Tag Archives: Arthur Freed

In May 1959.

In May 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Walkin’ & Talkin’”, the ninth Bennie Green album. It was recorded in January 1959, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, NJ, and was produced by Alfred Lion.


  • Bennie Green – trombone
  • Eddie Williams – tenor saxophone
  • Gildo Mahones – piano
  • George Tucker – bass
  • Al Dreares – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Gildo Mahones except where noted.

  1. The Shouter
  2. Green Leaves
  3. This Love of Mine – Frank Sinatra, Sol Parker, Henry W. Sanicola Jr.
  4. Walkin’ and Talkin’ – Bennie Green
  5. All I Do Is Dream of You – Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed
  6. Hoppin’ Johns

In April 1961.

In April 1961, “Columbia” label released “Listen to Cliff!”, the third Cliff Richard studio album. It was recorded in 1960, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Norrie Paramor.


  • Cliff Richard – lead vocals
  • Hank Marvin – lead guitar
  • Bruce Welch – rhythm guitar
  • Jet Harris – bass guitar
  • Tony Meehan – drums
  • Malcolm Addey – engineer

Track listing:                                                       

  1. What’d I Say – Ray Charles
  2. Blue Moon – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  3. True Love Will Come to You – Peter Chester, Bruce Welch
  4. Lover – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  5. Unchained Melody – Alex North, Hy Zaret
  6. Idle Gossip – Floyd Huddleston, Joseph Meyer
  7. First Lesson in Love – Peter Chester, Bruce Welch
  8. Almost Like Being in Love – Alan Jay Lerner, Frederick Loewe
  9. Beat Out Dat Rhythm on a Dream – Georges Bizet, Oscar Hammerstein II
  10. Memories Linger On – Peter Chester, Bruce Welch
  11. Temptation – Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed
  12. I Live for You – Peter Chester, Bruce Welch
  13. Sentimental Journey – Les Brown, Bud Green, Ben Homer
  14. I Want You to Know – Dave Bartholomew, Fats Domino
  15. We Kiss in a Shadow – Oscar Hammerstein II, Richard Rodgers

In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Jazzland” label released “Breezing”, the third Sonny Red album. It was recorded in November 1960, at “Plaza Sound Studios” in New York City.


  • Sonny Red – alto saxophone
  • Blue Mitchell – trumpet 
  • Yusef Lateef – tenor saxophone
  • Barry Harris – piano
  • Bob Cranshaw – bass
  • Albert Heath – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Sonny Red except where noted.

  1. Brother B
  2. All I Do Is Dream of You – Arthur Freed, Nacio Herb Brown
  3. The New Blues
  4. Ditty
  5. Teef
  6. Breezing
  7. A Handful of Stars – Ted Shapiro, Jack Lawrence
  8. If There Is Someone Lovelier Than You – Howard Dietz, Arthur Schwartz

In July 1960.

In July 1960, “Bethlehem Records” label released “Down Home”, the 30th Zoot Sims album. It was recorded in June 1960 and was produced by Teddy Charles.


  • Zoot Sims – tenor saxophone
  • Dave McKenna– piano
  • George Tucker– double bass
  • Dannie Richmond– drums

Track listing:

  1. Jive at Five – Count Basie, Harry “Sweets” Edison
  2. Doggin’ Around – Edgar Battle, Ray Evans
  3. Avalon – Buddy DeSylva, Al Jolson, Vincent Rose
  4. I Cried for You – Gus Arnheim, Arthur Freed, Abe Lyman
  5. Bill Bailey – Hughie Cannon
  6. Goodnight Sweetheart – Jimmy Capbell, Reginald Connelly, Ray Noble
  7. There’ll Be Some Changes Made – Billy Higgins, W. Benton Overstreet
  8. I’ve Heard That Blues Before – Zoot Sims

In November 1971.

In November 1971, “Island” label released “Bless the Weather”, the fifth John Martyn studio album. It was recorded in May 1971, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by John Martyn and John Woods.


  • John Martyn- vocals, guitar, harmonica, keyboards
  • Richard Thompson- guitar
  • Smiley De Jonnes – percussion
  • Beverley Martyn- guitar, vocals
  • Danny Thompson- double bass
  • Tony Reeves- double bass, bass guitar
  • Ian Whiteman – keyboards
  • Roger Powell – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Martyn except where noted.

  1. Go Easy
  2. Bless the Weather
  3. Sugar Lump
  4. Walk to the Water
  5. Just Now
  6. Head and Heart
  7. Let the Good Things Come
  8. Back Down the River
  9. Glistening Glyndebourne
  10. Singin’ in the Rain – Nacio Herb Brown, Arthur Freed

In May 1964.

In May 1964, “Columbia” label released “Dance with The Shadows”, the third Shadows studio album. It was recorded in 1964, and was produced by Nome Paramor.


  • Hank Marvin– lead guitar, piano, vocals
  • Bruce Welch– rhythm guitar, vocals
  • John Rostill– bass guitar
  • Brian Locking– bass guitar
  • Brian Bennett– drums
  • Malcolm Addey – engineer

Track listing:

  1. Chattanooga Choo Choo – Mack Gordon, Harry Warren
  2. Blue Shadows – Brian Bennett, Brian ‘Licorice’ Locking, Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  3. Fandango – Johnny Bradford, Frank Perkins
  4. Tonight (from West Side Story) – Leonard Bernstein, Stephen Sondheim
  5. That’s the Way It Goes – Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  6. Big B – Brian Bennett
  7. In the Mood – Joe Garland, Andy Razaf
  8. Lonely Bull(El Solo Toro) – Sol Lake
  9. Dakota – Alan Braden
  10. French Dressing – Brian Bennett
  11. The High and the Mighty – Dimitri Tiomkin
  12. Don’t It Make You Feel Good – Hank Marvin, Bruce Welch
  13. Zambesi – Nico Carstens, Anton De Waal
  14. Temptation – Nacio Brown, Arthur Freed