Tag Archives: Joel Brodsky

In November 1970.

In November 1970, “Enterprise” label released “…To Be Continued”, the fourth Isaac Hayes  studio album. It was recorded in 1970, and was produced by Isaac Hayes.


  • Isaac Hayes – vocals, arranger, piano, electric piano, bongos, timpani, vibraphone
  • Dale Warren- arranger
  • Pat Lewis – backing vocal arranger
  • The Bar-Kays: instrumentation
    • James Alexander- bass guitar
    • Cliff Acred – bass guitar
    • Ben Cauley – trumpet
    • Michael Toles – guitar
    • Ronnie Gordon – keyboards
    • Harvey Henderson – saxophone
    • Roy Cunningham – drums
    • Willie Hall- drums
  • Hot Buttered Soul Unlimited – backing vocals
  • William Brown, Henry Bush, Ron Capone – engineers
  • Joe Tarantino – mastering
  • David Krieger – art direction
  • Herb Kole – art supervisor
  • Joel Brodsky– photography

The Memphis Horns and the Memphis Symphony Orchestra: instrumentation

  • Richard “Johnny” Davis – trumpet
  • Bill Bell – trombone
  • Ernie Bernhardt – trumpet
  • Jackie Thomas – trombone
  • Edwin Hubbard – flute
  • Robert Snyder – violin
  • Ann Spurbeck – violin
  • James Terry – flute
  • Nick Vergos – English horn, oboe
  • John Wehlan – violin
  • Vincent de Frank – cello
  • Joe De’Gerolamo – French horn
  • Ed Freudberg – violin
  • Gloria Hendricks – violin
  • Nino Ravarino – viola
  • Hal Saunders – violin
  • Joan Gilbert – violin
  • John Davis – trumpet
  • Jack Fonville – flute
  • D’Gerolamo – French horn
  • Richard Dolph – French horn
  • Noel Gilbert – violin

Track listing:

  1. Ike’s Rap I – Isaac Hayes
  2. Our Day Will Come – Bob Hilliard, Mort Garson
  3. The Look of Love – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  4. Medley: Ike’s Mood I/You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ – Isaac Hayes, Phil Spector, Barry Mann, Cynthia Weil
  5. Runnin’ Out of Fools – Kay Rogers, Richard Ahlert

In November 1968.

In November 1968, “Warner Bros” label released “Astral Weeks”, the second Van Morrison studio album.It was recorded September – October at “Century Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Lewis Merenstein. In 1995 “Mojo” magazine ranked “Astral Weeks” at number two on its list of the greatest albums of all time; in 1998 it was voted the 9th greatest album of all time in a “Music of the Millennium” poll conducted by “HMV”, “Channel 4” and “The Guardian”; in 2000, “Q” magazine ranked it at number 6 on its list of the “100 Greatest British Albums Ever”; in 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked it at number 19 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and in 2006, “Time” magazine included “Astral Weeks” in its list of the “All-TIME 100 Albums”.


  • Van Morrison— vocals, acoustic guitar
  • John Payne — flute; soprano saxophone
  • Jay Berliner— classical and steel-string acoustic guitars
  • Richard Davis— double bass
  • Warren Smith, Jr.— percussion, vibraphone
  • Connie Kay— drums
  • Larry Fallon— string arrangements, conductor; harpsichord
  • Barry Kornfeld — acoustic guitar
  • Brooks Arthur — engineer
  • Ed Thrasher— art director
  • Joel Brodsky— photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison.

Part One: In The Beginning

  1. Astral Weeks
  2. Beside You
  3. Sweet Thing
  4. Cyprus Avenue

Part Two: Afterwards

  1. The Way Young Lovers Do
  2. Madame George
  3. Ballerina
  4. Slim Slow Slider

In October 1968.

In October 1968, “SGC” label released the self-titled, debut Nazz studio album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Bill Traut, Michael Friedman, Robert “Stewkey” Antoni, Thom Mooney, Todd Rundgren and Carson Van Osten.


  • Robert “Stewkey” Antoni – keyboards, vocals
  • Thom Mooney – drums
  • Todd Rundgren- guitar, vocals, string arrangements, mixing
  • Carson Van Osten – bass, vocals
  • Joel Brodsky, Michael Friedman – photography
  • Chris Huston- associate producer
  • Jon Landau- liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by Todd Rundgren, except where noted.

  1. Open My Eyes
  2. Back of Your Mind
  3. See What You Can Be
  4. Hello It’s Me
  5. Wildwood Blues – Todd Rundgren, Thom Mooney, Robert “Stewkey” Antoni, Carson Van Osten
  6. If That’s the Way You Feel
  7. When I Get My Plane
  8. Lemming Song
  9. Crowded – Thom Mooney, Robert “Stewkey” Antoni
  10. She’s Goin’ Down

On August 5, 1969.

The Stooges - The Stooges

On August 5, 1969, “Elektra” label released the self-titled debut studio album by The Stooges. It was recorded in April 1969; at “The Hit Factory” in New York City, and was produced by John Cale. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 185 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”, and ranked the song “1969” in the list of the “100 Greatest Guitar Songs of All Time”. In 2005, “Q” magazine ranked the song “I Wanna Be Your Dog” at number 13 in its list of the “100 Greatest Guitar Tracks”.


  • Iggy Pop – vocals
  • Dave Alexander– bass guitar
  • Ron Asheton– guitar, vocals
  • Scott Asheton– drums
  • John Cale– piano, sleigh bell, viola
  • Joel Brodsky– sleeve photography
  • Danny Fields– liner notes
  • William S. Harvey – sleeve art direction
  • Jac Holzman– production supervisor

Track listing:

All tracks by The Stooges (Dave Alexander, Ron Asheton, Scott Asheton and Iggy Pop).

  1. 1969
  2. I Wanna Be Your Dog
  3. We Will Fall
  4. No Fun
  5. Real Cool Time
  6. Ann
  7. No Right
  8. Little Doll