Tag Archives: live recordings

On September 14, 2018.

On September 14, 2018, “Blue Note” label released “Emanon”, the 26th Wayne Shorter album. It was recorded in 2016, at “Avatar Studios” in New York City, “Danilo’s Jazz Club”, “American Trade Hotel”, “Casco Viejo”, in Panama, “The Barbican”, in London, and was produced by Don Was and Wayne Shorter. The album contains both studio and live recordings.


  • Wayne Shorter – soprano and tenor saxophone
  • Danilo Perez– piano
  • John Patitucci– bass
  • Brian Blade– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Wayne Shorter, except where noted.

  1. Pegasus
  2. Prometheus Unbound
  3. Lotus
  4. The Three Marias
  5. The Three Marias
  6. Lost and Orbits Medley
  7. Lotus
  8. She Moves Through the Fair – traditional, arranged by Wayne Shorter
  9. Adventures Aboard the Golden Mean
  10. Prometheus Unbound

In August 1969.

In August 1969, “Chess” label released “Fathers and Sons”, the seventh Muddy Waters studio album. The album features both studio and live recordings. The studio tracks were recorded in April 21–23, 1969 at “Ter Mar Studios” in Chicago, April 24, 1969 at the “Super Cosmic Joy-Scout Jamboree” in Chicago. Producer on all tracks was Norman Dayron.The cover illustration was by Don Wilson and was based on Michelangelo’s design on the Sistine Chapel.


  • Muddy Waters (McKinley Morganfield) – vocals, guitar
  • Otis Spann– piano
  • Michael Bloomfield– guitar
  • Paul Butterfield– harmonica
  • Donald “Duck” Dunn– bass guitar
  • Sam Lay– drums
  • Paul Asbell – rhythm guitar
  • Buddy Miles– drums
  • Jeff Carp – chromatic harmonica
  • Phil Upchurch– bass guitar
  • Ron Malo– engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by McKinley Morganfield, except where noted.

  1. All Aboard
  2. Mean Disposition
  3. Blow Wind Blow
  4. Can’t Lose What You Ain’t Never Had
  5. Walkin’ Thru The Park
  6. Forty Days and Forty Nights – Bernard Roth
  7. Standin’ Round Crying
  8. I’m Ready – Willie Dixon
  9. Twenty Four Hours – Eddie Boyd
  10. Sugar Sweet – Mel London
  11. Long Distance Call
  12. Baby, Please Don’t Go – Big Joe Williams
  13. Honey Bee
  14. The Same Thing – Willie Dixon
  15. Got My Mojo Working, Part 1 – Preston Foster, McKinley Morganfield
  16. Got My Mojo Working, Part 2 – Preston Foster, McKinley Morganfield


In March 1969.


In March 1969, “Decca” label released “Blue Matter”, the third Savoy Brown album. It was recorded December / March 1968 – January 1969, and was produced by Mike Vernon. The album is mix of live and studio recordings.

  • Chris Youlden– lead vocal, guitar, piano
  • Kim Simmonds– lead guitar, harmonica, piano
  • “Lonesome” Dave Peverett– rhythm guitar, vocal
  • Tone Stevens– bass
  • Roger Earl– drums, percussion
  • Bob Hall– piano
  • Rivers Jobe– bass
  • Terry Flannery, Keith Martin, Alan Moore, Brian Perrin, Derek Wadsworth– trombones
  • Track one arranged by Terry Noonan, Savoy Brown & Mike Vernon
  • Recorded & Engineered by Roy Thomas Baker
  • Assistant Recording Engineers: Colin Freeman, Michael Mailes, John Punter, Mike Vernon
  • David Anstey – cover design
  • David Wedgbury – photography

Track listing:

  1. Train to Nowhere – Kim Simmonds, Chris Youlden
  2. Tolling Bells – Kim Simmonds, Chris Youlden
  3. She’s Got a Ring in His Nose and a Ring on Her Hand – Chris Youlden
  4. Vicksburg Blues – Bob Hall, Chris Youlden
  5. Don’t Turn Me from Your Door – John Lee Hooker
  6. Grits Ain’t Groceries (All Around the World) – Titus Turner
  7. May Be Wrong – Dave Peverett
  8. Louisiana Blues – Muddy Waters
  9. It Hurts Me Too – Mel London