Tag Archives: Soul

On May 9, 2020.

On May 9, 2020, Richard Wayne Penniman aka Little Richard died aged 87. He was singer, songwriter and musician (piano), one of the most important and influential persons in the popular music. His charismatic showmanship and dynamic music, characterized by frenetic piano playing, pounding back beat and raspy shouted vocals, laid the foundation for rock and roll, but also had important role in formation of other music genres such as soul and funk. For his work Little Richard received numerous awards and was honored by many institutions. In 1986, he was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”; in 1993 he received “Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award”, he was inducted into the “Songwriters Hall of Fame”, received “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the “Recording Academy”;  “Lifetime Achievement Award” from the “Rhythm and Blues Foundation”, and received a “Rhapsody & Rhythm Award” from the “National Museum of African American Music”. In 2012, his song “Tutti Frutti” was included in the “National Recording Registry” of the “Library of Congress”, stated that his “unique vocalizing over the irresistible beat announced a new era in music”. Three of his songs “Tutti Frutti,” “Lucille” and “Long Tall Sally” are inducted into the “Grammy Hall of Fame”.


In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Stax” label released “Black Moses”, the fifth Isaac Hayes studio album. It was recorded March – October 1971, and was produced by Isaac Hayes.


  • Isaac Hayes – lead and background vocals
  • Hot Buttered Soul – backing vocals
  • The Bar-Kays – instrumentation:
  • The Isaac Hayes Movement:
  • Isaac Hayes – piano, vibraphone, organ, electric piano
  • Ronnie Hudson – bass
  • Gary Jones – bongos, congas
  • Willie Hall – drums, tambourine
  • Lester Snell – electric piano
  • Charles “Skip” Pitts – guitar
  • Sidney Kirk – piano
  • Isaac Hayes, Johnny Allen, Dale Warren – arrangements
  • Ron Capone, William Brown, Henry Bush, Eddie Marion, Dave Purple – engineers
  • Ron Capone, Dave Purple, Isaac Hayes – remix engineers

Track listing:

  1. Never Can Say Goodbye – Clifton Davis
  2. (They Long to Be) Close to You – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  3. Nothing Takes the Place of You – Toussaint McCall, Alan Robinson
  4. Man’s Temptation – Curtis Mayfield
  5. Never Gonna Give You Up – Kenneth Gamble, Leon Huff, Jerry Butler
  6. Medley: Ike’s Rap II /  Help Me Love – Isaac Hayes, Johnny Baylor, Mickey Gregory, Luther Ingram, Tommy Tate
  7. Need to Belong to Someone – Curtis Mayfield
  8. Good Love – Mickey Gregory, Isaac Hayes
  9. Medley: Ike’s Rap III / Your Love is So Doggone Good – Isaac Hayes, Difosco Ervin, Rudy Love
  10. For the Good Times – Kris Kristofferson
  11. I’ll Never Fall in Love Again – Burt Bacharach, Hal David
  12. Part-Time Love – Clay Hammond
  13. Medley: Ike’s Rap IV / A Brand New Me – Isaac Hayes, Kenneth Gamble, Thom Bell, Jerry Butler
  14. Going in Circles – Jerry Peters, Anita Poree


On April 14, 2015.

On April 14, 2015, Percy Tyrone Sledge died aged 73. He was R&B,  soul and  gospel singer, best known for the song “When a Man Loves a Woman”. The song was awarded a million-selling, Gold-certified disc in US by “RIAA”. Sledge received the Rhythm and Blues Foundation’s Career Achievement Award and in 2005, he was inducted into the “Rock & Roll Hall of Fame”.

On January 20, 2012.

On January 20, 2012, Jamesetta Hawkins aka Etta James died aged 73. She was singer with powerful voice, performing blues, R&B, soul,  jazz and gospel music  She won six “Grammy Awards” and 17 “Blues Music Awards”; In 1993, she was inducted into the “Rock and Roll Hall of Fame”, in 1999 she was inducted in “Grammy Hall of Fame”, and in 2011 in the “Blues Hall of Fame”. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked Etta James at number 22 on its list of the “100 Greatest Singers of All Time”.


On December 19, 2000.


On December 19, 2000, Roebuck “Pops” Staples died aged 85. Being songwriter, guitarist and singer, he was one of the key figures of the gospel, soul and R&B scene of the 60’ and 70’, and was best known as founder and leader of The Staple Singers. He released four solo albums:

  • Jammed Together – 1969
  • Peace to the Neighborhood – 1992
  • Father Father – 1994
  • Don’t Lose This – 2015 (posthumously released)



On June 27, 2014.

Bobby Womack

On June 27, 2014, Robert Dwayne “Bobby” Womack died aged 70. Being singer, songwriter, musician, and producer, his career spanned more than 60 years. He performed and composed in various music styles, rock and roll, doo-wop, gospel, and country, but he became famous for his R&B and soul period. He is also known as composer  of the Rolling Stones’ first UK No. 1 hit, “It’s All Over Now”. Womack has recorded 23 albums under his name:

  • Fly Me to the Moon- 1969
  • My Prescription– 1970
  • Communication– 1971
  • Understanding– 1972
  • Facts of Life– 1973
  • Lookin’ for a Love Again– 1974
  • I Don’t Know What the World Is Coming To– 1975
  • Safety Zone– 1975
  • BW Goes C&W– 1976
  • Home Is Where the Heart Is- 1976
  • Pieces- 1978
  • Roads of Life – 1979
  • The Poet- 1981
  • The Poet II- 1984
  • So Many Rivers- 1985
  • Someday We’ll All Be Free- 1985
  • Womagic- 1986
  • The Last Soul Man- 1987
  • Save the Children- 1989
  • Resurrection- 1994
  • Back to My Roots- 1999
  • Traditions- 1999
  • The Bravest Man in the Universe- 2012

On March 17, 2008.

Keep It Simple

On March 17, 2008, “Exile Productions Ltd./Polydor” labels released “Keep It Simple”,the thirty-third Van Morrison solo album. It  was recorded in 2007, and was produced by Van Morrison.


  1. Van Morrison – vocals, piano, alto saxophone, acoustic guitar, ukulele
  2. John Platania- guitar
  3. Mick Green– guitar
  4. Ned Edwards – guitar, harmonica, backing vocals
  5. Sarah Jory- steel guitar, banjo
  6. Cindy Cashdollar- steel guitar
  7. Paul Moore – bass
  8. David Hayes- bass
  9. Geraint Watkins- piano, accordion
  10. John Allair – organ
  11. Liam Bradley- percussion
  12. Tony Fitzgibbon – fiddle
  13. Neal Wilkinson – drums
  14. Crawford Bell – acoustic guitar, backing vocals
  15. Katie Kissoon- backing vocals
  16. Karen Hamill – backing vocals
  17. Margo Buchanan – backing vocals
  18. Stevie Lange – backing vocals
  19. Jerome Rimson – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Van Morrison

  1. How Can a Poor Boy?
  2. School of Hard Knocks
  3. That’s Entrainment
  4. Don’t Go to Nightclubs Anymore
  5. Lover Come Back
  6. Keep It Simple
  7. End of the Land
  8. Song of Home
  9. No Thing
  10. Soul
  11. Behind the Ritual