Tag Archives: Freddie King

On December 21, 1992.

On December 21, 1992, Albert Nelson aka Albert King died aged 69. He was musician (guitar, drums) and singer, one of the most influential blues guitarists, one of the “Three Kings of the Blues Guitar” (along with B.B. King and Freddie King). Because of his smooth singing and his large size, he was given the nick name “The Velvet Bulldozer”. In 2013, he was posthumously inducted in the “Rock and Roll of Fame”. King has recorded sixteen studio albums.


In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Blue Horizon” label released “40 Blue Fingers, Freshly Packed and Ready to Serve”, the debut Chicken Shack studio album. It was recorded February 1968, at “CBS Studios” in London, and was produced by Mike Vernon.


  • Stan Webb– guitar, vocals
  • Christine Perfect– organ, vocals, piano
  • Andy Silvester– bass
  • Dave Bidwell – drums
  • Alan Ellis – trumpet
  • Dick Heckstall-Smith– tenor saxophone
  • Johnny Almond– alto saxophone
  • Engineer – Mike Ross
  • Photography, design – Terence Ibbott

Track listing:

  1. The Letter – Jules Taub, B. B. King
  2. Lonesome Whistle Blues – Rudolph Toombs
  3. When the Train Comes Back – Christine Perfect
  4. San-Ho-Zay – Freddie King, Sonny Thompson
  5. King of the World – John Lee Hooker
  6. See See Baby – Freddie King, Sonny Thompson
  7. First Time I Met the Blues – Eurreal (Little Brother Montgomery) Montgomery
  8. Webbed Feet – Stan Webb
  9. You Ain’t No Good – Christine Perfect
  10. What You Did Last Night – Stan Webb

On May 13, 2012.

On May 13, 2012, Donald “Duck” Dunn died aged 70. He was bass guitarist, session musician, record producer, and songwriter, best known  for his 1960’s recordings with Booker T. & the M.G.’s and as a session bassist for “Stax Records”.  He has performed and recorded with big number of famous musicians including Otis Redding, Sam & Dave, Rufus Thomas, Carla Thomas, William Bell, Eddie Floyd, Johnnie Taylor, Albert King, Elvis Presley, Muddy Waters, Freddie King, Jerry Lee Lewis, Eric Clapton, Rod Stewart, Stevie Nicks, Tom Petty and The Blues Brothers Band. In 1992, Dunn was inducted in the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame” as a member of Booker T. & the M.G.’s. “Bass Player” magazine ranked him at number  40 on its list of “The 100 Greatest Bass Players of All Time”.

On March 16, 2017.

On March 16, 2017, James Henry Cotton died aged 81. Being blues  harmonica  player, singer and songwriter, he had successful solo career, recording albums under his own name, and recording and performing with number of great blues and rock musicians including Gregg Allman, William “Billy Boy” Arnold, Elvin Bishop, Mike Bloomfield, Joe Bonamassa, Paul Butterfield, Grateful Dead, Pat Hare, Howlin’ Wolf, Janis Joplin, B.B. King, Freddie King, Alexis Korner, Steve Miller, Charlie Musselwhite, Quicksilver Messenger Service, Keith Richards, Todd Rundgren, Santana, Willie “Big Eyes” Smith, Otis Spann, Taj Mahal, Big Mama Thornton, Jimmie Vaughan, Joe Louis Walker, Muddy Waters, Sonny Boy Williamson and Johnny Winter.

On July 22, 1966.


On July 22, 1966, “Decca” label released “Blues Breakers with Eric Clapton” , album by John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers. It was recorded in April 1966, at “Decca Studios” in London, and was produced by Mike Vernon. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 195 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time.


  • John Mayall– lead vocals, piano, Hammond B3 organ, harmonica
  • Eric Clapton– lead guitar, lead vocals
  • John McVie– bass guitar
  • Hughie Flint– drums
  • Alan Skidmore– tenor saxophone
  • Johnny Almond– baritone saxophone
  • Derek Healey – trumpet
  • Gus Dudgeon– engineer

Track listing:

  1. All Your Love – Otis Rush
  2. Hideaway – Freddie King, Sonny Thompson
  3. Little Girl – John Mayall
  4. Another Man – John Mayall
  5. Double Crossing Time – Eric Clapton, John Mayall
  6. What’d I Say – Ray Charles
  7. Key to Love – John Mayall
  8. Parchman Farm – Mose Allison
  9. Have You Heard – John Mayall
  10. Ramblin’ on My Mind – Robert Johnson
  11. Steppin’ Out – C. Frazier
  12. It Ain’t Right – Little Walter

On February 17, 1967.


On February 17, 1967, “Decca” label released “A Hard Road”, the second John Mayall & the Bluesbreakers studio album. It was recorded October – November 1966, at” Decca Studios” in London, and was produced by Mike Vernon. The cover art and the sleeve design were by John Mayall.


  • John Mayall– vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano, organ
  • Peter Green– guitar, vocals
  • John McVie– bass
  • Hughie Flint, Aynsley Dunbar– drums
  • John Almond, Alan Skidmore– saxophones
  • Ray Warleigh– wind instruments

Track listing:

All tracks by John Mayal,  except where noted

  1. A Hard Road
  2. It’s Over
  3. You Don’t Love Me – Willie Cobbs
  4. The Stumble – Freddie King, Sonny Thompson
  5. Another Kinda Love
  6. Hit the Highway
  7. Leaping Christine
  8. Dust My Blues – Elmore James, Joe Josea
  9. There’s Always Work
  10. The Same Way – Peter Green
  11. The Supernatural – Peter Green
  12. Top of the Hill
  13. Someday After a While (You’ll Be Sorry) – Freddie King, Sonny Thompson
  14. Living Alone



On December 28, 1976.

Freddie King jpg

On December 28, 1976, Freddie King died aged 42. Being guitarist and singer his music roots were from Chicago and Texas blues and he is often mentioned as one of “the Three Kings” of electric blues guitar along with Albert King and B.B. King. Freddie King was one of the first bluesmen to have a multi-racial backing band at live performances. His biggest successes were singles “Have You Ever Loved a Woman” (1960) and “Hide Away” (1961).King inspired many famous musicians including Eric Clapton, Jerry Garcia,Peter Green, Dickey Betts and Stevie Ray Vaughan.  In 2012 Freddie King was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”.