Tag Archives: Mayo Thompson

On March 25, 1995.

On March 25, 1995, “Drag City” label released “Coconut Hotel”, the seventh Red Crayola album. It was recorded in 1967, and was produced by Mayo Thompson, Steve Cunningham and Rick Barthelme.


  • Rick Barthelme – drums
  • Steve Cunningham – bass guitar
  • Mayo Thompson– vocals, guitar
  • Walt Andrus – recording
  • Les Blank – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Steve Cunningham and Mayo Thompson.

  1. Boards
  2. Water Pour
  3. One – Second Pieces (No. 1 – 36)
  4. Organ Buildup
  5. Vocal
  6. Free Guitar
  7. One – Minute Imposition
  8. Piano
  9. Guitar


On January 26, 2010.

On January 26, 2010, “Drag City” label released “Five American Portraits”, the fifth collaboration between Red Krayola and the art group Art & Language.


  • Gina Birch– vocals, bass guitar
  • Alex Dower – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Jim O’Rourke– bass guitar
  • Tom Rogerson– piano
  • Mayo Thompson– guitar, piano, vocals, mixing
  • Tom Watson – guitar
  • Fred Somsen – backing vocals
  • Dan Cox – backing vocals, engineering
  • Matt Ingram – backing vocals, engineering
  • Butchy Fuego – mixing
  • Rian Murphy– mixing

Track listing:

All lyrics by Art & Language; all music by The Red Krayola.

  1. Portrait of Wile E. Coyote
  2. Portrait of President George W. Bush
  3. Portrait of President Jimmy Carter
  4. Portrait of John Wayne
  5. Portrait of Ad Reinhardt

On November 19, 1996.

On November 19, 1996, “Drag City” label released “Hazel”, the seventh Red Krayola album.


  • Werner Büttner
  • Michael Baldwin
  • David Grubbs
  • George Hurley
  • Lynn Johnston
  • Hei Han Khiang
  • John McEntire
  • Albert Oehlen
  • Jim O’Rourke
  • Stephen Prina
  • Elisa Randazzo
  • Mary Lass Stewart
  • Mayo Thompson
  • Tom Watson
  • Christopher Williams

Track listing:

  1. I’m So Blasé
  2. Duck & Cover
  3. Duke of Newcastle
  4. Decaf the Planet
  5. GAO
  6. Larking
  7. Jimmy Two Bad
  8. Falls
  9. We Feel Fine
  10. 5123881
  11. Hollywood
  12. Another Song, Another Satan
  13. Boogie
  14. Dad
  15. Father Abraham

On September 17, 2007.

On September 17, 2007, “Drag City” label released “Sighs Trapped by Liars”, the fourth collaboration Red Krayola and Art & Language album.


  • John McEntire– drums, recording
  • Jim O’Rourke– acoustic guitar, harmonica, synthesizer, backing vocals, mixing, recording
  • Mayo Thompson– acoustic guitar, piano
  • Tom Watson – bass guitar, guitar
  • Noel Kupersmith – bass guitar
  • Elisa Randazzo– vocals, recording
  • Sandy Yang – vocals
  • Scott Benzel– recording
  • Roger Seibel – mastering
  • Art & Language– illustration, photography
  • Dan Osborn – design
  • Arthur Ou – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Art & Language; all music by John McEntire, Jim O’Rourke, Mayo Thompson and Tom Watson.

  1. Fairest of All
  2. Jumping Through the Mirror
  3. Laughing at the Foot of the Cross
  4. Il Ne Reste Qu’a Chanter
  5. Hostage
  6. Jerry Fodor’s Story
  7. The Big Vacation
  8. Four Stars: The Ideal Crew
  9. Igor Zabel’s Song
  10. A Pest
  11. Perfection
  12. Forty Thousand Words on a Chair
  13. Sighs Trapped by Liars

On June 8, 1999.

On June 8, 1999, “Drag City” label released “Fingerpainting”, the eighth Red Krayola album.


  • Mayo Thompson
  • Frederick Barthelme
  • Steve Cunningham
  • David Grubbs
  • Bobby Henschen
  • George Hurley
  • Albert Oehlen
  • Stephen Prina
  • Elisa Randazzo
  • Tom Watson
  • Christopher Williams
  • Sandy Yang

Track listing:

  1. George III
  2. Bad Medicine
  3. A Hybrid Creature of Greed, Ignorance and Powers of Comprehension Plays a Vaulted Drum Kit. The Playing Corresponds Completely to the Event. There Are Entrances and Exits. And There Is Gravitation, Where It Is Needed – Tears for Example
  4. There There Betty Betty
  5. The Greed of a Clarinet That Is Puffy from Crying Gets Tossed in Butter and Spread by Notes. This Process Depresses the Entire Orchestra So Much That It Only Plays Behind a Golden Partition. The Partition Is Decorated With Semi-Precious Attractive Diamonds
  6. Vile Vile Grass
  7. A Sow With an Abbess’s Bonnet Is Sitting on Four Rock-Objects and Singing Along With Them. The Song Sounds Like a Cheater, And Is Imprisoned in a Striped Toy Box Because Its Aims Are Not Recognizable. On Top of the Box Is a Head That Could Be Elvis’s, If He Had Survived This
  8. Mother
  9. Out of a Trombone That Is Divided Lengthways by a Partition of Gold Sound Seven Violins of Dynamite That Are Cut Sideways into Thin Slices. They Are Played by the Thrown Out Ex-Members of a Very Bad Band and Blown Up
  10. In My Baby’s Ruth, Sandy’s Drums With David & Shadwell, Filthy Lucre

On April 18, 2006.

On April 18, 2006, “Drag City” label released “Introduction”, the ninth Red Krayola album. It was recorded in August 2005, at “Soma E.M.S” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Drag City.


  • Mayo Thompson– vocals, guitar
  • John McEntire– drums, synthesizer, ukulele, mixing, recording
  • Stephen Prina– vocals, guitar, harpsichord, piano, organ, tambourine
  • Tom Watson – vocals, bass guitar, guitar, harpsichord, synthesizer
  • Charlie Abel – accordion
  • Noel Kupersmith – bass guitar, photography
  • Roger Seibel – mastering
  • Dan Osborne – illustration
  • Chris Strong – photography

 Track listing:

All lyrics written by Mayo Thompson; all music by Mayo Thompson, John McEntire, Stephen Prina and Tom Watson.

  1. Introduction
  2. Breakout
  3. Cruise Boat
  4. Note to Selves
  5. F.G.
  6. A Tale of Two
  7. Psy Ops
  8. It Will Be (Delivered)
  9. Puff
  10. Greasy Street
  11. Vexations
  12. Elegy
  13. When She Went Swimming
  14. Swerving
  15. Bling Bling

In June 1980.

In June 1980, “Rough Trade” label released “The Art of Walking”, the fourth Pere Ubu album. It was recorded in 1980, and was produced by Ken Hamann, David Thomas, Mayo Thompson, Allen Ravenstine, Tony Maimone and Scott Krauss.


  • David Thomas– lead vocals, Vox Continental Baroque organ, drums
  • Mayo Thompson– guitar, backing and lead vocals, piano
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML synthesizers
  • Tony Maimone– bass, piano, organ
  • Scott Krauss– drums, horn, piano, drum machine

Track listing:

All tracks by David Thomas, Mayo Thompson, Allen Ravenstine, Tony Maimone and Scott Krauss, except where noted.

  1. Go
  2. Rhapsody in Pink
  3. Arabia
  4. Young Miles in the Basement
  5. Misery Goats
  6. Loop
  7. Rounder
  8. Birdies
  9. Lost in Art
  10. Horses – Mayo Thompson
  11. Crush This Horn