Tag Archives: Ralph McTell

On September 16. 2018.

On September 16, 2018, Maartin Allcock died aged 61. He was a musician (violin, guitar, bass, keyboards, pipes), and record producer, best known as a member of Fairport Convention, Jethro Tull, and The Mission. As a musician, he recorded with a number of bands and musicians including Ralph McTell, Simon Nicol, Kieran Halpin, Beverley Craven, Steve Ashley, Dan Ar Braz, Robert Plant, Beth Nielsen Chapman, Les Barker, Ashley Hutchings, Billy Connolly, Judith Durhamlin, Steve Tilston, Maggie Boyle, Chris Leslie, The Simon Mayor Quintet, WAZ!, Dave Pegg, Steve Gibbons, David Hughes, Sally Barker, Emily Slade, Alistair Russell, John Wright, Swarb’s Lazarus, Mike Billington, The Bar-Steward Sons of Val Doonican, Scott Doonican, Dave Burland, and Lisa Starnini. Allcock released four solo albums.

In December 1988.

In December 1988, “Rough Trade” label released “Red & Gold”, the 16th Fairport Convention studio album. It was recorded September to November 1988 at “Woodworm Studios” in Barford St. Michael, Oxfordshire, and was produced by Simon Nicol.


  • Maartin Allcock– vocals, guitars, bouzouki, mandolin, accordion, keyboards
  • Dave Mattacks– drums, percussion, keyboards, harpsichord
  • Ric Sanders– violin
  • Dave Pegg– vocals, acoustic and bass guitars
  • Simon Nicol– vocals, guitars, dobro
  • Tim Matyear – engineer
  • Rob Braviner, Mark Tucker – engineering
  • John Dent – mastering
  • Mike Dolan – mixing
  • David Gleeson, Spencer Richards – artwork
  • Malcolm Holmes – booklet design
  • Dawn Robertson, John Woodward – cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Set Me Up – Dave Whetstone
  2. The Noise Club – Maartin Allcock
  3. Red and Gold – Ralph McTell
  4. The Beggar’s Song – traditional,arranged by  Maartin Allcock
  5. The Battle – Ric Sanders
  6. Dark Eyed Molly – Archie Fisher
  7. The Rose Hip – Ric Sanders
  8. London River – Rod Shearman
  9. Summer Before the War – Huw Williams
  10. Open the Door Richard – Bob Dylan

In November 1972.

In November 1972, “Warner Bros” and “Reprise” labels released “Not till Tomorrow”, the sixth Ralph McTell album released in UK. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Tony Visconti.


  • Ralph McTell– lead vocals, guitar, piano, organ, harmonica
  • Tony Visconti– sitar, organ, recorder, background vocals
  • Mary Visconti (Mary Hopkin)– background vocals
  • Danny Thompson– double bass
  • Laurie Allan– percussion
  • Victor Gamm – recording engineer
  • Seabrook/Graves/Aslett – sleeve art direction
  • Kelvin McGowan – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Ralph McTell.

  1. Zimmerman Blues
  2. First Song
  3. When I Was a Cowboy
  4. Nettle Wine
  5. Sylvia
  6. Birdman
  7. Barges
  8. Standing Down in New York Town
  9. Another Rain Has Fallen
  10. This Time of Night
  11. Gypsy

On April 4, 2006.

On April 4, 2006, “Steamhammer” label released “The Village Lanterne”, the fifth Blackmore’s Night studio album. It was recorded 2005-2006, and was produced by Pat Regan.


  • Ritchie Blackmore– electric guitars, acoustic guitars, various drums, hurdy-gurdy
  • Candice Night– lead vocals, backing vocals, shawms, rauchpfeife,  recorder, chanters
  • Pat Reganand the Minstrel Hall Consort – keyboards
  • Sir Robert of Normandie (Robert Curiano) – bass
  • Sisters of the Moon: Lady Madeline and Lady Nancy (Madelineand Nancy Posner) – harmony vocals
  • Bard David of Larchmont(David Baranowski) – keyboards
  • Sarah Steiding– violin
  • Anton Fig– drums
  • Albert Dannemann– bagpipes, backing vocals
  • Ian Robertson, Jim Manngard – backing vocals

Track listing:

  1. 25 Years – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  2. Village Lanterne – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  3. I Guess It Doesn’t Matter Anymore – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  4. The Messenger – Ritchie Blackmore
  5. World of Stone – trad. arr. Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  6. Faerie Queen / Faerie Dance – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  7. Teresa – Eric Bazilian, Rick Chertoff, Rob Hyman, Joan Osborne
  8. Village Dance – Ritchie Blackmore
  9. Mond Tanz / Child in Time – Ritchie Blackmore, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Jon Lord, Ian Paice
  10. Streets of London – Ralph Mctell
  11. Just Call My Name (I’ll Be There) – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  12. Olde Mill Inn – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  13. Windmills – Ritchie Blackmore, Candice Night
  14. Street of Dreams – Ritchie Blackmore, Joe Lynn Turner


In February 1973.


In February 1973, “Island” label released “Rosie”, the eight Fairport Convention album. It was recorded July – August 1972, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Trevor Lucas.


  • Dave Swarbrick: vocals, fiddle, viola, mandolin, acoustic guitar
  • Trevor Lucas: vocals, 6 and 12-string acoustic guitars
  • Jerry Donahue: guitars, backing vocals
  • Dave Pegg: vocals, bass, mandolin
  • Dave Mattacks: drums, percussion, piano
  • Richard Thompson: electric and 12-string guitars
  • Sandy Denny: backing vocals
  • Linda Peters: backing vocals
  • Gerry Conway: drums
  • Tim Donald: – drums
  • Ralph McTell: acoustic guitar

Track listing:

  1. Rosie – Dave Swarbrick
  2. Matthew, Mark, Luke & John – Dave Pegg, Dave Swarbrick
  3. Knights of the Road – Trevor Lucas, Peter Roche
  4. Peggy’s Pub – Dave Pegg
  5. The Plainsman – words: Peter Roche/music: traditional, arranged by Trevor Lucas
  6. Hungarian Rhapsody – Dave Pegg
  7. My Girl – Dave Swarbrick
  8. Me With You – Dave Swarbrick
  9. The Hen’s March Through the Midden – traditional, arranged by Fairport Convention
  10. Furs and Feathers – Dave Swarbrick