Tag Archives: Byron Goto

In December 1968.


In December 1968, “Probe” label released the self titled, debut Soft Machine album. It was recorded April 1968, at “Record Plant Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Chas Chandler and Tom Wilson. It was the first album ever recorded in “Record Plant Studios” and was engineered by the studio co-founder Gary Kellgren.


  • Robert Wyatt – drums, lead vocals
  • Mike Ratledge – Lowrey Holiday De Luxe organ, piano
  • Kevin Ayers – bass, lead vocals , backing vocals, piano
  • Hugh Hopper – bass
  • The Cake – backing vocals
  • Byron Goto, Eli Allman & Henry Epstein – cover art

Track listing

  1. Hope for Happiness – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Brian Hopper
  2. Joy of a Toy – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge
  3. Hope for Happines (Reprise) – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Brian Hopper
  4. Why Am I So Short? – Mike Ratledge, Kevin Ayers, Hugh Hopper
  5. So Boot If At All – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt
  6. A Certain Kind – Hugh Hopper
  7. Save yourself – Robert Wyatt
  8. Priscilla – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt
  9. Lullabye Letter – Kevin Ayers
  10. We Did it Again – Kevin Ayers
  11. Plus Belle qu’une Poubelle – Kevin Ayers
  12. Why Are We Sleeping – Kevin Ayers, Mike Ratledge, Robert Wyatt
  13. Box 25/4 Ltd. – Mike Ratledge, Hugh Hopper