Kevin Ayers: Joy of a Toy

In November 1969, “Harvest” label released “Joy of a Toy”, the debut Kevin Ayers solo album. It was recorded June – September 1969, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Kevin Ayers and Peter Jenner.


  • Kevin Ayers– vocals, guitars, bass
  • David Bedford– piano, mellotron, arranger
  • Mike Ratledge– organ
  • Hugh Hopper– bass
  • Robert Wyatt– drums
  • Rob Tait – drums
  • Paul Minns – oboe
  • Paul Buckmaster– cello
  • Peter Mews – engineer
  • Laurie Asprey – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Kevin Ayers

  1. Joy of a Toy Continued
  2. Town Feeling
  3. The Clarietta Rag
  4. Girl on a Swing
  5. Song for Insane Times
  6. Stop This Train (Again Doing It)
  7. Eleanor’s Cake (Which Ate Her)
  8. The Lady Rachel
  9. Oleh Oleh Bandu Bandong
  10. All This Crazy Gift of Time

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.