Tag Archives: Arnett Cobb

On March 11, 2003.

On March 11, 2003, “High Note” label released “Smooth Sailing” the 30th and the final Teddy Edwards album. It was recorded in 2001 at “M&I Recording Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Houston Person.


  • Teddy Edwards – tenor saxophone
  • Richard Wyands – piano
  • Ray Drummond – double bass
  • Chip White – drums

Track listing:

  1. Going Home – Teddy Edwards
  2. All Too Soon – Duke Ellington, Carl Sigman
  3. Hank’s Tune – Hank Mobley
  4. Indian Summer – Victor Herbert, Al Dubin
  5. Robbin’s Nest – Illinois Jacquet, Bob Russell
  6. It’s the Talk of the Town – Jerry Livingston, Al J. Neiburg, Marty Symes
  7. Smooth Sailing – Arnett Cobb
  8. Polka Dots and Moonbeams – Jimmy Van Heusen, Johnny Burke

On January 16, 2021.

On January 16, 2021, Julian Clifford Mance, Jr. aka Junior Mance died aged 92. He was musician (piano) and composer, one of the main figures of the Hard bop jazz scene. He recorded and performed with some of the biggest names of jazz, blues and soul music including Gene Amons, Lester Young, Charlie Parker, Coleman Hawkins, Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Sonny Stitt, Dinah Washington, Wynton Kelly, Cannonball Adderley, Dexter Gordon, Nat Adderley, Joe Gordon, Bennie Green, Al Grey, Ernie Andrews, Johnny Griffin, Art Blakey, Cliford Brown, Benny Carter, Buddy Guy, Jimmy Cleveland, Arnett Cobb, Red Holloway, Jose James, Ray Crawford, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Eddie Jefferson, Aretha Franklin, Etta Jones, Dizzy Gillespie, Irene Kral, Jay Leonhart, Les McCann, Paul Gonsalves, Howard McGhee, The Metronomes, Virgil Gonsalves, James Moody, Wild Bill Moore, Barbara Morrison, Sandy Mosse, Leo Parker, Ken Peplowski, Billie Poole, Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Alvin Queen, Jimmy Scott, Arnold Sterling, Sonny Stitt, Clark Terry, Frank Vignola, Wilbur Ware, Ben Webster, Joe Williams, Marion Williams, and Leo Wright. As leader, Monce released 56 albums (live and studio). In 2007, Mance and his wife Gloria started their own record label “JunGlo”.

In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Prestige” label released “Sizzlin’”, the seventh Arnett Cobb album. It was recorded in November 1960, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Esmond Edwards.

Track listing:

  • Arnett Cobb – tenor saxophone
  • Red Garland – piano
  • George Tucker – bass
  • J. C. Heard – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Arnett Cobb except where noted.

  1. Sweet Georgia Brown – Ben Bernie, Kenneth Casey, Maceo Pinkard
  2. Black Velvet – Illinois Jacquet
  3. Blue Sermon
  4. Georgia on My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  5. Sizzlin’
  6. The Way You Look Tonight – Dorothy Fields, Jerome Kern