On April 19, 1971.

The Doors - LA Woman

On April 19, 1971, “Elektra” label released “L.A. Woman”, the sixth Doors studio album.  It was recorded December 1970 – January 1971, at “The Doors Workshop” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Bruce Botnick and The Doors. This was band’s last album to feature Jim Morrison, who died three months after the album’s release. In 2012, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “L.A. Woman” at number 364 on its list of “The 500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Jim Morrison – lead vocals, piano, percussion
  • Ray Manzarek – vocals, Hammond organ, tack piano, Vox Continental, rhythm guitar, Gibson G-101, Wurlitzer electric piano , Rhodes piano
  • Robby Krieger– guitar
  • John Densmore– drums
  • Jerry Scheff– bass guitar
  • Marc Benno– rhythm guitar
  • Bruce Botnick– production engineer
  • Doug Sax– mastering
  • Carl Cossick – sleeve art concept, design
  • Wendell Hamick – photography, visual effects

Track listing:

  1. The Changeling – Jim Morrison
  2. Love Her Madly – Robby Krieger
  3. Been Down So Long – Jim Morrison
  4. Cars Hiss by My Window – Jim Morrison
  5. L.A. Woman – Jim Morrison
  6. L’America – Jim Morrison
  7. Hyacinth House – Ray Manzarek, Jim Morrison
  8. Crawling King Size – anon. arr. John Lee Hooker
  9. The WASP – Jim Morrison
  10. Riders on the Storm – Jim Morrison, Ray Manzarek, Robby Krieger,John Densmore

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.