On April 3, 1968.


On April 3, 1968, “Columbia” label released “Bookends”, the fourth Simon and Garfunkel studio album. It was recorded September 1966, January 1967, June 1967, October 1967−February 1968, at “Columbia Studio A & B” in Manhattan, and was produced by Paul Simon, Roy Halee and Art Garfunkel. In 1969, at the 11th “Annual Grammy Awards”, “Mrs. Robinson” became the first rock and roll song to win “Record of the Year” and also  won award for “Best Contemporary Pop Performance by a Duo or Group”


  • Paul Simon– vocals, guitar, production
  • Art Garfunkel– vocals, tapes, production
  • Larry Knechtel– piano, keyboards
  • Joe Osborn– bass guitar
  • Hal Blaine– drums, percussion
  • Jimmie Haskell – arranger, arrangement preparation
  • Roy Halee– recording
  • Robert Honablue – engineer
  • Richard Avedon– cover photography
  • John Simon– production assistant
  • Bob Johnston– production assistant

Track listing:

  1. Bookends Theme
  2. Save the Life of My Child
  3. America
  4. Overs
  5. Voices of Old People
  6. Old Friends
  7. Bookends Theme
  8. Fakin’ It
  9. Punky’s Dilemma
  10. Mrs. Robinson
  11. A Hazy Shade of Winter
  12. At the Zoo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.