Tag Archives: Simon & Garfunkel

On February 9, 2019.

On February 9, 2019, Guy Webster died aged 79. He was photographer, known for photographing famous musicians and actors in the 60s and 70s, including artists such as The Beach Boys, The Rolling Stones, The Doors and Simon & Garfunkel.



On October 19, 1964.


On October 19, 1964, “Columbia” label released “Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M.”, the debut Simon & Garfunkel album. It was recorded March 1964, and was produced by Tom Wilson.


  • Paul Simon– acoustic guitar, banjo, vocals
  • Art Garfunkel– vocals
  • Barry Kornfeld – acoustic guitar
  • Bill Lee– acoustic bass

Track listing:

  1. You Can Tell the World – Bob Gibson, Bob Camp
  2. Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream – Ed McCurdy
  3. Bleecker Street – Paul Simon
  4. Sparrow – traditional, arr. Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel
  5. Bendictus – traditional, arr. Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel
  6. The Sound of Silence – Paul Simon
  7. He Was My Brother – Paul Kane
  8. Peggy-O – traditional, arr, Paul Simon
  9. Go Tell It on the Mountain – traditional, arr. Paul Simon
  10. The Sun Is Burning – Ian Campbell
  11. The Times They Are a-Changin – Bob Dylan
  12. Wednesday Morning, 3 A.M. – Paul Simon

On April 3, 1968.


On April 3, 1968, “Columbia” label released “Bookends”, the fourth Simon and Garfunkel studio album. It was recorded September 1966, January 1967, June 1967, October 1967−February 1968, at “Columbia Studio A & B” in Manhattan, and was produced by Paul Simon, Roy Halee and Art Garfunkel. In 1969, at the 11th “Annual Grammy Awards”, “Mrs. Robinson” became the first rock and roll song to win “Record of the Year” and also  won award for “Best Contemporary Pop Performance by a Duo or Group”


  • Paul Simon– vocals, guitar, production
  • Art Garfunkel– vocals, tapes, production
  • Hal Blaine– drums, percussion
  • Joe Osborn– bass guitar
  • Larry Knechtel– piano, keyboards
  • Roy Halee– recording engineer
  • John Simon– production assistant
  • Bob Johnston– production assistant
  • Robert Honablue – engineer
  • Jimmie Haskell – arranger, arrangement preparation
  • Richard Avedon– cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Bookends Theme
  2. Save the Life of My Child
  3. America
  4. Overs
  5. Voices of Old People
  6. Old Friends
  7. Bookends Theme
  8. Fakin’ It
  9. Punky’s Dilemma
  10. Mrs. Robinson
  11. A Hazy Shade of Winter
  12. At the Zoo

On October 10, 1966.

Parsley Sage Rosemary and Thyme

On October 10, 1966, “Columbia Records” released “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme”, the third studio album by Simon & Garfunkel. It was recorded December 1965–August 1966, and was produced by Bob Johnston. “Parsley, Sage, Rosemary and Thyme” was breakthrough in Simon and Garfunkel’s career and was certified 3 x Platinum in US by the “RIIA”.


  • Paul Simon– vocals, guitar
  • Art Garfunkel– vocals, piano
  • Hal Blaine– drums
  • Joe South– guitar
  • Carol Kaye– bass guitar
  • John Meszar – harpsichord
  • Eugene Wright– bass guitar
  • Joe Morello– drums
  • Charlie O’Donnell– vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Simon except where noted.

  1. Scarborough Fair/Canticle – traditional, arranged by Paul Simon, Art Garfunkel
  2. Patterns
  3. Cloudy – Paul Simon, Bruce Woodley
  4. Homeward Bound
  5. The Big bright Green Pleasure Machine
  6. The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin’ Groovy)
  7. The Dangling Conversation
  8. Flowers Never Bend With the Rainfall
  9. A Simple Desultory Philippic (or How I Was Robert McNamara’d into Submission)
  10. For Emily, Whenever I May Find Her
  11. A Poem on the Underground Wall
  12. 7 O’Clock news/Silent Night – Josef Mohr, Franz Gruber