Tag Archives: February 9

On February 9, 2019.

On February 9, 2019, Guy Webster died aged 79. He was photographer, known for photographing famous musicians and actors in the 60s and 70s, including artists such as The Beach Boys, The Rolling Stones, The Doors and Simon & Garfunkel.



On February 9, 2004.

On February 9, 2004, “Merge” label released “Aw Cmon”, the seventh Lambchop album. It was recorded and released at the same time as the album “No You Cmon”, and both were released together as a double album pack as well as separately. It was recorded in 2003, at “The Beech House” in Nashville, TN, and was produced by Kurt Wagner and Mark Nevers.


  • Kurt Wagner – vocals, guitar, juno, mixing
  • Curtiss Pernice, Willie Tyler – electric and acoustic guitar
  • Paul Niehaus – electric and steel guitar
  • Alex McManus – guitar
  • Matt Swanson – bass
  • Benny Martin, Sam Baker – drums
  • Jonathan Marx, Marc William Trovillion – electronics
  • Tony Crow – piano
  • Deanna Varagona – vocals
  • The Nashville String Machine – strings
  • Lloyd Barry – arranger
  • Mark Nevers – engineer, mixing
  • John Kelton – editing
  • Jim DeMain – mastering
  • Wayne White – painting, art cover

Track listing:

All tracks by Kurt Wagner, except where noted.

  1. Being Tyler – Kurt Wagner, William Tyler
  2. Four Pounds in Two Days
  3. Steve McQueen
  4. The Lone Official
  5. Something’s Going On
  6. Nothing But a Blur from a Bullet Train
  7. Each Time I Bring It Up It Seems to Bring You Down
  8. Timothy B. Schmidt
  9. Women Help to Create the Kind of Men They Despise – Kurt Wagner, William Tyler
  10. I Hate Candy
  11. I Haven’t Heard a Word I’ve Said
  12. Action Figure

On February 9, 1993.

On February 9, 1993, “Blue Note” label released “What We Do”, the second John Scofield Quartet studio album. It was recorded in May 1992, at “The Power Station” in New York City, and was produced by John Scofield.


  • John Scofield – guitar
  • Joe Lovano- saxophone
  • Dennis Irwin- bass
  • Bill Stewart- drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Scofield.

  1. Little Walk
  2. Camp Out
  3. Big Sky
  4. Easy for You
  5. Call 911
  6. Imaginary Time
  7. Say the Word
  8. Why Nogales?
  9. What They Did


On February 9, 1979.

On February 9, 1979, “Arista” label released “Downwind”, the third Pierre Moerlen’s Gong album (it was the first to be released under that name, the previous two having been released as Gong albums for contractual reasons). It was recorded June – September 1978, and was produced by Pierre Moerlen.


  • Pierre Moerlen– lead vocals, drums, vibraphone, marimba, concert toms, timpani, organ, synthesizer, electric piano, assorted percussion
  • Hansford Rowe– bass
  • Ross Record – vocals, guitar
  • Benoît Moerlen– vibraphon
  • François Causse – percussion
  • Didier Lockwood– violin
  • Didier Malherbe– saxophone
  • Mike Oldfield- guitar, solina strings, bass, Irish drum
  • Steve Winwood– synthesizer
  • Terry Oldfield– flute
  • Mick Taylor- guitar

Track listing:

All tracks by Pierre Moerlen, except where noted.

  1. Aeroplane – Pierre Moerlen, Ruan O’Lochlain
  2. Crosscurrents
  3. Downwind
  4. Jin-Go-Lo-Ba – Babatunde Olatunji
  5. What You Know – Pierre Moerlen, Ruan O’Lochlain
  6. Emotions
  7. Xtasea


On February 9, 1977.

On February 9, 1977, “Purple” label released “White Snake”, the first David Coverdale album. It was recorded in August 197, at “Kingsway Recorders” in London, “Musicland Studios” in Munich, and was produced by Roger Glover.


  • David Coverdale- lead vocals, piano, percussion
  • Micky Moody- guitars, percussion, backing vocals
  • Tim Hinkley– vocals, organ, percussion
  • Ron Aspery- baritone, tenor, alto, and soprano saxophones, flute
  • DeLisle Harper – vocals, bass, percussion
  • Roger Glover– vocals, bass, melodica, ARP 2600 synthesizer, percussion
  • Simon Phillips- drums, percussion
  • Liza Strike, Helen Chappelle, Barry St. John – backing vocals

 Track listing:

All tracks by David Coverdale, except where noted.

  1. Lady – David Coverdale, Micky Moody
  2. Blindman
  3. Goldies Place
  4. Whitesnake – David Coverdale, Micky Moody
  5. Time on My Side – David Coverdale, Micky Moody
  6. Peace Lovin’ Man
  7. Sunny Days
  8. Hole in the Sky
  9. Celebration – David Coverdale, Micky Moody


On February 9, 2018.

On February 9, 2018, Jóhann Jóhannsson died aged 48. He was composer who was composing music for theatre, dance, TV  and movies. Some of his movie works include original scores for “Personal Effects” by David Hollander, “For Ellen” by So Yong Kim, “McCanick” by John C. Waller, “Prisoners” by Denis Villeneuve, Sicario by Denis Villeneuve, “Arrival” by Denis Villeneuve, “The Mercy” by James Marsh and “Mary Magdalene” by Garth Davis. For the score for James Marsh’s “The Theory of Everything”, Jóhannsson won a “Golden Globe” for “Best Original Score”. In the period 2002 – 2016, he released nine solo albums.

On February 9, 1993.


On February 9, 1993, “Blanco y Negro” label released “Where You Been”, the fifth Dinosaur Jr. studio album. It was recorded in 1992, and was produced by J.Mascis.


  • J Mascis- organ, guitar, piano, chimes, drums, lead vocals, timpani
  • Mike Johnson- bass, guitar, piano, backing vocals
  • Murph– drums
  • Tiffany Anders – vocals
  • George Berz – tambourine
  • Kurt Fedora – rhythm guitar
  • Dave Mason – viola
  • Abie Newton – cello
  • Larry Packer – violin
  • Rob Turner – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by J Mascis.

  1. Out There
  2. Start Choppin
  3. What Else Is New
  4. On the Way
  5. Not the Same
  6. Get Me
  7. Drawerings
  8. Hide
  9. Goin Home
  10. I Ain’t Sayin