Tag Archives: Piece of my heart

In December 1968.

In November 1968, “Buddah” label released the debut, self-titled Brooklyn Bridge album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Wes Farrell.


  • Johnny Maestro – lead vocals
  • Jimmy Rosica – bass
  • Artie Cantanzarita – drums
  • Richie Macioce – guitar
  • Carolyn Wood – organ
  • Shelly Davis – piano
  • Joe Ruvio – saxophone
  • Shelly Davis – trumpet
  • Fred Ferrara, Les Cauchi, Mike Gregorio – vocals
  • Arranged by – Tom Sullivan
  • Harry Yarmark – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Blessed Is the Rain
  2. Welcome Me Love
  3. Which Way to Nowhere
  4. Free as the Wind
  5. Glad She’s a Woman
  6. Space Odessey-2001 (Thus Spake Zarathustra)
  7. Requiem
  8. I’ve Been Lonely Too Long
  9. The Worst That Could Happen
  10. Piece of My Heart
  11. Your Kite, My Kite

On August 12, 1968.


On August 12, 1968, label “Columbia” released the album “Cheap thrills”by Big Brother and the Holding Company. This is band’s first album with Janis Joplin as lead singer. The album material was recorded in the period between March and May 1968 and was produced by John Simon, who incorporated recordings of crowd noise to give the impression of a live album, but only the last song, band’s cover of “Ball and chain”, had been recorded live at “The Fillmore” in San Francisco.

“Cheap thrills” was ranked #338 on the “Rolling Stone” magazine’s list of the “500 greatest albums of all time”.


  • Janis Joplin– vocals
  • Sam Andrew– lead guitar, bass, vocals
  • James Gurley– guitar
  • Peter Albin – bass, guitar
  • Dave Getz – drums

Track listing:

  1. Combination of the two – Sam Andrew
  2. I need a man to love – Sam Andrew and Janis Joplin
  3. Summertime – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin and DuBose Heyward
  4. Piece of my heart – Bert Berns and Jerry Ragovy
  5. Turtle blues – Janis Joplin
  6. Oh, sweet Mary – Peter Albin, Sam Andrew, David Getz, James Gurley and Janis Joplin
  7. Ball and chain – Big Mama Thorton