Tag Archives: Mongezi Feza

In November 1975.

In November 1975,  “Island” label released “Pressure Drop”, the second Robert Palmer studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Blue Seas Studio” in Hunt Valley, Maryland, and was produced by Steve Smith.


  • Robert Palmer– vocals, percussion
  • Lowell George– guitar, backing vocals
  • Bill Payne– keyboards
  • Paul Barrere– guitar, backing vocals
  • Richie Hayward– drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Kenny Gradney, James Jamerson– bass
  • Ed Greene– drums, percussion
  • Jean Alain Roussel– clavinet, keyboards, Hammond B-3
  • Gordon DeWitty – clavinet
  • Gene Page– strings
  • The Muscle Shoals Horns– horns
  • Mel Collins– saxophones, flute
  • Mongezi Feza– trumpet, flageolet
  • Ray Allen – trombone
  • Vicki Brown, Fran Tate, Sam Clayton – backing vocals
  • David Snell – harp
  • Joe Brown– banjo
  • Steve York – harmonica
  • Martin Frye – tuba
  • Phill Brown– engineering
  • Graham Hughes – cover concept, design, photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Palmer except where noted.

  1. Give Me an Inch
  2. Work to Make It Work
  3. Back in My Arms
  4. River Boat – Allen Toussaint
  5. Pressure Drop – Frederick Hibbert
  6. Here with You Tonight – Robert Palmer, Pete Gage
  7. Trouble – Lowell George
  8. Fine Time
  9. Which of Us Is the Fool

In September 1974.

In September 1974, “Island” label released “Sneakin’ Sally Through the Alley”, the debut Robert Palmer solo album. It was recorded in 1974, in New York, New Orleans and at “Compass Point Studios” in Nassau, and was produced by Steve Smith.

  • Robert Palmer – vocals
  • Vicki Brown– backing vocals
  • Mongezi Feza – flageolet, horns
  • Art Neville– keyboards
  • Leo Nocentelli– guitar
  • George Porter, Jr.– bass
  • Joseph Modeliste– drums
  • Simon Phillips– drums
  • Lowell George– slide guitar, guitar
  • Cornell Dupree– guitar
  • Richard Tee– piano
  • Gordon Edwards – bass
  • Bernard Purdie– drums
  • Jim Mullen– guitar
  • Jody Linscott– percussion
  • Steve York – harmonica solo
  • Steve Winwood– piano
  • Phill Brown– engineering, mixing
  • Ken Laxton – engineering
  • Alan Varner – engineering
  • Rhett Davies– engineering
  • Graham Hughes – artwork, cover photography

Track listing:

All songs by Robert Palmer except where noted.

  1. Sailing Shoes – Lowell George
  2. Hey Julia
  3. Sneakin’ Sally Through the Alley – Allen Toussaint
  4. Get Outside
  5. Blackmail – Robert Palmer, Lowell George
  6. How Much Fun
  7. From a Whisper to a Scream – Allen Toussaint
  8. Through It All There’s You


In May 1975.

In May 1975, “Virgin” label released “In Praise of Learning”, the second Henry Cow and Slapp Happy collaborative album. It was recorded February-March 1975, at “The Manor”, and was produced by Phil Becque, Henry Cow and Slapp Happy. The album cover art work was by Ray Smith and was the last of the three “paint socks” of Henry Cow’s albums.


  • Tim Hodgkinson– organ, clarinet, piano
  • Fred Frith– guitar, violin, xylophone, piano
  • John Greaves– bass guitar, piano
  • Lindsay Cooper– bassoon, oboe
  • Chris Cutler– drums, radio
  • Dagmar Krause – voice
  • Peter Blegvad– guitar, voice, clarinet
  • Anthony Moore– piano, electronics, tapework
  • Geoff Leigh– soprano saxophone
  • Mongezi Feza– trumpet
  • Phil Becque– oscillator
  • Ray Smith– cover art

Track listing:

  1. War – Anthony Moore
  2. Living in the Heart of the Beast – Tim Hodgkinson
  3. Beginning: The Long March – Henry Cow, Slapp Happy
  4. Beautiful as the Moon – Terrible as an Army with Banners – Fred Frith, Chris Cutler
  5. Morning Star – Henry Cow, Slap Happy

In May 1975.

