocals
  • Art Porter Jr. – alto saxophone
  • Michael Logan – keyboards, background vocals
  • Henry Johnson – guitar
  • Chuck Webb – bass guitar, double bass
  • Steve Cobb – vocals, drums, percussion
  • Tony Carpenter – percussion, background vocals
  • Eve Cornelious – background vocals
  • Sheila Fuller – background vocals
  • Carl Griffin – background vocals
  • Robert Lewis – background vocals
  • Mark Ruffin – background vocals
  • Brenda Stewart – background vocals
  • Morris Stewart – background vocals
  • Rich Breen – engineer, mixing
  • Dennis Tousana – assistant engineer
  • Ted Jensen – mastering
  • Michael Landy – post production
  • Larry Rosen – executive producer
  • Michael Logan – associate producer
  • Sharon Franklin – production coordination
  • Sonny Mediana – production director

Track listing:

1. Julia – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
2. Après Vous – Ramsey Lewis
3. Who Are You – Bill Cantos
4. Suavecito – Ramsey Lewis
5. Tonight – Frayne Lewis, Robert Lewis, Ramsey Lewis, Mike Logan
6. Sky Island – Larry Dunn, Dianne Reeves
7. A Song for Jan – Ramsey Lewis
8. Medley: Wade in the Water, Hang On Sloopy, The in Crowd – Wes Farrell, Ramsey Lewis, William Page, Bert Russell
9. Love Will Find a Way – Greg Phillinganes, Lionel Richie
10. Come Back to Me – James Harris, Terry Lewis, Janet Jackson
11. Tonight (instrumental) – Frayne Lewis, Robert Lewis, Ramsey Lewis, Mike Logan

On September 11, 2000.

On September 11, 2000, “Verve” label released “Sci-Fi”, the fourth Christian McBride studio album. It was recorded in February 2000, at “Avatar Studios”, and was produced by Christian McBride.


  • Christian McBride – upright and electric bass, keyboards
  • Ron Blake– tenor and soprano sax
  • Shedrick Mitchell – piano, electric piano
  • Rodney Green – drums
  • Herbie Hancock– piano
  • Dianne Reeves– vocalese
  • Toots Thielemans– harmonica
  • James Carter– bass clarinet
  • David Gilmore– acoustic and electric guitar
  • Joe Ferla – recording, mixing

Track listing:

All tracks by Christian McBride, except where noted.

  1. Aja – Walter Becker, Donald Fagen
  2. Uhura’s Moment Returned
  3. Xerxes
  4. Lullaby for a Ladybug
  5. Science Fiction
  6. Walking on the Moon – Sting
  7. Havona – Jaco Pastorius
  8. I’ll Guess I’ll Have to Forget
  9. Butterfly Dreams – Stanley Clarke
  10. Via Mwandishi
  11. The Sci-fi Outro

On April 21, 2003.

Nina Simone

On April 21, 2003, Eunice Kathleen Waymon aka Nina Simone, died aged 70. She was singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and civil rights activist. In her career, Simone has recorded more than forty albums. Many famous musicians have cited Simone as their influence, among the others: Aretha Franklin, Adele, David Bowie, Antony and the Johnsons, Dianne Reeves , Sade , Beyoncé,  Janis Joplin , Nick Cave, Jeff Buckley, Van Morrison, Elkie Brooks, Lena Horne, Bono, Cat Stevens, Peter Gabriel, Mary J. Blige, Lauryn Hill, Elton John, Alicia Keys and Lana Del Rey. John Lennon cited Simone’s version of “I Put a Spell on You” as a inspiration for the Beatles’ song “Michelle”.

For her work, Simone received various awards including:

  • In 2000, “Grammy Hall of Fame Award”for her interpretation of “I Love You, Porgy”
  • Honorary degrees in music and humanities, from the “University of Massachusetts Amherst” and “Malcolm X College”
  • Honorary degree by the “Curtis Institute of Music”
  • In 2002, city of Nijmegen, in Netherlands, named a street the “Nina Simone straat
  • In 2009, Simone was inducted into the “North Carolina Music Hall of Fame”
  • In 2010, her home town Tryon, in North Carolina, placed her statue in the “Trade Street”