Tag Archives: Bob Marley

On March 13, 1998.

On March 13, 1998, Alexander Minto Hughes aka Judge Dread died aged 52. He was reggae and ska musician, the first white recording artist to have a reggae hit in Jamaica. “Rolling Stone” magazine  wrote “He sold several million albums throughout his 25-plus year career and was second only to Bob Marley in U.K. reggae sales during the 70s”. Dread has the most banned songs on “BBC” radio of all time.


On September 4, 2015.

On September 4, 2015, Emmanuel “Rico” Rodriguez died aged 80. He was Cuban-born Jamaican trombonist, one of the first and most distinguished reggae and ska artists. He has formed the group Rico and the Rudies, and has recorded and performed with many famous musicians and producers including Karl Pitterson,  Prince Buster, Lloyd “Matador” Daley, Jools Holland’s Rhythm and Blues Orchestra, Bob Marley, Toots & the Maytals, Delroy Washington , Burning Spear, The Specials,  Jools Holland, Dennis Bovell, Ian Dury, Chas Jankel, Joan Armatrading, John Martyn, Linton Kwesi Johnson, Steel Pulse and Paul Young. In 2007, he was awarded an  “MBE”  (Member of the Order of the British Empire) for services to music. For his contribution to Jamaican music, in 2012 he was awarded the “Silver Musgrave Medal” by the “Institute of Jamaica”.

In July 1974.

In July 1974, “RSO” label released “461 Ocean Boulevard”, the second Eric Clapton solo album. It was recorded April – May 1974, at “Criteria Studios” in Miami, and was produced by Tom Dowd.


  • Eric Clapton – vocals · guitar, dobro, arrangement
  • Yvonne Elliman– vocals
  • Dick Sims – keyboards
  • George Terry– guitar, vocals
  • Carl Radle– bass, arrangement
  • Jamie Oldaker– drums, percussion
  • Al Jackson Jr.– drums
  • Albhy Galuten– synthesizer, piano · clavichord
  • Tom Bernfield – background vocals
  • Marcy Levy– harmonica , background vocals
  • Ron Fawcus – engineer
  • Andy Knight – engineer
  • Karl Richardson – engineer
  • Suha Gur – mastering
  • Darcy Proper – mastering
  • Bob Defrin – art direction
  • David Gahr– photography
  • Ryan Null – photo co-ordination

Track listing:

  1. Motherless Children – traditional, arranged by Eric Clapton, Carl Radle
  2. Give Me Strength – Eric Clapton
  3. Willie and the Hand Jive – Johnny Otis
  4. Get Ready – Eric Clapton, Yvonne Elliman
  5. I Shot the Sheriff – Bob Marley
  6. I Can’t Hold Out – Elmore James
  7. Please Be With Me – Charles Scott Boyer
  8. Let It Grow – Eric Clapton
  9. Steady Rollin’ Man – Robert Johnson
  10. Mainline Florida – George Terry


In July 1972.

In July 1972, “Epic” label released “I Can See Clearly Now”, the eleventh Johnny Nash album. It was recorded in 1972, and was produced by Johnny Nash.


  • Johnny Nash – vocals
  • Fabulous Five Inc. – backing band
  • Bernie O’Gorman, Jack Clegg, John Middleton, Siddey – engineers
  • Denis Waugh – cover photography
  • Tim Fulford-Brown – back cover photography
  • Marty Pekar – liner notes

Track listing:

  1. Stir It Up – Bob Marley
  2. That’s the Way We Get By – John “Rabbit” Bundrick
  3. Guava Jelly – Bob Marley
  4. So Nice While It Lasted – Bill Nash
  5. Ooh Baby You’ve Been Good to Me – Johnny Nash
  6. You Poured Sugar on Me – Bob Marley, Johnny Nash
  7. I Can See Clearly Now – Johnny Nash
  8. Comma Comma – Bob Marley
  9. We’re All Alike – John “Rabbit” Bundrick
  10. How Good It Is – Johnny Nash
  11. The Fish and the Alley of Destruction – Johnny Nash
  12. There Are More Questions Than Answers – Johnny Nash

On October 2, 1979.


On October 2, 1979, “Tuff Gong / Island” labels released “Survival” the eleventh Bob Marley studio album. It was recorded January–February 1979, at “Tuff Gong Recording Studio” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Bob Marley & The Wailers and Alex Sadkin.


