Kansas: Always Never the Same

On May 19, 1998, “River North” label released “Always Never the Same”, the thirteenth Kansas studio album. This album consists of new songs and covers of the band’s previous work, re-recorded with the London Symphony Orchestra. It was recorded September 1997 – February 1998, at “Southern Tracks”, “Electric Landlady” and “Tree Sound Studios” in Atlanta, Georgia, “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Phil Ehart, Rich Williams and Trammell Starks.


  • Steve Walsh – lead vocals, keyboards
  • Robby Steinhardt – lead and backing vocals, violin
  • Rich Williams – guitars
  • Billy Greer – vocals, bass
  • Phil Ehart – drums
  • The London Symphony Orchestra, arranged and conducted by Larry Baird
  • Russ Fowler, James Majors, Jim “Z” Zumpano – engineer
  • Peter Cobbin – orchestra recordings engineer
  • Jeff Glixman – mixing
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Brian Jobson, James Majors – digital editing
  • Trammell Starks – digital editing
  • Michael Allen – copyist
  • Pennie Moore, Conni Treantafeles – art direction, design
  • Marti Griffin – photography

Track listing:

  1. Eleanor Rigby – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  2. Dust in the Cover- Kerry Livgren
  3. Preamble (orchestral) – Larry Baird
  4. Song for America – Kerry Livgren
  5. In Your Eyes – Steve Walsh
  6. Miracles Out of Nowhere – Kerry Livgren
  7. Hol On – Kerry Livgren
  8. The Sky Is Falling – Steve Walsh
  9. Cheyenne Anthem – Kerry Livgren
  10. Prelude & Introduction (medley) – Phil Ehart, Billy Greer, Robby Steinhardt, Steve Walsh, Rich Williams, Larry Baird
  11. The Wall – Kerry Livgren, Steve Walsh
  12. Need to Know – Steve Walsh

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.