Jackie McLean: Bout Soul

In January 1969, “Blue Note” label released “Bout Soul”, the 37th Jackie McLean album. It was recorded in September 1967, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Francis Wolff.


  • Jackie McLean – alto saxophone
  • Woody Shaw – trumpet
  • Grachan Moncur III – trombone
  • LaMont Johnson – piano
  • Scotty Holt – bass
  • Rashied Ali – drums
  • Barbara Simmons – recitation

Track listing:

  1. Soul – Grachan Moncur III, Barbara Simmons
  2. Conversion Point – Jackie McLean
  3. Big Ben’s Voice – LaMont Johnson
  4. Dear Nick, Dear John – Scotty Holt
  5. Erdu – LaMont Johnson

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.