In May 1975, “Virgin” label released “Ruth Is Stranger Than Richard”, the third Robert Wyatt solo album. It was recorded October 1974 – March 1975, at “The Manor Studios” and was produced by Robert Wyatt. The album art was by Wyatt’s wife Alfreda Benge.


  • Robert Wyatt– vocals, piano, imitation electric piano, organ, drums
  • Brian Eno– guitar, synthesizer, direct inject anti-jazz ray gun
  • Gary Windo– bass clarinet, tenor saxophone, alto saxophone
  • Nisar Ahmad “George” Khan– tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone
  • Mongezi Feza– trumpet
  • Fred Frith– piano
  • Bill MacCormick– bass guitar
  • John Greaves– bass guitar
  • Laurie Allan– drums

Track listing:

Side Ruth

  1. Soup Song – Brian Hopper, Robert Wyatt
  2. Sonia – Mongezi Feza
  3. Team Spirit – Bill MacCormick, Phil Manzanera, Robert Wyatt
  4. Song For Che – Charlie Haden

Side Richard

  1. Muddy Mouse (a) – Fred Frith, Robert Wyatt
  2. Solar Flares – Robert Wyatt
  3. Muddy Mouse (b) – Fred Frith, Robert Wyatt
  4. 5 Black Notes And 1 White Note – Jacques Offenbach Robert Wyatt
  5. Muddy Mouse (c) Which in Turn Leads To Muddy Mouth – Fred Frith, Robert Wyatt

In February 1975.


In February 1975, “Virgin” label released “Desperate Straights”, album by Slapp Happy and Henry Cow. It was recorded in November 1974, at “The Manor” in Oxfordshire, England, and was produced by Slapp Happy, Henry Cow and Simon Heyworth.


  • Dagmar Krause– voice, Wurlitzer
  • Peter Blegvad– guitar, voice
  • Anthony Moore– piano
  • Tim Hodgkinson– clarinet, piano
  • Fred Frith– guitar, violin
  • John Greaves– bass guitar, piano
  • Chris Cutler– drums, etc.
  • Geoff Leigh– flute
  • Pierre Moerlen– percussion
  • Mont Campbell– French horn
  • Mongezi Feza– trumpet
  • Nick Evans– trombone
  • Lindsay Cooper– bassoon, oboe
  • Peter Blegvad– cover art

Track listing:

  1. Some Questions About Hats – Anthony Moore, Peter Blegvad
  2. The Owl – Anthony Moore
  3. A Worm is at Work – Anthony Moore, Peter Blegvad
  4. Bad Alchemy – John Greaves, Peter Blegvad
  5. Europa – Anthony Moore, Peter Blegvad
  6. Desparate Straights – Anthony Moore
  7. Riding Tigers – Peter Blegvad
  8. Apes in Capes – Anthony Moore
  9. Strayed – Peter Blegvad
  10. Giants – Anthony Moore, Peter Blegvad
  11. Excerpt from The Messiah – Handel, arr. by Peter Blegvad
  12. In the Sickbay – Dagmar Krause, Peter Blegvad
  13. Caucasian Lullaby – Chris Cutler, Anthony Moore

On July 26, 1974.

Rock bottom

On July 26, 1974,”Virgin” label released “Rock Bottom”, the second Robert Wyatt album.  It was recorded in 1974, at “Delfina’s Farm” in Little Bedwyn, Wiltshire; “The Manor Studio” in Oxfordshire and “CBS Studios” in London, and was produced by Nick Mason.


  • Robert Wyatt– vocals, keyboards, percussion, slide guitar
  • Mike Oldfield– guitar
  • Gary Windo– bass clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Ivor Cutler– voice, baritone concertina, harmonium
  • Alfreda Benge– voice
  • Mongezi Feza– trumpets
  • Fred Frith– viola
  • Hugh Hopper– bass guitar
  • Richard Sinclair– bass guitar
  • Laurie Allan– drums
  • Steve Cox – engineer
  • Dick Palmer – engineer
  • Toby Bird – assistant engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Robert Wyatt.

  1. Sea Song
  2. A Last Straw
  3. Little Red Riding Hood Hit the Road
  4. Alifib
  5. Alife
  6. Little Red Robin Hood Hit the Road