Tag Archives: 40th album

On June 29, 2015.

On June 29, 2015, “Reprise” label released “The Monsanto Years”, the 40th Neil Young album. On the album, Young is accompanied by the band Promise of the Real. It was recorded January – February 2015, at “Teatro Theater” in Oxnard, California, and was produced by Neil Young and John Hanion.


  • Neil Young– vocals, guitar, production, cover design
  • Anthony Logerfo – drums, cover design
  • Corey McCormick – bass guitar, backing vocals, cover design
  • Tato Melgar – percussion, cover design
  • Lukas Nelson– guitar, backing vocals, cover design
  • Micah Nelson– electric guitar, electric charango, backing vocals, cover painting, DVD label art, cover design
  • John Hanlon– engineering
  • Jeff Pinn – engineering
  • Jimmy Sloan – assistant engineering, production coordination
  • Johnnie Burik – assistant engineering
  • Alberto Hernandez – assistant engineering
  • John Hausmann – stage and monitor engineering
  • Chris Kasych – stage and monitor engineering
  • Keith “Moby” Lanoux – guitar tech
  • Bob Ludwig– mastering
  • Gary Burden – art direction
  • Howard Chandler Christy– booklet painting
  • Jenice Heo – art direction
  • Eric Johnson – cover art, lettering
  • Other Shoe Photography – booklet cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Neil Young.

  1. A New Day for Love
  2. Wolf Moon
  3. People Want to Hear About Love
  4. Big Box
  5. A Rock Star Bucks a Coffee Shop
  6. Workin’ Man
  7. Rules of Change
  8. Monsanto Years
  9. If I Don’t Know

In May 1975.

In May 1975, “Polydor” label released “Sex Machine Today”, the 40th James Brown studio album. It was recorded in 1975, at “Sound Ideas Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Charles Bobbit.


  • James Brown – lead vocals, arrangements
  • Fred Wesley- production supervision, arrangements
  • Bob Both- production supervision, engineer
  • David Stone, Major Little – assistant engineer
  • Roger Huyssen – artwork
  • Mathieu Bitton – design

Track listing:

  1. Sex Machine Pts. 1 & 2 – James Brown, Bobby Bird, Ron Lenhoff
  2. I Feel Good – James Brown
  3. Problems – James Brown, Lee Austin
  4. Dead on It – James Brown, Fred Wesley
  5. Get Up Off of Me – James Brown, Fred Wesley
  6. Deep in It – James Brown

In December 1965.

In December 1965, “Limelight” label released “Feelin’ Good”, the 40th Gerry Mulligan album. It was recorded in October 1965, at “Annex Recording Studios” in Hollywood, and was produced by Jack Tracy.


  • Gerry Mulligan- baritone saxophone, clarinet
  • Jimmy Helms, Johnny Gray – guitar
  • Jimmy Bond- bass
  • Hal Blaine- drums
  • Harry Bluestone- violin, concertmaster
  • Julian Lee – string sectionarrangements, conductor

Track listing:

  1. The Lonely Night (Night Lights) – Gerry Mulligan, Judy Holliday
  2. Please Don’t Talk About Me When I’m Gone – Sam H. Stept, Sidney Clare
  3. The Second Time Around – Jimmy Van Heusen, Sammy Cahn
  4. Not Mine – Victor Schertzinger, Johnny Mercer
  5. S. I Love You – Gordon Jenkins, Mercer
  6. The Song Is Ended – Irving Berlin
  7. Love Walked In – George Gershwin, Ira Gershwin
  8. Feeling Good – Anthony Newley, Leslie Bricusse
  9. Love Is the Sweetest Thing – Ray Noble
  10. I’ll Walk Alone – Jule Styne, Sammy Cahn
  11. The Shadow of Your Smile – Johnny Mandel, Paul Francis Webster

On January 26, 2010.

On January 26, 2010, “Nonesuch” label released “Orchestrion”, the 40th Pat Metheny album. It was recorded in October 2008, at “Legacy/MSR Studio” in New York City, and was produced by Pat Metheny.


  • Pat Metheny– guitar and orchestrionics

Track listing:

All tracks by Pet Metheny.

  1. Orchestration
  2. Entry Point
  3. Expansion
  4. Soul Search
  5. Spirit of the Air

In July 1964.

In July 1964, “Verve” label released “Hello, Dolly!”, the 40th Ella Fitzgerald album. It was recorded March – April 1964, in New York City and London,  and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald- vocals
  • Frank DeVol- arranger, conductor
  • Zoot Sims- tenor saxophone
  • Hank Jones – piano
  • Johnnie Spence– conductor
  • Henri René- arranger

Track listing:

  1. Hello Dolly! – Jerry Herman
  2. People – Bob Merrill, Jule Styne
  3. Can’t Buy Me Love – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  4. The Sweetest Sounds – Richard Rodgers
  5. Miss Otis Regrets – Cole Porter
  6. My Man – Jacques Charles, Channing Pollack, Albert Willemetz, Maurice Yvain
  7. How High the Moon – Nancy Hamilton, Morgan Lewis
  8. Volare – Franco Migliacci, Domenico Modugno, Mitchell Parish
  9. The Thrill is Gone – Lew Brown, Ray Henderson
  10. Memories of You – Eubie Blake, Andy Razaf
  11. Lullaby of the Leaves – Bernice Petkere, Joe Young
  12. Pete Kelly’s Blues – Sammy Cahn, Ray Heindorf


In December 1973.

In December 1973, “Polydor” label released “The Payback”, the 40th James Brown studio album. It was recorded February – October 1973, and was produced by James Brown.


  • James Brown – lead vocals, electric piano
  • Clair Pinckney- tenor saxophone, flute
  • Maceo Parker- alto saxophone, flute
  • Darryl “Hasaan” Jamison, Jerone “Jasaan” Sanford, Isiah “Ike” Oakley – trumpet
  • Fred Wesley- trombone
  • Hearlon “Cheese” Martin – guitar
  • Jimmy Nolen- guitar
  • Fred Thomas – bass
  • John Starks – drums
  • John Morgan – percussion

Track listing.

All tracks by James Brown, Fred Wesley and Charles Bobbit; except where noted.

  1. The Payback – James Brown, Fred Wesley, John “Jabo” Starks
  2. Doing the Best I Can
  3. Take Some…Leave Some
  4. Shoot Your Shot – James Brown
  5. Forever Suffering
  6. Time Is Running out Fast
  7. Stone to the Bone – James Brown
  8. Mind Power

In July 1972.

In July 1972, “Columbia” label released “America: A 200-Year Salute in Story and Song”, the 40th Johnny Cash album. It was recorded in July 1972, and was produced by Larry Butler. The album comprises a number of tracks dedicated to the topic of American history.


  • Johnny Cash: vocals, acoustic guitar, dialogues texts
  • Carl Perkins: electric guitar
  • Bob Wootton: electric guitar, gut-string guitar
  • WS Holland: drums
  • Marshall Grant: bass
  • Red Lane: rhythm guitar, gut-string guitar
  • Chuck Cochran: piano
  • Norman Blake: rhythm guitar, gut-string guitar, banjo
  • Mark Morris: percussion
  • Charlie McCoy: harmonica, bass
  • Ray Edenton: rhythm guitar
  • Cover design: Bill Barnes
  • Cover photo: Al Clayton

Track listing:

  1. Opening Dialogue – Johnny Cash
  2. Paul Revere – Johnny Cash, Glenn D. Tubb
  3. Begin West Movement – Johnny Cash
  4. The Road to Kaintuck – Johnny Cash, June Carter Cash
  5. To the Shining Mountains – Johnny Cash
  6. The Battle of New Orleans – Jimmie Driftwood
  7. Southwestward – Johnny Cash
  8. Remember the Alamo – Jane Bowers
  9. Opening the West – Johnny Cash
  10. Lorena – Charles Williams
  11. The Gettysburg Address – Abraham Lincoln
  12. The West – Johnny Cash
  13. Big Foot – Johnny Cash
  14. Like a Young Colt – Johnny Cash
  15. Mister Garfield – Ramblin’ Jack Elliott
  16. A Proud Land = Johnny Cash
  17. The Big Battle – Johnny Cash
  18. On Wheels and Wings – Johnny Cash
  19. Come Take a Trip in My Airship = Johnny Cash
  20. Reaching for the Stars – Johnny Cash
  21. These Are My People – Johnny Cash