Tag Archives: Ralph Towner

On November 26, 1973.

On November 26, 1973, “ECM” label released “Diary”, the second Ralph Towner album. It was recorded in April 1973, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Ralph Towner — twelve-string guitar, classical guitar, piano, gong

Track listing:

All tracks by Ralph Towner except where noted.

  1. Dark Spirit
  2. Entry in a Diary
  3. Images Unseen
  4. Icarus
  5. Mon Enfant – traditional
  6. Odgen Road
  7. Erg
  8. Silence of a Candle

On September 5, 2020.

On September 5, 2020, Gary Peacock died aged 85. He was a musician (bass), one of the most important figures in modern jazz history. He recorded twelve albums under his own name and recorded and performed with major jazz figures such as Albert Ayler, Paul Bley, Bill Evans, Keith Jarret, Frank Amsallem, Bill Carrothers, Marc Copland, Marilyn Crispell, Don Ellis, Clare Fischer, Barney Kessel, Sonny Simmons, Prince Lasha, Misha Mengelberg, Don Pullen, Bud Shank, Ravi Shankar, John Surman, Ralph Towner, Mal Waldrom, Tony Williams, Jack DeJohnette, Jimmy Woods, Toninho Horta, and Masabumi Kikuchi.

In June 1971.

In June 1971, “Columbia” label released “Bird on a Wire”, the sixth Tim Hardin album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Ed Freeman and Bob Devere.


  • Tim Hardin – vocals, guitar, keyboards
  • Joe Zawinul– keyboards
  • Warren Bernhardt– keyboards
  • Sam T. Brown – guitar
  • Bill Chelf – keyboards
  • Ed Freeman – guitar, string and horn arrangements
  • Monte Dunn – guitar
  • Steve Haas – drums, percussion
  • Paul Hornsby– keyboards
  • Bill Keith– pedal steel guitar
  • Tony Levin– bass
  • Glen Moore– bass
  • Richard Bock – cello
  • George Ricci – cello
  • Margaret Ross – harp
  • Ralph MacDonald– drums, percussion
  • Natoga – drums, percussion
  • Alphonse Mouzon– drums, percussion
  • Mike Mainieri– vibraphone, background vocals
  • Canby Singers – background vocals
  • Robert Popwell– bass
  • Rob Rothstein– bass
  • Joe Rudd – guitar
  • Bill Stewart – drums, percussion
  • Gilles Malkine – guitar
  • Ralph Towner– guitar
  • Miroslav Vitouš– bass
  • Collin Walcott– vibraphone, background vocals
  • Jim Greene, Lacy O’Neal, Doug Pomeroy – engineer
  • Lous Schlossberg – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Tim Hardin, except where noted.

  1. Bird on the Wire – Leonard Cohen
  2. Moonshiner – traditional
  3. Southern Butterfly
  4. A Satisfied Mind – Joe Hayes, Jack Rhodes
  5. Soft Summer Breeze
  6. Hoboin’ – John Lee Hooker, Joe Josea
  7. Georgia on My Mind – Hoagy Carmichael, Stuart Gorrell
  8. Andre Johray
  9. If I Knew
  10. Love Hymn


On February 18, 2020.

On February 18, 2020, Jon Ivar Christensen died aged 76. He was musician (drums) and composer, one of the most respected European Jazz drummers. He has recorded with artists such as Keith Jarrett, Jan Garbarek, Enrico Rava, Palle Danielsson, John Abercrombie, Michael Mantler, Miroslav Vitous, Terje Rypdal, Bobo Stenson, Eberhard Weber, Ralph Towner, Barre Phillips, Arild Andersen, Rainer Brüninghaus, Charles Lloyd, Dino Saluzzi, George Russell, John Clark, David Friedman, David Darling, Steve Kuhn, Lee Konitz, Pony Poindexter, Phil Woods, Leo Wright, Yelena Eckemoff and Tomasz Stanko.

In December 1975.

In December 1975, “ECM” label released “Solstice”, the fourth Ralph Towner album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Arne Bendiksen Studio” in Oslo, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Ralph Towner– 12-string and classical guitar, piano
  • Jan Garbarek– tenor and soprano saxophone, flute
  • Eberhard Weber– bass, cello
  • Jon Christensen– drums, percussion

Track listing:

All compositions by Ralph Towner except where noted.

  1. Oceanus
  2. Visitation
  3. Drifting Petals
  4. Nimbus
  5. Winter Solstice
  6. Piscean Dance
  7. Red and Black
  8. Sand – Eberhard Weber


On May 26, 1972.

I sing body electric

On May 26, 1972, “Columbia” label released “I Sing the Body Electric”, the second Weather Report album. It was recorded 1971 – 1972, and was produced by Robert Devere. The last three album tracks were recorded on January 13, 1972, live in concert in Tokyo and were edited for “I Sing the Body Electric”. These tracks can be heard in their entirety on 1972 import album “Live in Tokyo”. The album title is from an 1855 poem by Walt Whitman and a 1969 short story by Ray Bradbury.


  • Josef Zawinul- electric and acoustic piano, ARP 2600 synthesizer
  • Wayne Shorter- saxophones
  • Miroslav Vitouš- bass
  • Eric Gravatt- drums
  • Dom Um Romão- percussion
  • Andrew White- english horn
  • Hubert Laws, Jr. – flute
  • Wilmer Wise- D and piccolo trumpets
  • Yolande Bavan- voice
  • Joshie Armstrong – voice
  • Chapman Roberts – voice
  • Ralph Towner- 12-string guitar

Track listing:

  1. Unknown Soldier – Joe Zawinul
  2. The Moors – Wayne Shorter
  3. Crystal – Miroslav Vitouš
  4. Second Sunday In August – Joe Zawinul
  5. Medley: Vertical Invader – Joe Zawinul) / H. – Miroslav Vitouš) /Dr. Honoris Causa – Joe Zawinul
  6. Surucucú – Wayne Shorter
  7. Directions – Joe Zawinul