On June 6, 1970.


On June 6, 1970, “CBS” label released “Third”, the third Soft Machine studio album. It was recorded April – May 1970 at “IBC” in London, “Facelift” was recorded live in Croydon and Birmingham, January 1970, and was produced by Mike Ratledge, Hugh Hopper, Robert Wyatt and Elton Dean.


  • Mike Ratledge– Hohner Pianet, Lowrey organ, piano
  • Hugh Hopper– bass guitar
  • Robert Wyatt– drums, vocals, Hammond organ, Mellotron, Hohner Pianet, piano, bass
  • Elton Dean– alto saxophone, saxello
  • Lyn Dobson– soprano saxophone, flute
  • Jimmy Hastings– flute, bass clarinet
  • Rab Spall– violin
  • Nick Evans– trombone

Track listing:

  1. Facelift – Hugh Hopper
  2. Slightly All the Time – Mike Ratledge
  • Noisette – Hugh Hopper
  • Backwards – Mike Ratledge
  • Noisette Reprise Hugh Hopper
  1. Moon in June – Robert Wyatt
  2. Out-Bloody-Rageous – Mike Ratledge

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.