  • Bob Marley– lead vocals, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar, percussion
  • Aston “Family Man” Barrett– bass, rhythm guitar, percussion
  • Carlton Barrett– drums, percussion
  • Tyrone “Organ D” Downie– keyboards, percussion, backing vocal
  • Alvin “Seeco” Patterson– percussion
  • Junior Marvin– lead guitar, backing vocal
  • Earl “Wire” Lindo– keyboards
  • Al Anderson– lead guitar
  • Rita Marley– backing vocals
  • Marcia Griffiths– backing vocals
  • Judy Mowatt– backing vocals
  • Carlton “Santa” Davis– drums
  • Mikey “Boo” Richards – drums
  • Val Douglas – bass
  • Dean Fraser– tenor and alto Saxophone
  • Headley Bennett– alto Saxophone
  • Ronald “Nambo” Robinson – trombone
  • Melba Liston– trombone
  • Luther Francois – trombone
  • Junior “Chico” Chin – trumpet
  • Jackie Willacy – trumpet
  • Micky Hanson – trumpet
  • Lee Jaffe– harmonica
  • Mastering -Ted Jensen

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Marley, except where noted.

  1. So Much Trouble in the World
  2. Zimbabwe
  3. Top Rankin
  4. Babylon System
  5. Survival
  6. Africa Unite
  7. One Drop
  8. Ride Naty Ride
  9. Ambush in the Night
  10. Wake Up and Live – Bob Marley, Anthony Davis

On September 8, 1976.


On September 8, 1976, “Solomonic” label released “Blackheart Man”, the debut Bunny Wailer studio album. It was recorded in August 1975, at “Aquarius Recording Studios” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Bunny Wailer.


  • Bunny Wailer– lead vocals, backing vocals, percussion, acoustic guitar, bass, jaw harp, cover design
  • Carlton “Carly” Barrett– drums
  • Aston “Family Man” Barrett– bass, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, keyboards
  • Robbie Shakespeare– bass
  • Tyrone “Organ D” Downie– keyboards
  • Peter Tosh– rhythm guitar, lead guitar, backing vocals, melodica, harmonica
  • Earl “Chinna” Smith– lead guitar
  • Tommy McCook– flute, saxophone
  • “Dirty” Harry Hall– horns
  • Bobby Ellis– horns
  • Herman Marquis– horns
  • Mark West – horns
  • Harold Butler – keyboards
  • Bernard Harvey – keyboards
  • Winston Wright– keyboards
  • Karl Pitterson– acoustic guitar, sound engineer, mix engineer
  • Michael Murray – rhythm guitar
  • Eric Frater – lead guitar
  • Bob Marley– backing vocals
  • Willy Pep – congas
  • Larry McDonald – congas
  • Neville Garrick– percussion, cover artwork, cover design, photography
  • Chris Blackwell– mix engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Bunny Wailer.

  1. Blackheart Man
  2. Fighting Against Conviction
  3. The Oppressed Song
  4. Fig Tree
  5. Dream Land
  6. Rastaman
  7. Reincarnated Souls
  8. Amagideon (Armagedon)
  9. Bide Up
  10. This Train


On June 10, 1980.


On June 10, 1980, “Tuff Gong / Island” labels released “Uprising”, album by Bob Marley and the Wailers. It was recorded January – April 1980, at the “Tuff Gong Studios” in Kingston, Jamaica, and was produced by Chris Blackwell and Bob Marley. “Uprising” was the final studio album released during Marley’s lifetime.


  • Bob Marley– lead vocal, rhythm guitar, acoustic guitar
  • Aston “Family Man” Barrett– bass, piano, guitar, percussion
  • Carlton Barrett– drums, percussion
  • Carlton “Santa” Davis- drums
  • Tyrone Downie– keyboards, backing vocal
  • Alvin Patterson– percussion
  • Junior Marvin– lead guitar, backing vocal
  • Earl Lindo– keyboards
  • Al Anderson– lead guitar
  • I Threes(Rita Marley, Marcia Griffiths and Judy Mowatt) – backing vocals
  • Errol Brown– engineer, mixing engineer
  • The Wailers, Michael Rees– mixed
  • Chiao Ng – assistant engineer
  • Ted Jensen- mastering engineer
  • Neville Garrick– art direction
  • Adrian Boot– photo

Track listing:

All tracks by Bob Marley:

  1. Coming in from the Cold
  2. Real Situation
  3. Bad Card
  4. We and Dem
  5. Work
  6. Zion Train
  7. Pimper’s Paradise
  8. Could You Be Loved
  9. Forever Loving Jah
  10. Redemption Song