Tag Archives: Bennie Green

In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Jazzland” label released “Tough Tenors”, an album by Johnny Griffin and Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis. It was recorded in November 1960, at “Plaza Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews.


  • Johnny Griffin – tenor saxophone
  • Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis – tenor saxophone 
  • Junior Mance – piano
  • Larry Gales – bass
  • Ben Riley – drums

Track listing:

  1. Tickle Toe – Lester Young
  2. Save Your Love for Me – Buddy Johnson
  3. Twins – Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Johnny Griffin
  4. Funky Fluke – Bennie Green
  5. Imagination – Johnny Burke, Jimmy Van Heusen
  6. Soft Winds – Benny Goodman, Fletcher Henderson

In May 1959.

In May 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Walkin’ & Talkin’”, the ninth Bennie Green album. It was recorded in January 1959, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Bennie Green – trombone
  • Eddie Williams – tenor saxophone
  • Gildo Mahones – piano
  • George Tucker – bass
  • Al Dreares – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Gildo Mahones except where noted.

  1. The Shouter
  2. Green Leaves
  3. This Love of Mine – Frank Sinatra, Sol Parker, Henry W. Sanicola Jr.
  4. Walkin’ and Talkin’ – Bennie Green
  5. All I Do Is Dream of You – Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed
  6. Hoppin’ Johns

On April 17, 2012.

On April 17, 2012, “Uptown Records” label released “Newark 1953”, album by Hank Mobley. It was recorded in September 1953, at “The Picadilly Club” in New Jersey, and was produced by Robert E. Sunenblick.


  • Hank Mobley – tenor sax
  • Bennie Green – trombone
  • Walter Davis Jr. – piano
  • Jimmy Schenck – bass
  • Charli Persip – drums
  • Ozzie Cadena – recording engineer

Track listing:

  1. Ow – John Birks Gillespie
  2. There’s a Small Hotel – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  3. Ballad Medley: Damn That Dream / Where or When / In Love in Vain / Stardust – Hoagy Carmichael, Eddie DeLange, Lorenz Hart, James Van Heusen, Jerome Kern, Mitchell Parish, Leo Robin, Richard Rodgers
  4. All the Things You Are – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern
  5. Jumpin’ with Symphony Sid – Lester Young
  6. Announcement
  7. Lullaby of Birdland – George Shearing
  8. Embraceable You – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  9. Keen and Peachy – Ralph Burns, Shorty Rogers
  10. Pennies from Heaven – Johnny Burke, Arthur Johnston
  11. Blues Is Green – Bennie Green
  12. ‘S Wonderful – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin

On January 16, 2021.

On January 16, 2021, Julian Clifford Mance, Jr. aka Junior Mance died aged 92. He was musician (piano) and composer, one of the main figures of the Hard bop jazz scene. He recorded and performed with some of the biggest names of jazz, blues and soul music including Gene Amons, Lester Young, Charlie Parker, Coleman Hawkins, Eddie “Lockjaw” Davis, Sonny Stitt, Dinah Washington, Wynton Kelly, Cannonball Adderley, Dexter Gordon, Nat Adderley, Joe Gordon, Bennie Green, Al Grey, Ernie Andrews, Johnny Griffin, Art Blakey, Cliford Brown, Benny Carter, Buddy Guy, Jimmy Cleveland, Arnett Cobb, Red Holloway, Jose James, Ray Crawford, Harry “Sweets” Edison, Eddie Jefferson, Aretha Franklin, Etta Jones, Dizzy Gillespie, Irene Kral, Jay Leonhart, Les McCann, Paul Gonsalves, Howard McGhee, The Metronomes, Virgil Gonsalves, James Moody, Wild Bill Moore, Barbara Morrison, Sandy Mosse, Leo Parker, Ken Peplowski, Billie Poole, Bernard “Pretty” Purdie, Alvin Queen, Jimmy Scott, Arnold Sterling, Sonny Stitt, Clark Terry, Frank Vignola, Wilbur Ware, Ben Webster, Joe Williams, Marion Williams, and Leo Wright. As leader, Monce released 56 albums (live and studio). In 2007, Mance and his wife Gloria started their own record label “JunGlo”.

In December 1958.

In December 1958, “Vee-Jay” label released “The Swingin’es”, the eighth Bennie Green album. It was recorded in November 1958, at “Bell Sound Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Sid McCoy.


  • Bennie Green – trombone
  • Gene Ammons, Frank Foster – tenor saxophone
  • Nat Adderley – cornet
  • Frank Wess – tenor saxophone, flute
  • Tommy Flanagan – piano
  • Eddie Jones – bass
  • Albert Heath – drums

Track listing:

  1. Juggin’ Around – Frank Foster
  2. Going South – Frank Foster
  3. Jim Dog – Gene Ammons
  4. Sermonette – Nat Adderley, Jon Hendricks
  5. A Little Ditty – Frank Wess