Tag Archives: Johnny Hodges

In September 1963.

In September 1963, “Verve” label released “Ella and Basie!”, studio album by Ella Fitzgerald and Count Basie and his orchestra. It was recorded in July 1963, at “A&R Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Norman Ganz.


  • Ella Fitzgerald– vocals
  • The Count Basie Orchestra:
  • Count Basie– piano
  • Sonny Cohn, Al Aarons, Joe Newman, Don Rader– trumpet
  • Eric Dixon– flute, tenor saxophone
  • Frank Foster, Frank Wess– flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone
  • Charlie Fowlkes– baritone saxophone
  • Freddie Green– guitar
  • Benny Powell, Urbie Green, Henry Coker, Grover Mitchell– trombone
  • Flip Ricard– trombone, trumpet
  • Marshal Royal– clarinet, alto saxophone
  • Buddy Catlett– double bass
  • Sonny Payne– drums
  • Quincy Jones– arranger
  • Val Valentin – recording engineer
  • Jay Thompson – cover photo

Track listing:

  1. Honeysuckle Rose – Andy Razaf, Fats Waller
  2. Deed I Do – Walter Hirsch, Fred Rose
  3. Into Each Life Some Rain Must Fall – Doris Fisher, Allan Roberts
  4. Them There Eyes – Maceo Pinkard, Doris Tauber, William Tracey
  5. Dream a Little Dream of Me – Fabian Andre, Gus Kahn, Wilbur Schwandt
  6. Tea for Two – Irving Caesar, Vincent Youmans
  7. Satin Doll – Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Billy Strayhorn
  8. I’m Beginning to See the Light – Duke Ellington, Don George, Johnny Hodges, Harry James
  9. Shiny Stockings – Frank Foster, Ella Fitzgerald
  10. This Is My Last Affair – Haven Johnson
  11. Ain’t Misbehavin’ – Harry Brooks, Razaf, Waller
  12. On the Sunny Side of the Street – Dorothy Fields, Jimmy McHugh



In April 1963.

In April 1963, “Reprise” label released “Afro-Bossa”, album by Duke Ellington. It was recorded November 29, 1962, December 20, 1962 and January 4 – 5, 1963, at “Fine Studios” in New York.


  • Duke Ellington– piano
  • Billy Strayhorn– piano
  • Ray Nance– cornet, violin
  • Cat Anderson, Roy Burrowes, Cootie Williams– trumpet
  • Lawrence Brown, Buster Cooper– trombone
  • Chuck Connors – bass trombone
  • Jimmy Hamilton– clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Johnny Hodges– alto saxophone
  • Russell Procope– alto saxophone, clarinet
  • Paul Gonsalves– tenor saxophone
  • Harry Carney– baritone saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Ernie Shepard – bass
  • Sam Woodyard– drums

Track listing:

:All tracks by Duke Ellington except where noted.

  1. Afro-Bossa
  2. Purple Gazelle
  3. Absinthe – Billy Strayhorn
  4. Moonbow
  5. Sempre Amoré
  6. Caliné – Silk Lace
  7. Tigress – Billy Strayhorn
  8. Angu
  9. Volupté
  10. Bonga
  11. Pyramid – Duke Ellington, Irving Gordon, Irving Mills, Juan Tizol
  12. Eighth Veil – Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn