Tag Archives: Irving Caesar

On June 13, 1966.

On June 13, 1966, “Columbia” label released “Soul Sister”, the eighth Aretha Franklin studio album. It was recorded in 1966, and was produced by Bob Johnston and Clyde Otis.

Track listing:

  1. Until You Were Gone – Joy Byers
  2. You Made Me Love You – James V. Monaco, Joseph McCarthy
  3. Follow Your Heart – Van McCoy, Belford Hendricks
  4. Ol’ Man River – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern
  5. Sweet Bitter Love – Van McCoy
  6. A Mother’s Love – Cliff Owens
  7. Swanee – Irving Caesar, George Gershwin
  8. (No, No) I’m Losing You – Joy Byers
  9. Take a Look – Clyde Otis
  10. Can’t You Just See Me – Belford Hendricks
  11. Cry Like a Baby – Jo Armstead, Nickolas Ashford, Valerie Simpson

On May 15, 2007.

On May 15, 2007, “Heinz Records” label released “Hey Eugene!”, the third Pink Martini album. It was recorded December 2005 – December 2006, and was produced by Thomas Lauderdale, China Forbes and Phil Baker. The album was certified Platinum in France by UPFI.


  • China Forbes – vocals
  • Timothy Nishimoto – vocals, percussion
  • Gavin Bondy – trumpet
  • Robert Taylor – trombone, trumpet
  • Nicholas Crosa, Paloma Griffin – violin
  • Pansy Chang, Brant Taylor – cello
  • Dan Faehnle – guitar
  • Phil Baker – guitar, upright bass
  • Maureen Love – harp
  • Brian Davis, Derek Rieth – congas, percussion
  • Martin Zarzar – cavaquinho, drums, percussion
  • Thomas Lauderdale – piano

Track listing:

  1. Everywhere – China Forbes, Thomas Lauderdale
  2. Tempo Perdido – Ataulfo Alves
  3. Mar Desconocido – Martin Zarzar, includes an excerpt of “Waltz in C#-minor” by Frédéric Chopin
  4. Taya Tan – Taku Izumi, Michio Yamagami
  5. City of Night – China Forbes, Thomas Lauderdale
  6. Ojalá – Thomas Lauderdale, Luisa Quiñoy, Timothy Nishimoto, Daniel Lemay, China Forbes
  7. Bukra Wba’do – Mounir Mourad, Fatehi Qorah
  8. Cante e Dance – Phil baker
  9. Hey Eugene – China Forbes
  10. Syracuse – Henri Salvador, Bernard Dimey
  11. Dosvedanya Mio Bombino – China Forbes, Maya Forbes,
    includes an excerpt of “The Happy Wanderer” by Friedrich-Wilhelm Möller
  12. Tea for Two – Vincent Youmans, Irving Caesar


In September 1963.

In September 1963, “Verve” label released “Ella and Basie!”, studio album by Ella Fitzgerald and Count Basie and his orchestra. It was recorded in July 1963, at “A&R Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Norman Ganz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald– vocals
  • The Count Basie Orchestra:
  • Count Basie– piano
  • Sonny Cohn, Al Aarons, Joe Newman, Don Rader– trumpet
  • Eric Dixon– flute, tenor saxophone
  • Frank Foster, Frank Wess– flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone
  • Charlie Fowlkes– baritone saxophone
  • Freddie Green– guitar
  • Benny Powell, Urbie Green, Henry Coker, Grover Mitchell– trombone
  • Flip Ricard– trombone, trumpet
  • Marshal Royal– clarinet, alto saxophone
  • Buddy Catlett– double bass
  • Sonny Payne– drums
  • Quincy Jones– arranger
  • Val Valentin – recording engineer
  • Jay Thompson – cover photo

Track listing:

  1. Honeysuckle Rose – Andy Razaf, Fats Waller
  2. Deed I Do – Walter Hirsch, Fred Rose
  3. Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall – Doris Fisher, Allan Roberts
  4. Them There Eyes – Maceo Pinkard, Doris Tauber, William Tracey
  5. Dream a Little Dream of Me – Fabian Andre, Gus Kahn, Wilbur Schwandt
  6. Tea for Two – Irving Caesar, Vincent Youmans
  7. Satin Doll – Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Billy Strayhorn
  8. I’m Beginning to See the Light – Duke Ellington, Don George, Johnny Hodges, Harry James
  9. Shiny Stockings – Frank Foster, Ella Fitzgerald
  10. This Is My Last Affair – Haven Johnson
  11. Ain’t Misbehavin’ – Harry Brooks, Razaf, Waller
  12. On the Sunny Side of the Street – Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh