Tag Archives: Eddie Gomez

In January 1967.

In 1967, “Verve” label released “A Simple Matter of Conviction”, the 32nd Bill Evans album. It was recorded on October 4, 1966, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, and was produced by Creed Taylor.


  • Bill Evans- piano
  • Eddie Gómez- bass
  • Shelly Manne- drums

Track listing:

  1. A Simple Matter of Conviction – Bill Evans
  2. Stella by Starlight – Victor Young, Ned Washington
  3. Unless It’s You (Orbit) – Bill Evans
  4. Laura – Mercer, Raksin
  5. My Melancholy Baby – Ernie Burnett, George Norton, W. E. Watson
  6. I’m Getting Sentimental Over You – Bassman, Ned Washington
  7. Star Eyes – Gene de Paul, Don Raye
  8. Only Child – Bill Evans
  9. These Things Called Changes – Bill Evans

In July 1981.

In July 1981, “Stretch” label released “Three Quartets”, the 32nd Chick Corea (as leader) album. It was recorded January – February 1981 at “Mad Hatter Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Chick Corea.


  • Chick Corea- piano
  • Michael Brecker- tenor saxophone
  • Eddie Gómez- double bass
  • Steve Gadd- drums
  • Bernie Kirsh – recording and mixing engineer
  • Stephen Marcussen – remastering
  • Sonny Mediana,Dan Serrano, Andy Ruggirello  – graphic design
  • Joel Strote – associate executive producer
  • Adam Zelinka – post producer
  • Andy Baltimore – creative director
  • Darryl Pitt – photography
  • Susan Garson – project coordinator
  • Richard Veloso – art producer
  • Duncan Aldrich – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Chick Corea.

  1. Quartet No. 1
  2. Quartet No. 3
  3. Quartet No. 2 – Part I (dedicated to Duke Ellington)
  4. Quartet No. 2 – Part II (dedicated to John Coltrane)

On January 3, 2016.


On January 3, 2016, Hyman Paul Bley died aged 83. He was pianist best known as one of the most important figures of the free jazz movement of the 60s and for his innovations and influence on trio playing. He has recorded and performed with many famous musicians, including: Charles Mingus, Art Blakey, Percy Heath, Al Levitt, Dave Pike, Charlie Haden, Lennie McBrowne, Ornette Coleman, Don Cherry, Charlie Haden, Billy Higgins, Steve Swallow, Pete LaRoca, Dewey Johnson,  Marshall Allen, Eddie Gómez, Milford Graves, Kent Carter, Barry Altschul, Mark Levinson, Paul Motian, Billy Elgart, John Gilmore, Annette Peacock, Dick Youngstein, Glen Moore, Frank Tusa, Steve Hass, Bobby Moses, Han Bennink, Dave Holland, Niels-Henning Ørsted Pedersen, Pat Metheny, Jaco Pastorius, Bruce Ditmas, Jimmy Giuffre, Bill Connors, Lee Konitz, George Cross McDonald, Chet Baker, John Scofield, Jesper Lundgaard, Aage Tanggaard, John Surman, Bill Frisell, Ron McClure, John Abercrombie, Red Mitchell, Michal Urbaniak, Bob Cranshaw,  Keith Copeland, Hans Koch, Franz Koglmann, Tiziana Ghiglioni, Tony Oxley, Jane Bunnett, Herbie Spanier, Geordie McDonald, Evan Parker, Barre Phillips, Furio Di Castri, David Eyges, Bruce Ditmas, Sonny Greenwich, Rich Perry, Jay Anderson, Victor Lewis, Masahiko Togashi, Jakob Bro, Don Ellis, Sonny Rollins and Andreas Willers.

On March 29, 1988.


On March 29, 1988, “Columbia” label released “Lefty”, the seventh Art Garfunkel solo album. It was recorded in 1987, and was produced by Geoff Emerick, Art Garfunkel, Jay Graydon and Steve Gadd. The album title came from the fact that Garfunkel is left-handed, and his cover photo was taken by his brother Jules.


  • Art Garfunkel– vocals
  • Hugh McCracken– guitar
  • Joe Osborn– bass guitar
  • Eddie Gómez– acoustic bass guitar
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Jeremy Steig – flute
  • Nicky Hopkins– keyboards
  • Stephen Bishop– omnichord, backing vocals
  • Michael Brecker– saxophone
  • Del Newman – strings, brass, woodwind
  • Rob Sabino– synthesizer
  • Kenny Rankin– backing vocals
  • Leah Kunkel– backing vocals
  • Mary Ann Kennedy – backing vocals
  • Pam Rose – backing vocals
  • Geoff Emerick– engineer
  • Jay Graydon– engineer
  • Stuart Breed – engineer
  • Ian Eales – engineer
  • Mick Gazauski – engineer
  • Doug Sax – mastering
  • Ron Lewter – mastering
  • Chris Austropchuk – cover design
  • Jules Garfunkel – photography
  • Caroline Greyshock – photography (back cover)

Track listing:

  1. This Is the Moment – David Foster, Cynthia Weil, Linda Jenner and Ray ParkerJr.
  2. I Have a Love – Stephen Sondheim and Leonard Bernstein
  3. So Much in Love – George Williams, Bill Jackson and Roy Straigis
  4. Slow Breakup – Stephen Bishop
  5. Love Is the Only Chain – Mary Ann Kennedy, Pam Rose and Pat Bunch
  6. When a Man Loves a Woman – Calvin Lewis and Andrew Wright
  7. I Wonder Why – Bill Lovelady, Marita Phillips and Peter Skellern
  8. King of Tonga – Stephen Bishop
  9. If Love Takes You Away – Stephen Bishop
  10. The Promise – Nick Holmes